Topic Title: GPU scalling problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/08/2013 01:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/08/2013 01:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ftfw
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/08/2013

I have HD 4870 videocard and Philips 248X3LFH as monitor. 

My problem: I want to play Counter Strike 1.6 with 4:3 on my widescreen monitor while for work I choose default 16:9. I need my drivers to switch automatically from 16:9 to 4:3 (from desktop to the moment I start game) and want to see black lines to the left and right while I play. I tried different connections via monitor (hdmi vga and dvi) and no help to my situation. The trouble is in frequence (timerefresh) of monitor. I need to play game with 75herz refreshrate (what is normal for 800x600 resolution i have chosen for game) and doesntmatter what resolution to use for desktop (of course it could be only 60hz with 1900x1200). So when I choose "enable GPU scaling: maintain aspect ratio" there is no problems except one: 4:3 is working only with 60hz. Picture changes perfectly from desktop to game with that black lines I needed but refreshrate of monitor that is the problem.

In few words: I could not choose with what frequence I can set monitor to maintain aspect ratio.

 

ps. Win7 64bit, no viruses, last drivers. p5q3 as a motherboard

 04/10/2013 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

If you have an LCD screen, using 75Hz is useless, it's just a titular value with no real difference.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/11/2013 06:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ftfw
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/08/2013

There is no problem to choose which freq is best for me, thank you.

 04/11/2013 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: ftfw There is no problem to choose which freq is best for me, thank you.

 

There's no need to be rude because you don't understand something. Just go and do some research about how these monitors work and you'll understand.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/11/2013 06:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ftfw
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/08/2013

I just need an advice about my situation, all I know is that I need 75 hz thats all. And I want switching works automatically from 4:3 to 16:9.

If you could give me answer to this queastion I will really appreciate. 

 

P.S. No rudeness here, noo

 04/11/2013 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

This is starting to get a little weird...

I figured the last guy who wanted to play counterstrike at 800x600 was just a fluke.  Now I'm imagining a flock of gamers called "Cult of the Tiny Monitor" who insist on pairing modern machines with weirdly small displays incongruously refusing to enter the 21st century.

Anyway... I think you're out of luck here dude.  I assume you're remembering the tricks people used to avoid flickering on CRTs back when 800x600 was a common resolution.  The image of a CRT faded out inbetween refresh cycles which is what caused flickering and drove people to jack up refresh rates as high as they could.  LCDs don't do that, so there's no flickering regardless of the refresh rate.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 04/11/2013 07:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13078
Joined: 04/17/2008

Those people think it gives them an edge over us "60hz-ers" because their monitor can display more than 60 frames per second (even though they cannot physically see them) so they will be able to "pwn" more people (I do believe that is the correct 90s term). Bet you too he posts back saying he is a professional gamer who needs that refresh rate.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/12/2013 04:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ftfw
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 04/08/2013

I don't understand exactly what you say but if you could give me a minute to test CS with my monitor I can tell what freq is it (75 or lower). It really differs.

 04/12/2013 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion Those people think it gives them an edge over us "60hz-ers" because their monitor can display more than 60 frames per second (even though they cannot physically see them) so they will be able to "pwn" more people (I do believe that is the correct 90s term). Bet you too he posts back saying he is a professional gamer who needs that refresh rate.

It's not unreasonable to want 120 frames per second from a 120hz display or 60 from a 60hz display.  That part I understand.  The weird part is dropping the resolution way down to a point way beyond what's necessary in order to make sure that happens.  It's like someone wearing the same pair of dirty socks for a month because they think they're lucky.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 04/12/2013 12:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: ftfw I don't understand exactly what you say but if you could give me a minute to test CS with my monitor I can tell what freq is it (75 or lower). It really differs.

I mean you're either going to have to live with 60hz, or buy a 120hz LCD, or dig up an old CRT somewhere and use that instead.  Running your current monitor at a 75hz refresh rate isn't going to work no matter what the resolution is.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Statistics
88947 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.