Topic Title: HD4870 crossfire still supported?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/05/2012 01:02 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/05/2012 01:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ecky
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/05/2012

I have 2 Radeon HD4870 512MB cards. I recently bought Guild Wars 2 and was disappointed at seeing GPU-Z report 0% load on the 2nd card - crossfire doesn't seem to be active in GW2 on 4870's. In fact, I'm having difficulty getting the 2nd card to work in crossfire at all.

I'm running the latest Catalyst drivers (which are 12.6 since the HD4000 series has gone legacy) and have installed the 12.8 Catalyst Application Profiles 2.

Is crossfire still supported on the HD4870's? Is there any way to get the 2nd card active? Please help!

Thanks!

 09/05/2012 02:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Damric
Cookie Monster

Posts: 456
Joined: 05/18/2008

You can still use AFR mode, ect from catalyst/vision control center. There aren't going to be new driver optimizations released for your cards, but if the game supports CFX it should work. Be sure you are in full screen mode and not windowed mode. Make sure your crossfire bridge is properly installed, and your motherboard supports crossfire.

-------------------------
If your aunt had balls, she'd be your uncle.
 09/05/2012 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

+1 for what Damric said. They haven't dropped XFire support for that model card, I have x2 HD3870s in a system here and they work fine with every game I have here ( I don't play GW2 as it's not the type of game genre I do play ). A friend of mine has x2 HD4870s in XFire and he's still playing his games in XFire mode with them.

You could always drop a mail to AMD and ask if that game played on that card in XFire does in fact have a CAP profile for it etc .. but in answer to your question - yes XFire is still supported with the HD4870 in XFire. It's a new game which came out 8 days ago, so if the CAPs don't yet have it included, then it might be in the next set etc ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 09/05/2012 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ecky
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/05/2012

Wonderful! I've been running my games in "full screen window". It looks like I'm getting 100% scaling in GW2 now, my framerates have almost exactly doubled using whatever the default mode is for crossfire (and reading the 12.8CAP2 changelog it looks like there is indeed a GW2 profile now).

Is there any way to have crossfire work in 3d applications that aren't fullscreen?

Statistics
88956 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.