Topic Title: Issues Switching from 7200 Card to 9200 Card
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/09/2013 07:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/09/2013 07:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wr4
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/09/2013

I'm currently using a Radeon 7200 32MB memory card.  No problems.  I recently got a Radeon 9200 128MB memory card.

Each time I put the 9200 card in and restart Windows (XP Pro SP3) the card is not recognized in Device Manager, and I cannot install any drivers as XP says something like 'standard video driver not found.'  I can select from 3 resolutions, but not as many as I want.  My only solution so far is to do an Install/Repair (not a quick process), which seems to work, but the last time I did this, it held for two sessions, then the next time I powered up, the card was not recognized.

I just installed the AMD/ATI drivers for the 7200 (the same file for the 9200) so I was wondering if there is a shorter way to load the drivers than to do a Repair?  For example, there is a Setup exe in the ATI/Support/Drivers folder.  Will this do what I'm looking for?

My motherboard is the MSI KT3 Ultra, with an AMD XP1800+ CPU, 3 gigabytes of memory, 350W power supply.  I believe the BIOS and chipset are up to date.

Thanks for any help.

 03/09/2013 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

Try manually installing the drivers. Open it in device manager, click update driver, manually point to c:\ATI and search subfolders.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/10/2013 07:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wr4
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 03/09/2013

Thanks for your reply.

Let me re-phrase my question.  If I put the 9200 card in and XP does not show it in the Device Manager / Display Adapters (thus not giving me the capability to update the driver), can I use one of the files previously loaded in the ATI folder to do the driver update, rather than having to do the XP Repair process?  Will running the Setup.exe file in ATI/Support/Drivers load the driver?

Also, does anyone know why, when I installed the drivers, the software created an UninstallAll folder in Program Files/ATI Technologies?  This folder has one file (AtiCimUn.exe), which is also found in the ATI/Support folder (and it appears that both files are exactly the same).

 03/10/2013 11:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12249
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it doesn't show up in device manager, then you can't install drivers for it, and it may be the fault of the OS or the motherboard, given the fact that the 9600 is a generation newer and could be using a different AGP interface, as AGP 1.0, 2.0, and 3.0 use different voltages. Looking at the specs for that board it only has an AGP 4x slot which operates at 1.5v and the 9200 as an AGP 8x card which operates at 0.8v. Might be time to step into the 21st century and look at something like a Trinity A6 setup.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 03/10/2013 at 11:41 AM by black_zion
Statistics
84301 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.