Topic Title: CPU not identifying correctly in BIOS/Windows
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/23/2013 01:26 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/23/2013 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

System:

Foxconn A7GM-S Rev. 1.1 (Link to the manual)
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE Deneb
CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
[Other system components irrelevant for this issue.]

My friend bought the CPU listed above as an upgrade. He e-mailed Foxconn for BIOS update support, and they sent him a link to the BIOS version he needs (799F1P15) and instructions on flashing the BIOS with a bootable disc, which he did successfully. He updated BIOS with the old AM2 CPU installed and installed the new one after updating BIOS.

Unfortunately, his CPU stubbornly shows as a 800MHz CPU. We cleared CMOS and loaded Optimal Settings with no change. We manually set the Clock speed and Multiplier to 200MHz X16 with no change. We disabled Cool 'n Quiet, thinking that is why it's showing only 800MHz, and we loaded High Performance Power Mode in Windows, with no change.

CPU-Z shows anomalous readings: Max TDP: 71, Core Speed: 800, multiplier: x4.0 (16-16).

Does anyone know anything else we should try to get BIOS to properly recognise his CPU?



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case

 05/23/2013 02:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Foxconn lied (read: was mistaken) and the BIOS they sent does not support the CPU. Contact them again, tell them what happened, ask for assistance again.

If they can't help, buy a cheap AM2+/AM3 mobo from ebay.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/23/2013 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hrothgar
Peon

Posts: 50
Joined: 03/19/2012

When browsing their Website, I see their BIOS versions support Socket AM3 CPUs since January 2009. He was directed to the newest BIOS, released July 2010. How did you come to that conclusion?

Edit: The problem was resolved with a BIOS flash to the newest version.

 



-------------------------

Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
AMD Phenom II X4 970BE Deneb 3.5GHz CPU
ASUS M5A88-V EVO Mother Board
2 X 2GB CORSAIR XMS3 DDR3 1600 RAM
XFX AMD RADEON HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 GPU
Dell D1626HT Trinitron 21" CRT Monitor
Seagate Barracuda 160GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
Seagate Barracuda 2TB 7200rpm SATA3 HDD
ASUS DRW-24B1ST SATA DVD-R/RW
Corsair GS500 Gaming Series 500w PSU
CoolerMaster HAF 912 Case



Edited: 05/24/2013 at 01:36 PM by Hrothgar
Statistics
85407 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.