Topic Title: Can't upgrade Catalyst AGP Hotfix
Topic Summary: and weird SFC /SCANNOW conflict
Created On: 04/25/2013 10:10 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/25/2013 10:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
coyote2
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 05/19/2011

I can't upgrade from the Catalyst AGP Hotfix version 11.11 I've been using for years.  I can uninstall and reinstall it, but can't upgrade from it.

Installing Catalyst AGP Hotfix 12.6 reports "Successful", but doesn't work (leaves me with no videocard drivers/unable to use monitor's native resolution).  Perhaps because these are the only components it will offer to install:

12.6 Custom Install components

I've long had to re-install the Catalyst AGP Hotfix whenever I run SFC /SCANNOW (which is a valuable troubleshooting step, but for some reason it has always 'broken' my Catalyst install; I've long been curious about this 'mystery' too).

But now, for the first time, after SFC /SCANNOW I'm only able to re-install 11.11, upgrades to 12.6 don't work.

Incidentally, if I don't run SFC /SCANNOW I can't uninstall Catalyst AGP Hotfix 11.11.  (Oh, the uninstaller completes successfully but even on reboot I've still got proper native resolution only the drivers can provide.)

Graphics Card

HIS Radeon HD 4670 IceQ Native HDMI 1 GB DDR3 AGP Graphics Card (H467QS1GHA)

AMD Catalyst Driver History

I started with 11.1 which I had to stick with (because of the common "ati2mtag.sys" BSOD) until 11.10.  I've long used 11.11

This week I've unsuccessfully tried both AGP 12.6 and this 13.1 both without, and with, first uninstalling the previous versions as recommended here (using Driver Fusion 1.5.0 to remove the previous version).

After each round of testing I revert via a Ghost backup system image to 11.11

Operating System

Win XP Pro sp3 32-bit

System Make & Model

Dell Dimension 8300

Power Supply

Corsair CX600

Display Device

via DVI to Samsung SyncMaster 206BW

CPU Details

Intel Pentium 4 Northwood 2 cores@ 3.2GHz

Motherboard BIOS Version

A07 (most current)

System Memory

4 x G.SKILL 1GB SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Model F1-3200PHU2-2GBNS

Additional Hardware

Western Digital WD VelociRaptor WD3000HLFS

7 case fans

Samsung optical drives models SH-S222A & SH-S243N

Two PCI SIIG SATA cards:  SC-SA2012-S1 and SC-SA4011-S2 and one PCI gigabit ethernet card

Additional Details

Scans clean with Norton AntiVirus 2013, SUPERAntiSpyware free 5.6.0.1014, and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware 1.75.0.1300

Hardware tests passed:

  • Memory with Memtest86+ and Windows Memory Diagnostic. 
  • CPU with S&M Stress Test 1.9.1
  • Hard drives HDD Tune and Western Digital Diagnostics.


Edited: 04/25/2013 at 12:59 PM by coyote2
 04/25/2013 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12182
Joined: 04/17/2008

You should not have to run SFC, with you having to run it so often it means you have another problem which needs to be addressed. You don't play any games, you don't have any issues, the card is an unofficial version of a 4 year old card, so keep using 11.11 until you get a new computer, and spend the time figuring out why system files keep getting corrupted.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/25/2013 03:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
coyote2
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 05/19/2011

Originally posted by: black_zion You should not have to run SFC, with you having to run it so often it means you have another problem which needs to be addressed. You don't play any games, you don't have any issues, the card is an unofficial version of a 4 year old card, so keep using 11.11 until you get a new computer, and spend the time figuring out why system files keep getting corrupted.

Thank you very much for your reply, black_zion!

I'm not sure what you mean about me running "SFC...so often", since I haven't run it for years (which is why I've been using "11.11...for years").  And I have no reason to believe that my "system files [are]... corrupted".  But SFC is a standard and valuable step to take when troubleshooting any issue, and after years without any issues, I have an issue and it makes sense to SFC after hardware diagnostics but before further steps.  In any case, I will be upgrading to a newer version of Windows before XP is end-of-life in a year, but until then...

I'm still hoping someone might please have a suggestion about how I can upgrade to 12.6.  And I'm still very curious if my experience of SFC "breaking" my Catalyst installs is as weird as I imagine it is, or is that perfectly expectable?



Edited: 04/25/2013 at 03:39 PM by coyote2
 04/25/2013 05:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4844
Joined: 12/27/2008

Windows XP has had some ATI and nvidia drivers built in since SP2. That gets overwritten when you install a Catalyst release. That's normal. I think XP might be that stupid that sfc tries to "fix" this and restores some older, built-in driver files.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 04/25/2013 05:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
coyote2
Peon

Posts: 22
Joined: 05/19/2011

Originally posted by: Eydee Windows XP has had some ATI and nvidia drivers built in since SP2. That gets overwritten when you install a Catalyst release. That's normal. I think XP might be that stupid that sfc tries to "fix" this and restores some older, built-in driver files.

Thank you Eydee! 

I know SFC only started to "break" my Catalyst installs after a while, maybe that coincided with my SP2 install.

As for upgrading from 11.11, black_zion is right, I really don't need to since I'm not gaming now (which I guess I mentioned in a prior thread).

Thank you both for your generous replies!

Statistics
84109 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.