Topic Title: Totally Confused!?!?! How Do I Get The Driver For A Radeon x1900 Card for Windows 7???
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/27/2012 07:14 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/27/2012 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Planet
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/27/2012

Hi there:

How do I get a driver for the Radeon X1900 graphics card for my windows 7 (64-bit) Core 2 Duo computer?

I donwloaded the Catalyst Software Suite version 10.2, and it SEEMS to install correctly, but then I can't seem to "launch" it. Also, when I look at the drivers in the device manager, it seems like it is still using the default Windows driver. Plus, there is no way in the device manager control panel to uninstall or update that microsfot windows driver for the Radeon X1900 card.

Do I need an earlier version of the Catalyst suite??? If so, how do I get it???

 

also, will I need the entire Catalyst SUITE??? Or just one part of that downolad package.

Thanks in advance.

 12/28/2012 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4001
Joined: 01/27/2008

Have you installed .net 3.5? Maybe you're missing one of the many .net versions.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 12/28/2012 09:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12189
Joined: 04/17/2008

Hmm, yet another post by someone with a legacy card not posting in the Extended Support section, where are the mods!

Driver --> Update Driver --> Browse --> C:\AMD (include subfolders) --> pick X1900 series

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/28/2012 10:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

 Older drivers here> http://search.amd.com/us/_layouts/search/search.aspx?csquery=legacy+drivers&collection=all-us



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 12/28/2012 at 11:03 AM by stumped
 12/28/2012 02:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Planet
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/27/2012

Hi and thanks for the input;

@ hardwood

"Have you installed .net 3.5? Maybe you're missing one of the many .net versions."

No, I haven't. I will try that though. Can I ask how I install .net 3.5 though?

@ black_zion

"Driver --> Update Driver --> Browse --> C:\AMD (include subfolders) --> pick X1900 series "

Where do I find this first part though:"Driver --> Update Driver --> Browse -->" Is that on the AMD site? Or in a Windows 7 Control panerl???

Or Is that supposed to be in the Catalyst install manager??? Because I can't seem to LAUNCH that catalyst install manager...

I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Catalyst, but it stopped halfway through each time...

@ stumped:

Thanks for the link. I tired it but it doesn't look like there is any support for windows 7 for the older drivers??? Do I need to download the catallyst for Vista 64 instead???

Thanks in advance, everyone.

 12/28/2012 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4845
Joined: 12/27/2008

1. Start Menu -> Windows Update

2. Search for updates

3. From the optional updates select and install .net framework 3.5 and 4.0

4. Repeat #2 and install updates/hotfixes related to .net

5. Go to amd.com

6. In the upper right corner input your OS/video card/etc information

7. Download and install the driver package the site offers. The package version should be 10.2 right now.

8. Reboot - Done



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64



Edited: 12/28/2012 at 03:46 PM by Eydee
 12/28/2012 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12189
Joined: 04/17/2008

Start --> Control Panel --> Device Manager --> Display Adapters --> Radeon X1900 series (or whatever is listed there) --> Driver --> Update Driver --> Browse --> C:\AMD (include subfolders) --> pick X1900 series

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/28/2012 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7029
Joined: 11/13/2009

Latest driver..10.2

http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/windows/Legacy/Pages/radeonaiw_vista64.aspx?type=2.4.1&product=2.4.1.3.13&lang=English



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/28/2012 04:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Planet
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/27/2012

Thank you so much, Eydee, black_zion, and stumped

I will try this when i get home tonight and let everyone know tomorrow how it works.

Again, thanks for all your help!

 12/29/2012 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Planet
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/27/2012

Well, it looks like I MIGHT have gotten it working.

I ended up using the link that stumped provided.

Oddly enough, it actually said that the installation FAILED when installing it.

However, when I went into device manager and looked at the driver for the Radeon card, it had updated from the windows 7 provided driver to the ATI all-in-wonder driver

i don't know how much of an improvement the ATI All-In-Wonder driver is going to be over the default windows 7 built in driver. Hopefully it will increase compatability with certain games.

thanks again everyone.

 12/29/2012 07:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12189
Joined: 04/17/2008

Don't expect much, it's an antique card which didn't have THAT much power when it was brand new (I had an X1950Pro, two actually, one AGP then PCIe, overclocked past X1950XT speeds), you really do need to look at doing an entire system update. <$500 will get you a Trinity A10 setup with far more power than what you have now.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/29/2012 08:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Planet
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 12/27/2012

Thank you for the tip and the warning, black_zion.

No, I am not expecting too much from this system. I really just needed to get something that would play some of the Lego Star Wars games that my seven year old son loves, and I wanted to keep the whole thing under $100.

The computer iteself (with 2 gigs ram and Windows 7 ultimate 64-bit) was $80.

The ATI Radeon card was $30, and was a third choice. The used computer store I went to had two other graphics cards that were better, but they just wouldn't fit in my computer, since there were some capacitors on the motherboard in the way.

so far, my son loves playing Legos Star Wars III on it, and if I can find some older PC games that will run pretty well on it, then I will be happy.

Again, thanks for all the help to everyone.

 12/29/2012 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dinwiddie
Grinding Levels

Posts: 134
Joined: 11/11/2012

These older systems are best left with XP, I reckon.

 

Statistics
84130 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.