Topic Title: HD4850 and Windows Media Center on Windows 8
Topic Summary: Windows Media Center does not output video with ATI drivers
Created On: 11/09/2013 03:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2013 03:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nkast
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/08/2013

WMCGraphics Card
Gigabyte HD4850 1GB GDDR3

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
-'ATI Randeon HD 4800 Series', 8.970.100.3000
-Problem not present when using default 'ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (Microsoft Corporation - WDDM v1.1)', 8.97.10.6, but performance in games is significantly lower with that driver.

Operating System
-Windows 8.1 64-bit.
-Problem was present on Windows 8.0 64-bit as well.

Issue Details
- Install AMD Catalyst XX.X legacy (tested with 12.6, 13.1, 13.4 beta. Check either full install or Driver only).
- Open Windows Media Center .
-Media Center shows no TV output (black). You can hear the audio and record the channel (which you can playback just fine once you revert back to Microsoft's older driver).

 

Motherboard or System Make & Model
-Asus M5A78L

Applications and Games
- Windows Media Center

CPU Details
-AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.42GHz,
Stepping 3, Revision RB-C3

Motherboard BIOS Version
-M5A78L-ASUS-1505

System Memory Type & Amount
-DDR3 4GB

Additional Hardware
-AVerMedia A188 PCIe Duo Htbrid Analog/DVBT (as I said above, I can record channels while the problem is in effect, so the tuner can't be the problem.)



Edited: 11/09/2013 at 08:31 PM by nkast
 11/09/2013 06:45 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12252
Joined: 04/17/2008

The HD 4000 series is not fully supported on Windows 8 and 8.1. Suggested fix: Upgrade to a supported card.

Alternate solution: Use MPC or VLC instead of WMP.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/09/2013 08:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nkast
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/08/2013

It's Windows Media Center, not Player. Sorry about that. If you had read the actual problem description instead of just the title you would have caught that.

Now, is there anyone else out there who can at least replicate/confirm the problem?

 

 

 11/09/2013 09:59 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12252
Joined: 04/17/2008

If you would have read the post instead of being a smartass you would have found the solution. And considering WMC uses WMP components for media playback, it doesn't matter if I said WMP or WMC now does it? The fact remains you have a card which is not fully supported for that OS.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/09/2013 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nkast
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/08/2013

Tell me something Zion, do you work for AMD?

 Because if you do, you attitude tells me you hate your job and you are desperatly looking to get fired. If not, then your opinion means nothing to me. You've just filled those forums with 'you have to get a new card' posts.

I came here to find a solution. Instead I found the typical troll. Please, don't keep going. I'm not gona feed you any more.

 

 

 11/10/2013 07:53 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7075
Joined: 11/13/2009

Is there a way to run the program (WMC) in compatibility mode?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/10/2013 08:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nkast
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/08/2013

Originally posted by: stumped Is there a way to run the program (WMC) in compatibility mode?

I tried that, the compatibility tab was not there. (the executable for WMC is '%windir%\ehome\ehshell.exe'). As it turns out, compatibility mode is not available for applications that come with the OS.

I also tried to run catalyst_13.4 CCC in Win7 mode and suprisigly in install the driver and AMD VISION but it didn't solve the problem.

Another thing that I tried and it's quite interesting is that when I went to create an App profile for WMC (ehshell.exe) i got a MessageBox telling me that this app ALLREADY has a profile and if I proceed it will get overriden with current settings. I played with the 3D application settings for a while with no results. I am going to follow this more when I get the time until I exhaust all the available compinations.

Any more ideas are welcome.

 

 11/10/2013 12:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4847
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: nkast Any more ideas are welcome.

 

Delete that crap and install Windows 7. I'm sure you can live without metro and you'll have 100% compatibility.

You know, since M$ is marching to its death, a higher windows version number no longer automatically means a longer e-peen as well. So there's no reason to keep it.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84311 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.