Topic Title: Windows 8 and Radeon HD 4000
Topic Summary: Problem with playing video from apps on windows 8 desktop UI
Created On: 06/17/2013 09:41 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/17/2013 09:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JBrownup
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/29/2009

Im wirting because it seems that when I download and install the drivers for the Radeon HD 4000 that I'm not able to play videos from apps such as the ESPN app for windwows 8.  This is happening for my desktop computer.  I'm not sure why, but when I try to play that video it state that this isn't encoded for this device.  What should I do?  Thanks very much in advance.

 

Jason Brown

 06/17/2013 11:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7253
Joined: 11/13/2009

Please read the sticky "Read Before Posting".
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=440&threadid=160417&enterthread=y

We need to know:

1. Processor (I5-xxxx, A10-xxxx, etc)
2. Graphics card (HD6970, HD4850, Mobility, etc)
3. OS (Win7, Win8, WinXP, 32 or 64bit, etc)
4. Driver version (13.2, 12.10, etc)
5. Power Supply..list make and model and wattage
6. RAM
7. Did your computer come with the OS and Graphics card you have now?
8. Monitor resolution (native), connected by (DVI, HDMI, etc)


If this is a LAPTOP, list your laptop model number and please post in the correct forum...that would be the laptop forum   http://forums.amd.com/game/categories.cfm?catid=448&entercat=y


If your issue is resolved, be a helpful forum user and report back the steps that you used. It will help other users.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/17/2013 03:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

A little forum search would have shown you that it is a common issue that happens because the card is not supported and the drivers only provide partial functionality. Downgrading to Windows 7 is the best solution.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/17/2013 06:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JBrownup
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 04/29/2009

Well I do apologize, but I did search and couldn't find anything.  I was very frustrated and have lost patience trying to fix this.  If you would be so kind to post a link to this issue I would appreciate that.

Statistics
85759 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.