Topic Title: No sound over HDMI (HD 4290 + Windows 7)
Topic Summary: No HDMI Audio on HD 4290
Created On: 10/31/2013 07:29 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/31/2013 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Toussaint
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 10/30/2013

Graphics Card
Not overclocked, Radeon Integrated HD 4290

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Catalyst 13.9

Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, 64-bit

Issue Details
No sound to tv when using HDMI from computer

HDMI audio "Not plugged in", unselectable

Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASUS M4A89GTD-PRO

Power Supply

Antec VP550P

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
FULL-HD LED TV, NETmate HDMI 1.4 Cable

Applications and Games

All media player

CPU Details
AMD Phenom II X4 B55 Black Edition (Deneb)
Not overclocked


Motherboard BIOS Version
ASUS BIOS 3030

System Memory Type & Amount
Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 4 GB x 2

(PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM UDIMM)

Additional Hardware
Seagate ST2000DL003-9VT166

Intel Gigabit CT2 Desktop Adapter

Additional Details
Fresh installation of Windows 7

 

Any help would be much appreciated!!

 11/05/2013 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
willjovi-purchases@yahoo.com
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/05/2013

Same issue here. Have a gigabyte mobo with realtek ALC889A chipset sending audio to Radeon HD 3400 pcie vid card. Getting the same "not plugged in" when pulling up sound in control panel on win 7 ultimate with sp 1 (64 bit).

Graphics Card
Radeon HD 3400 

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Catalyst 13.9 

Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate SP1, 64-bit

Issue Details
No sound to tv when using HDMI from computer

HDMI audio "Not plugged in", unselectable

Motherboard or System Make & Model

GA-EP35-DS3P (rev. 2.1)
Intel® P35 + ICH9R Chipset


Power Supply

Ultra Series LS Power Supply Model: ULT-LS600P

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
SONY NSX46GT1 LED SMART TV, HDMI 1.4 Cable (tried various HDMI cables that work on Uverse cable box and PS3 to tv).

Applications and Games

All media player

CPU Details
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400

Motherboard BIOS Version

1.07 08042006

System Memory Type & Amount
Kingston Hyperx DDr2 4x 2Gb total 8Gb

Additional Hardware
Lite On Blu-Ray LH 2B 1S

Additional Details
Fresh installation of Windows 7 (x64) Ultimate w/ SP1

 11/06/2013 07:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Neither one of you mention if you have a HDMI port on the video card or using a DIV2HDMI solution. If the latter one is true, you can only use the dongle that came with the card.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/06/2013 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Toussaint
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 10/30/2013

Originally posted by: Eydee Neither one of you mention if you have a HDMI port on the video card or using a DIV2HDMI solution. If the latter one is true, you can only use the dongle that came with the card.

 

Thanks for your reply.

I've used the HDMI output on my mobo and HDMI2HDMI cable.

By chance, it once worked flawlessly though there is the black bar problem.

I've solved the black bar problem, but the driver was unstable.

no sound again, even no detecting HDMI...

After many tries, I couldn't come back that successful setting.

So, I just bought an AMD Radeon HD 6570  and resolved my issue finally.

BTW, I tried harder out of spite.

Did I need to buy a external card for the purpose of playing media only?

 

Thanks anyway!

 

 11/06/2013 03:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: ToussaintDid I need to buy a external card for the purpose of playing media only?

External card? It's called a DVD player. You hook it up to the TV and bang, you can play media files. You don't even need a computer.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/07/2013 04:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Toussaint
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 10/30/2013

Mobo : M4A89GTD PRO with integrated onboard gpu, HD 4290

I've hook the HD 6570 and no hiccups at all.

What i'm saying a external card is HD 6570.

I should have gotten it earlier.

uncomparable performance for only 50 bucks!

 11/07/2013 11:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I see. The word you were looking for is dedicated card, the opposite of integrated. External means it's outside your PC case. (E.g. there are external HDDs, TV tuner cards etc., which usually use USB ports.)

To answer the question: Yes, even if it's a very cheap and low-end card, it would be better to have a dedicated (and more recent) GPU.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 11/09/2013 05:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Toussaint
Peon

Posts: 10
Joined: 10/30/2013

Yup, you're right!

But, kaveri will change this formula, you know.

with HD 7750, no need a dedicated gfx,

Statistics
88915 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.