Topic Title: One of three displays no longer working after update to 13.4
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/16/2013 04:02 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/16/2013 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GeoffMarlow
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/16/2013

I have an ASUS M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3 motherboard with an AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4GHz CPU, 8GB RAM, onboard Radeon HD4250 GPU (driving an LG IPS 224 display) and a graphics card with Radeon HD 5770 GPU and dual DVI/HDMI outputs (each output driving a Samsung Syncmaster B2430 display).

I was running Catalyst 11.2 and all three displays were working fine. I decided to update to Catalyst 13.4 and after the BSOD (no warning to uninstall 11.2 before updating) managed to get the two displays on the HD5770 working OK. The other screen on the HD4250 is however receiving no signals and doesn't appear under the Catalyst 'Desktop Management' tab.

Under the 'Information' tab, both the HD5770 and the HD4250 are listed with what look like OK values in all the fields.

Any ideas why the third display on the mobo's HD4250 has suddenly stopped working and how I can get it back will be most gratefully received.

BTW - If you're wondering why I went so long on Catalyst 11.2 before updating, I had a horrendous time a few years ago when I updated to 11.2 and was only persuaded to update today as I'm about to install some software (Sony Vegas Platinum Suite 12) that requires at least version 11.7 to function...

 08/16/2013 04:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
George@AMD
Nerfed

Posts: 52
Joined: 09/10/2012

In order to get two GPU chips to work in a system they need to have a common driver set. After Catalyst 12.4 there was a split in the drivers. The Radeon HD 2000 – Radeon HD 4000 had their own driver set called “legacy” while the Radeon HD 5000 and above still continued on with the driver sets.

 If you install a newer driver like Catalyst 13.4 it would only install the drivers for the Radeon HD 5000 card and it would knock out the Radeon HD 4000 card as it has no drivers for it anymore.

 If you want to continue to use both GPUs for multi monitors you should install Catalyst 12.4 to get them working again.



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care
The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 08/16/2013 05:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
GeoffMarlow
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/16/2013

Thanks George - that worked. 

 07/08/2014 07:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
djwestly
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 07/08/2014

Sorry for replying to such an old thread, but I have a similar problem (4250 IGP + R9 270 not working togther).  I had a 4250 + 6770 working setup but upgraded the 6770 to an R9 270.

Will Catalyst 12.4 work for the 4250 + R9?

Thanks,

Dave

 07/08/2014 10:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4845
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: djwestly Sorry for replying to such an old thread, but I have a similar problem (4250 IGP + R9 270 not working togther).  I had a 4250 + 6770 working setup but upgraded the 6770 to an R9 270.

 

Will Catalyst 12.4 work for the 4250 + R9?

 

Thanks,

 

Dave

 

No, you have an impossible combination, there is no driver at all that supports both cards at the same time. At least under windows. If you switch to linux, the open source drivers might work for both of them.

In theory you could rename all driver files and binary-patch each one to use the new naming scheme. Unless something is very deeply hardcoded. That way you could have both old and new drivers on the system, as currently the only thing stopping you from doing it is matching file names. (And registry entries, maybe.) If you happen to be some geek who likes experimenting, try it, and tell us the results.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84124 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.