Topic Title: ATI All in Winder Radeon 8500 and Win 7
Topic Summary: Updating very old computer from XP
Created On: 12/10/2013 11:40 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/10/2013 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dss_cottage
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/28/2012

I think that I know the answer to this but I'll ask before I head to the recycle center.

I have a very old computer (the third in the house) running Win XP that I'll need to upgrade before XP support ends in April. It won't run Win 8 and I think that I may have a problem with Win 7 too.

It has an ATI All in Winder Radeon 8500 grahpics board. From what I can find there are no Win 7 drivers for the board and no way to get it working with Win 7.

Has anyone had success making this combination work?

I understand that it is possible to get a newer card but for a system this old, it's not worth spending money. However, if I can cobble something together without $$$, it'll be worthwhile.

 12/10/2013 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3979
Joined: 01/27/2008

Do you REALLY need to update from XP?  If you have a decent antivirus/malware checker you're probably fine. Of course you could disconnect from the internet and not worry at all. Maybe make it a file server for your local lan.

..just sayin'



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram,  Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 12/10/2013 02:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11583
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed, it'd make a nice file/media server with that AIW board, as well as a legacy gaming machine, and something you might use to tinker around with Linux on.

Why spend $99 on an OS when the computer itself is only worth $20?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/10/2013 03:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4286
Joined: 12/27/2008

You can install XP WDM drivers manually by the device manager. You won't have aero and WDDM features but you'll have everything that a 8500 can provide. DX7 support probably. Or DX6?...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 12/10/2013 05:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11583
Joined: 04/17/2008

The All-In-Wonder 8500 supports up to DirectX 8.1 like the rest of the R200 series.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
81034 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.