Topic Title: HD4850 problems. Should I get another card?
Topic Summary: Asking about some problems I have with my HD4850, and maybe about getting another video card.
Created On: 09/24/2013 05:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/24/2013 05:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

Hello everyone, this is my first post! 

I come here to ask you about some problems I've been having with my video card.

Let's start saying that about a month ago I started seeing some strange artifacts (strange squares, graphic spikes, etc) when playing a game (Tropico 4). Then, as days passed, I started to experience some TDRs and stuff.

Then, some weeks ago, BSODs started appearing whenever trying to watch videos and playing games. Also, after some TDRs the computer would freeze and then another BSOD.

After experiencing those artifacts that appeared at the begining, I cleaned every part of my computer, changed the thermal paste from the processor and the gpu and tried to put some cables away so that the air could flow with no problems, cause I thought the card was showing those problems due to heat (When Idle, the card was working at 80ºC, and I had to put the fan at 100% speed)

Also, the card was in a slot near the floor of my case, and then I put it close to the cpu. After that, temperatures went from 80ºC to something like 60-70ºC when idle, so I put the fan at 100% speed and now the temps are at 38ºC when the gpu is idle. Then, I tried to underclock the VRAM (it was at 993Mhz and I put it at 840Mhz) and magically artifacts stopped appearing (Apart from the ones appearing when playing Tropico 4 and some other games, when playing AoE2 I could see some dots in black areas and in the sea), but TDRs and BSODs didn't stop, especially when playing videos.

This last week everything was fine; I could play video games with no problems, and everything was working well, but some days ago, I was trying to watch a video and then I got another BSOD with the code 0x116 (BSOD codes are always the same) and then, when Windows was loading (I have Windows 7), the screen that should be light blue, was a bit more green (or yellow) and then, when the desktop appeared, the screen was totally yellow (lets say it was a dark yellow), till the wallpaper and the icons appeared.

I found this page:

http://www.playtool.com/pages/artifacts/artifacts.html

and according to what I experienced (Artifacts, colours not appearing as they should, image loading slowly (happened when minimizing a game and then restored it) ), I realized that my videocard's memory may be damaged. So... What do you guys think? Do I have to change my video card or what should I do?

Btw, here are my specs:

MSI K9A2 Platinum v1
AMD Phenom 9550 x4
2x1GB DDR2 OCZ Platinum 800Mhz
2x2GB DDR2 Corsair Xms2 800Mhz
Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3 (First version)
WDC WD5000AAKS-22A7B0 (500 GB HDD)
PSU: Satellite SL-8600 EPS (By the time my father bought the computer, he didn't know anything about other PSUs, but he says this PSU is ok)
Windows 7 Ultimate x64

 

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 09/24/2013 06:30 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

If you run Memtest86+ and rule out a faulty RAM module then yes I would suspect a faulty card. If I were you though, I would pull the hard drive and do a complete system upgrade if possible, as your PSU does need to be upgraded to something a bit more...reputable.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/24/2013 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

How much time do I have to run memtest? I did a test with another program but It didn't too so long. Also, the memories are just some months old, so I don't think they could be the source of the problem.

And at the time I can't upgrade the whole system, it's something that I cannot afford. I was just thinking about changing the card and then, when I can get some more money, build a new rig. Also, buying a new PSU is expensive, and there aren't so many reliable brands here (I only saw a Thermaltake PSU and also a Cooler Master PSU. Are those ok?).

I've searched a bit, and some people around here say that the PSU I own works very well and has no problems at all, but obviously, its not a renown brand like Corsair or Thermaltake.

In the case that I have to buy another card... Will an HD6850 work with my processor? what about an HD7850?

 09/24/2013 09:57 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Ideally you should leave it running overnight but problems do usually show themselves within the first couple of passes.

Where is "here?" I am assuming a Spanish speaking nation judging by what comes up in the search results for that power supply, but both of those are OK brands, not the best but shouldn't blow up on you.

If I were you I would stick with an HD 5000 series card. Taking into account the age of your motherboard, it might have some compatibility issues with the newer cards.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/24/2013 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

Yeah, I'm from a Spanish speaking country, to be more precise, I'm from Argentina.

About the card, I've seen that every PCIE card can work on any slot, or that is what people say on forums. In that case I can buy one of the newer cards, and avoid it getting obsolete too quickly.

What I want to know is about the bottlenecking the card and the processor can cause. I read on tomshardware forums that some people said that the last card compatible with my processor was the HD6870. Is that so?

Oh, and what about overclocking my processor?  I've seen that it can't be overclocked too much, what do think about that?

 

 09/25/2013 09:09 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

Getting an overclockable chip is always a chance, but you need aftermarket cooling in order to do anything meaningful. The problem is your CPU is only 2.2ghz with fairly mediocre performance, so unless you were able to get an 800mhz boost out of it, which would be quite extraordinary, high end modern card's power would be wasted. While it is true that PCIe versions are backwards compatible, older motherboards can have incompatibilities with newer cards, though the chances are slim since you have a 790FX board.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/25/2013 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

http://www.pc-specs.com/gpu/AMD/HD_6000_Series/Radeon_HD_6850_PowerColor_Edition/905/Compatible_Motherboards

That page says my mobo is compatible with that HD6850

 

About overclocking the processor, I don't know how far can I go. If I can get it to 2.8 mhz or something around that, I think it will be ok. 

I saw someone selling 2 cooling systems from cooler master. One of them is the 'Cooler Master v8' and the other one is the 'Cooler Master v6GT'. What about those two, should I get one of them and try to overclock my processor?

 

Now the problem is that I don't want to upgrade everything, I can't see anyone selling an am3 (Actually, there are some am3 processors, but only athlon II x2 and sempron) processor or an HD5850, or something of that series. I prefer to get a high end card cause I like to play with high graphics, but the problem is that I can't find anyone selling an HD6850 or an HD5850. I only saw some HD7850, 6770, 5450, and some other cards. In case I can get an HD6850, should I get that one or what should I do?  This is confusing me a lot!

Or maybe I should go for a GeForce. The problem is that Nvidia cards are a bit more expensive than ATI cards.

--------------------------------------------------------

EDIT: Ok, now I think the card is failing a lot. Jus about some minutes ago, I opened a video by mistake, and got another BSOD. Then when Windows loaded, I opened firefox, and everyting in the window started to 'shrink horizontally' and then back to normal, trhen shrink again and back to normal.. and so on. Then suddenly, everything in that window turned fluorescent green! (texts, images, everything) and then got back to normal. Thatis weird!

Oh and btw, yesterday I tried to turn the pc off and got another BSOD, this time the code shown was 0x000050.

EDIT 2 : After writing the above, I tried opening firefox, and got another TDR and then....

http://i.imgur.com/7FHIJeP.png

http://i.imgur.com/eWrDaDD.png



Edited: 09/25/2013 at 02:58 PM by Mad-Doc
 09/25/2013 04:03 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12257
Joined: 04/17/2008

The 6850 is about 50% faster than your current card, so it is an upgrade. The CPU support list on your motherboard's page on MSI's site lists all the compatible processors.

As for those CPU coolers, they are good. HOWEVER, make sure you have at least 170mm of clearance between your CPU and side panel to fit them.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 09/26/2013 02:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

Ok, more problems are appearing, and I can't get any card from the HD5000 or 6000 series, so... what card should I get? is there any card from the latest series that can fit in my computer? what about HD7770?

 09/27/2013 09:50 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4851
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: black_zion If I were you I would stick with an HD 5000 series card. Taking into account the age of your motherboard, it might have some compatibility issues with the newer cards.

I hava a K9A2 series motherboard and it has no issues with the 6850. Literally no issues, I've never seen a BSOD since I own the card (2 years), except when I did it on purpose of course. But that doesn't count.

OP: Make sure you have the latest BIOS for the mobo.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/27/2013 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

Now, after another BSOD, any time I open a window, I can see a green glow surrounding it :S

About the card, a vendor told me that he got some Asus HD5870 from second-hand. He is selling them at US$185. Is it worth getting that card, being that the card is a second-hand one, and also knowing that amd could drop support for it in a near future?

Also, what should consider, and what should I ask the vendor about that card before getting it?

 09/29/2013 10:02 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4851
Joined: 12/27/2008

I think that 185 USD would be too much even for a new one. It's an ancient card. You can get a brand new 7850 for that much. Offer them 100 USD and if they don't accept it, skip it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 09/29/2013 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mad-Doc
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 09/23/2013

It's a lot of money, yes, but the seller bought  that card online from USA and then brought it here (I'm from Argentina). The total value of those things that are bought abroad, and then brought here is something like ' Good value * 1.7 + cost of courier (we have to hire a courier to bring goods here)' (That '1.7' is because goods that enter our country are charged with a 50% of the good's total value, and also there is another fee for buying with another currency (20%) ).

The total value for that card in our currency is something like $1300, but for $1900 I can get a Sapphire HD7850 2GHz OC Edition.

My question is: Will I be able to use that card with my processor (Phenom 9550 x4), or should I try to get a Phenom II? (Maybe I can get a Phenom II x4 965 BE).

 

Statistics
84341 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.