Topic Title: Upgrading from ATI Radeon 2400 Pro
Topic Summary: I need help choosing a new Graphics card to support Train Simulator 2013
Created On: 01/05/2013 12:06 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/05/2013 12:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PINESLAKE
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/05/2013

I would like to upgrade the graphics card in my Dell Vostro 200 Slim Desktop.  My hope is to smooth the graphics rendering of RailSimulator.com's Train Simulator 2013 game.

If possible, I would like to keep the current power supply and mother board.

My current setup is as follows.

Windows 7 Home Premium - 64 Bit,  SP1

4 Gig Ram  DDR2 SDRAM 6677MHz

ATI Radeon 2400 Pro with 256MB on the board in a PCIe x16  1.0A slot

250W power supply (OEM)

INTEL CORE 2 duo Proc.  E4500  (2.2 GHz, 2MB, l2 Cache, 800FSB)

Appreciate your suggestions/solutions.

Thanks,

PINESLAKE



-------------------------
 01/11/2013 10:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Kent@AMD
Grinding Levels

Posts: 127
Joined: 01/10/2013

If you want to keep your current motherboard and PSU, then you won't have any options from the official AMD specs. These all require 300W PSU minimum, and that's for the most entry-level cards. A 250W PSU won't be able to run any discrete card with any degree of reliability.

TrainSim 2013 requires a 6450 minimum (625MHz, 512MB VRAM) which requires a 400W PSU, and they recommend a 3870 (775MHz, 1GB VRAM, recommended to use a 500W PSU since it uses over 100W itself). Based on those specs, you'll need a new PSU before you can consider a replacement card, since there aren't any AMD graphics cards that can run on a 250W PSU that can run TrainSim 2013.



-------------------------
AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.
 01/11/2013 11:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12320
Joined: 04/17/2008

With that motherboard only being PCIe 1.0 it can have problems with newer cards though, so I would only recommend a 3870, 4770, 4850, or 4870. However all of those cards are legacy, and as Kent said require a new PSU. Your CPU is also slow at 2.2ghz, and does not meet the minimum specs for the game either (minimum is a Core 2 Duo E7400 2.80GHz or Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 5800+, recommended is a Core 2 Duo E8600 3.33GHz or Athlon II X3 440).


-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84655 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.