Topic Title: Didn't research properly on Radeon HD4890 please help
Topic Summary: power supply HD 4890 please help
Created On: 07/11/2013 07:29 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/11/2013 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mptbowl
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/11/2013

Hi there

Please bare with me.  I tried sending the follwing message to XFX.com and got nowhere even though  I registered but this is what I sent them as I had copied the message.

Hi I have just purchased a Radeon HD4890.  I haven't fitted it yet because in the quick installation instructions it says "Connect two individual PCI Express (6 pin)power cables from the power supply to each individual connector on the graphics card".  Now then I do have two spare plugs coming from the power supply one of which looks like it will fit but the other which is a bit bigger, a similar shape but only has 5 female terminals in it but I can see it wouldn't fit anyway.  I am totally gutted.  Please help. I have just looked up my power supply on the internet and it's a "Dell Precision 470 DT 550 watt power supply" (there was a load of numbers following this but I'm not sure if they would be relevant but I can supply them if you need them). I was really looking forward to fitting and using this card and am really disappointed.  I have also taken some photos of the available plugs which I can send you but there is no where here to attach them but if you wish I can send them from my email address which is mptbowl@gmail.com but I need yours.

I Had to use the general help desk as the 307 or 308  wouldn't let me get anywhere and I'm guessing that I need to enter serial and reg numbers to follow this route which I will probably get once I've loaded the card but as I said I haven't fitted it yet.

Like I said I'm totally gutted and I'm looking forward to hearing from you soon.

regards Michael

Ok I didn't realise you needed 2 plugs but is there anything I can do without replacing the power supply (actually I don't even know with what)

I'm not a computer whizz kid but lately I've been going through some pretty steep learning curves and to be honest I'm getting  completely exhausted by it all.

Please can some one help me

regards and desperate Michael

 

 

 

 07/11/2013 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Stack Smasher

Posts: 6128
Joined: 11/13/2009

If there is any way you can exchange that card for a 5xxx series or higher it would be good. The 4xxx series of cards are considered 'legacy' and do not recieve regular support from AMD. If you play current PC games you will miss the improvements that a 5xxx, 6xxx, or 7xxx series cards offer. Every graphics card has in it's description a "system requirements" similar to this:

  • PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
  • 450 Watt or greater power supply with one 75W 6-pin PCI Express®
  • Look for one that requires only one connector and has power supply requirements that meet your existing unit.



    -------------------------

    Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit *Gateway HD2401 24" 2ms 1920x1200  ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit  



    * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

     07/12/2013 04:30 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    mptbowl
    Peon

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 07/11/2013

    Hi Is there no way I can split the single plug into two to do the same job.  I'm sure I'm not the only one withthis problem

     07/12/2013 07:08 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    RedGreen
    Nerfed

    Posts: 68
    Joined: 12/02/2010

    If you have a pair of Molex connectors free then an adapter can be used, I used them when I had XFired 4870's

    They should have come with the card, an example:

    http://www.kenable.co.uk/product_info.php?products_id=5393&gclid=COetwqzoqbgCFTMctAodTTQAZg

     

     07/12/2013 11:20 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    Nanotechnology Guru

    Posts: 11617
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    Let's start out with the Product spec sheet from Dell. It runs Windows XP, which you should not be using in 2013, and it supports graphics cards up to 150w, and the HD 4850 is 190w.

    So your options are this: Upgrade the entire system now, upgrade the entire system 6 months from now, or upgrade the entire system 9 months from now when Windows XP finally dies a sad, pathetic, lingering death.


    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

    Edited: 07/12/2013 at 11:29 AM by black_zion
     07/13/2013 07:31 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    mptbowl
    Peon

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 07/11/2013

    Hi That's very interesting Black zion and it's a shame but thanks .  My ignorance in this area is absolute it seems.  I found a way of powering it ( a splitter plug) and I'm waiting for the part which looks like is going to do nothing considering the 150/190 w scenario.  If I tried the card out would I damage something or would it just come up with a warning. Down in the dumps now and can't really afford to upgrade my pc at the moment. Heh ho. Oh by the way thanks to everyone that replied to my post.

    regards Michael

     07/13/2013 09:00 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    RedGreen
    Nerfed

    Posts: 68
    Joined: 12/02/2010

    If it's a very old PSU, BZ is referencing a spec from 2005, when the X850 XT was the ATI high end card and the recommended PSU was a 350w, it might struggle.

    The recommended PSU for the HD4890 was 500w, with most reviews putting the actual total system draw at less than 300w under load.

    I would have thought that the worst that could happen is that it might not POST if the PSU was a bit flakey, personally I'd give it a try.

     

     

     07/13/2013 10:47 AM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    black_zion
    Nanotechnology Guru

    Posts: 11617
    Joined: 04/17/2008

    If I tried the card out would I damage something or would it just come up with a warning.


    Being a bulk produced bottom of the barrel 8 year old Dell power supply, the warning should be a loud BANG followed by a lethal surge of high voltage throughout all components in your computer, leaving you with a foul smelling paper weight.

    -------------------------
    ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
     07/13/2013 12:38 PM
    User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

    Author Icon
    mptbowl
    Peon

    Posts: 4
    Joined: 07/11/2013

    Thanks for both those replies but I suppose I can't risk a full blown melt down but if anybodies got any other ideas it will be all grist to the mill. Ta very much Michael

    Statistics
    81149 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
    There are currently 2 users logged in.

    FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.