Topic Title: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470 - Black screen on startup
Topic Summary: Lenovo G565
Created On: 09/01/2014 03:46 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/01/2014 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yamian
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/01/2014


Graphics Card
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 512 MB, no overclock

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
I cannot remember the order so I sorted it by version numbers
8.76? (from Lenovo)
11.12
12.8
13.2
13.4
13.9
14.4 (this one does not even detect the card so no driver was installed)
Used Device Manager to uninstall the drivers in safe mode, then Driver Sweeper in normal mode for additional cleaning.

Operating System
MS Windows 7 Home Premium x64 OEM CZ
also tried MS Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 x64 CZ (see bottom)

Issue Details
Black screen after windows startup (after Windows logo screen, before login screen), the pc hangs, has to be rebooted
Going to safe mode and uninstalling drivers via device manager allows to start Windows normally.
  If I install Catalyst and reboot the PC it goes back to black screen.
The issue happens even reverting to factory settings from DVDs, which would suggest that the card is damaged, but I managed to get it working on different OS (see bottom).
Sometimes the pc starts while using 640x480 resolution from Windows Boot menu, sometimes it will start after using last known good config, sometimes with "disabled driver signature enforcement"... but in 90% of the time it wont start.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
Lenovo G565 laptop

Power Supply
Default Lenovo adapter 20V 4.5A (90W)

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
built-in LCD

Applications and Games
MS Windows 7 Home Premium x64 OEM

CPU Details
AMD Phenom II Tripple-Core N870, 2.3 GHz, no overclock

Motherboard BIOS Version
InsydeH2O rev. 3.2, BIOS version 36CN24WW (V2.10)

System Memory Type & Amount
8GB

Additional Hardware
Additional 4GB of RAM (the laptop came with 4GB)

Additional Details
Removed RAM
Swapped RAM positions
Restored the PC to factory settings from backup DVDs (several times).
I was able to get the card to work by installing MS Windows 7 Ultimate Service Pack 1 x64 CZ, installing Catalyst 13.2, uninstalling the driver from Device Manager in safe mode, reboot and installing Catalyst 12.8 (rebooted the PC 10+ afterwards to check the resolution). I was unbale to to reproduce the resolution on Windows 7 Home Premium OEM x64 CZ (after the factory reset).

It is not my laptop, according to the owner the issue started after udating Catalyst drivers (he does not remember the version).

Internet reserarch showed that a bios could be an issue.

Catalyst CC info (gathered after initial laptop setup with the default drivers):

Driver Packaging Version    8.76-100719a-102897C-Lenovo
Provider    ATI Technologies Inc.   
2D Driver Version    8.01.01.1059   
2D Driver File Path    /REGISTRY/MACHINE/SYSTEM/ControlSet001/Control/CLASS/{4D36E968-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}/0000
Direct3D Version    8.14.10.0775   
OpenGL Version    6.14.10.10145   
Catalyst™ Control Center Version    2010.0719.1349.22889   


Primary Adapter       
Graphics Card Manufacturer    Powered by ATI   

Graphics Chipset    ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470   
Device ID    68E0   
Vendor    1002   

Subsystem ID    3969   
Subsystem Vendor ID    17AA   
   
Graphics Bus Capability    PCI Express 2.0   
Maximum Bus Setting    PCI Express 2.0 x8   
   
BIOS Version    012.020.000.032   
BIOS Part Number    BR36165.010   
BIOS Date    2010/08/20   

Memory Size    512 MB   
Memory Type    DDR3   

Core Clock in MHz    750 MHz   
Memory Clock in MHz    800 MHz   
Total Memory Bandwidth in GByte/s    12,8 GByte/s   

 09/11/2014 11:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ajay.13521
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/11/2014

i have same problem bro when ever i install my amd driver it hang at the windows logo  and if i uninstall the driver through the safe mode it works fine 

faceing this problem from past 3 weeks  and no solution

 09/29/2014 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
arunbrowley
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/24/2014

Guys for me also same problem...while installing itself i got a black sreen error with blinking cursor, after that Processor fan speed goes high tats all, sometimes it will automatically shutdown

After Restarting it login in safe mode condition, i think the solution is we want to REFLOW our Graphics Processor ..wats ur opinion guys

My Model is HP Pavilion DV6-6165tx and integerated grpahics Radeon HD 6700

in this model we cant remove the grpahics processor like CPU Processor ...these black screen issue generally come this type of soldered processors

 09/30/2014 11:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Gohanburner
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/30/2014

I'm using the new 14.9 drivers on Windows 8 and I get a messed up logon screen. It's completely black with the wifi/shutdown icons doubled and overlapping each other. Instead of pressing a button and having the screen go up it leaves a black screen and my password entry field won't show unless I press another key (ie: entering my password). 14.7 has been the only release to date that allows Windows 8's logon to function normally. 

Running Windows 8.1 w/Mobility Radeon 8770m

Ugh.

 09/30/2014 05:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Erynsul
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/30/2014

I have an ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5730 on an ASUS N61JQ, and since June I'm reporting the same "issue". I have to go back to the factory drivers so that I can't play many titles

 10/02/2014 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Izakaar
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/02/2014

Same problem for me

I have an ASUSTeK Computer Inc. K72Jr with a Mobility Radeon HD 5000 series

The laptop is booting to windows logo, and at the login moment, screen shut down.

 10/04/2014 11:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Izakaar
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/02/2014

Originally posted by: Izakaar Same problem for me

 

I have an ASUSTeK Computer Inc. K72Jr with a Mobility Radeon HD 5000 series

 

The laptop is booting to windows logo, and at the login moment, screen shut down.

 

Update, the laptop screen shut down, but a second screen plugged in VGA works fine...

 10/07/2014 04:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mr.P2N
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 10/07/2014

I also am having the same problem you

wifi buffalo



-------------------------
http://buffalocenter.vn
Statistics
89092 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.