Topic Title: DXVA Issue and Radeon 3200
Topic Summary: Reference Frame and AVC Level
Created On: 05/10/2013 03:39 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/10/2013 03:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pureocean
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2013

Hello AMD Radeon/Catalyst Developers,

I'm not very good at English but I hope you could understand.

I actually wanted to my issue send to AMD Issue Reporting Form (http://www.amd.com/legacyreport) but the report can't send because "Type of Issue:" submenus not selectable. Therefore, I write here:

DXVA support is very benefit. Thanks for fixes in last one years. Unfortunately, No DXVA support some (H264/AVC/X264) videos. I think, the reason why the Reference Frame and AVC Level. Please, add to this support. Because Nvidia drivers support but Radeon drivers no support high number of ref.frame on DXVA.

I uploaded a sample video: http://ge.tt/api/1/files/22K8IGg/0/blob?download

 

For test:

1) Download to Media Player Classic Home Cinema from http://mpc-hc.org/

2) Open to the sample my video.

3) Click to Filters->MPC Video Decoder from Play menu.

4) My result in DXVA (H.264) Compatibility Check;

FullCheck / SkipLevelCheck: DXVA don't working but the video playing properly.

SkipRefFrameCheck / SkipAllCheck: DXVA working but the video not playing properly.

 

My system info:

GPU: Radeon HD 3200 (shared memory 256 mb from BIOS).

CPU: AMD Phenom II X3 710 - 2600Mhz

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-MA78GM-S2H Rev1.1 (F12B BIOS)

RAM: 4 GB DDR2 RAM / Kingston KHX8500D2-2G (2 kit)

OS: Windows XP

Driver version: Catalyst 13.1 (Besides, I tried too 13.4 Legacy Beta)

 

P.S.: I still use Windows XP/2003 because I don't like than Windows Vista/7/8. Please, please, don't pull back development, fix support from WindowsXP and drivers of 3000-4000 GPU series.

 

Thanks in advance...



Edited: 05/10/2013 at 09:55 AM by pureocean
 05/11/2013 06:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bahoaday
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/14/2009

The Radeon HD 3200 chip only has UVD + which does not support more than 11 re.frame on 720p and 4 re.frame on 1080p videos.

UVD 2.0 or newer featured in Radeon HD 4000 and newer GPU support all re.frame for 1080p and lower resolution video.

 

btw, I don't understand why nVidia's Geforce 8000 series cards support not only all re.frame on x264 videos but also Flash videos while they are supposed to be in the same generation as the HD 2000 series from AMD (only HD 4000 cards or later support these features) .



Edited: 05/11/2013 at 09:37 PM by bahoaday
 05/11/2013 07:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: bahoaday btw, I don't understand why even nVidia's Geforce 8000 series cards not only support  all re.frame on x264 videos but also Flash videos (only HD 4000 cards or later support these features) while they are supposed to be in the same generation as the HD 2000 series from AMD.

 

If you think about it, it's not a rare thing.

Geforce FX - Radeon 9xxx: Not even comparable feature set. (AMD wins)

Geforce 6 - Radeon Xxxx: Not even comparable feature set. (nvidia wins)

Sometimes even basic stuff (like shader version support) was different. Things like this UVD stuff is nothing compared to this.

One thing I don't understand why this thing matters in the first place. If there's no acceleration, the CPU can still play these files. Even a stronger P4 can do it (if it's not in a flash player) and anything from the later generations can play these without a problem.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/11/2013 10:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bahoaday
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/14/2009

Originally posted by: Eydee

One thing I don't understand why this thing matters in the first place. If there's no acceleration, the CPU can still play these files. Even a stronger P4 can do it (if it's not in a flash player) and anything from the later generations can play these without a problem.

 

While HD videos shouldn't be a problem for new CPUs, they are quite CPU-demanding for older processors. In my case, I'm still using an old Intel Dual Core E2200 2.2Ghz.

The K-Lite Codec Packs (9.x) and Media Player Classic have been improved a lot, therefore it's possible for me to play 1080p 8bit x264 video using software decoding now (50-60% CPU usage). However, about 2 or 3 years ago, my PC can't play 1080p x264 videos without DXVA. Whenever I tried playing it, the CPU usage was always 95-100% and the frames dropped a lot. My Radeon HD 2600 pro back then couldn't play x264 videos having more than 11 reference frames so I had to settle with 720p videos (40-70% CPU usage at that time).

http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh135/bahoaday/noDXVABlu-Ray.jpg

http://i255.photobucket.com/albums/hh135/bahoaday/DXVABlu-Ray.jpg

Now while my HD 5670 can decode all 8bit H.264 videos without any problem,  another problem arises. Most fansub groups now use 10bit x264 instead of 8bit and there's no GPU able to decode 10bit x264 videos available on the market atm.



Edited: 05/11/2013 at 09:31 PM by bahoaday
 05/11/2013 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The main problem with this is that AMD said many times that they won't hurry supporting pirated movies no matter what nvidia does. They focus on standard formats, like blu-ray and what you get from the internet (in flash players and stuff). Regardless, they added support for more formats during the years, but I woudn't expect quick fixes from them.

I suggest you all use the issue reporting form and suggest the new feature, and we'll see what happens in the future. Maybe they'll bite.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/19/2013 04:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pureocean
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2013

@spyre, @bahoaday, @Eydee:

Thank you all for your reply and informations.

I want the issue to report but AMD Issue Reporting Form ( http://www.amd.com/legacyreport ) doesn't working properly. "Type of Issue:" submenus not selectable. Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/zFyQkjK.gif

That's the dilemma: How do I report the issue when there is a issue in Issue Reporting Form page?

 05/19/2013 06:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

You can try this report form > http://emailcustomercare.amd.com/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 05/31/2013 12:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pureocean
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/10/2013

@stumped: Thank you for link. More strange. http://emailcustomercare.amd.com/ page too dosen't working properly. After I selected from Category:, error box show:

Sys. WebForms. PageRequestManagerServerErrorException: An unknown error occurred while processing the request on the server. The status code returned from the server was: 500

I tried another web browers. Same. Seems like AMD prevent to all way for report sending. 

I tried http://www.amd.com/report but there isn't XP in OS List.

Statistics
88925 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.