Topic Title: Can't make OpenCL run properly on Radeon 4850
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/29/2013 04:21 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/29/2013 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tigro
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2013

Graphics Card

Gigabyte Radeon HD4850 Zalman 512MB

AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Currently Catalyst 13.1, also tried 12.7, 13.12

Operating System
Windows 7 64bit

Issue Details
I can't make my card run OpenCL. I tried installing AMD SDK 2.6, 2.7 and 2.9 but none made any difference. I also tried using the installer from the unpacked driver directory of C:\AMD\. I did a clean install of both Catalyst and SDK twice using various AMD uninstallers like DDU but nothing changed. As a consequence, GPU-Z crashes on OpenCL test and tells me it won't check for it and any software needing OpenCL support simply crashes on startup prompting that the program "has stopped working".

Motherboard or System Make & Model
MSI P35 Neo-F

CPU Details
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 @ 3.9GHz

System Memory Type & Amount

A-Data DDR2 2x2048MB Extreme Edition VITESTA CL4

 12/29/2013 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The card doesn't properly support OCL, only 1.0. Try some ancient drivers from back when OCL was introduced. Some may work. I remember running OCL demos on my old 4850.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/30/2013 07:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tigro
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2013

Thank you. I cleaned my system of any AMD stuff again and tried installing Catalyst 9.12 (apparently the first one supporting OpenCL) and ATI Stream SDK 2.1 but GPU-Z still shows me there's no OpenCL. I installed AMD SDK 2.6 after that (couldn't find ATI Stream 2.0, 2.2 or 2.3 anywhere) but the checkbox beside OpenCL is still empty. Which else driver + sdk combo may I try to install if this one doens't do the job?

 12/30/2013 09:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12471
Joined: 04/17/2008

Other than GPUz, which program are you needing OpenCL for? As Eydee said that card does not fully support OpenCL, so you might want to pick up a newer card which does, such as the $139 R7 260x which is about 50% faster than what you have now.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/30/2013 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tigro
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2013

CGMiner. I got interested in the new cryptocurrencies like Dogecoin and though I know that my GPU is ridiculously slow for such task, I just wanted to see how it goes and play with mining a bit. Regretfully, not having OpenCL enabled prevents me from this.

 12/30/2013 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

I'm not sure GPU-Z will show 1.0 support. Try GPU Caps Viewer instead, it also has demos you can run and make sure it works.

 



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 12/31/2013 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Tigro
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 12/29/2013

Thanks - I tried Caps Viewer just now and it crashes on startup just like any other OpenCL-based application I tried (like CGMiner mentioned above). What else could be wrong if I already have Catalyst 9.12 and the oldest ATI Stream I could find?

 01/22/2014 05:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Cyberjunkie
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/22/2014

Hello AMD,

I'm trying to set-up an opencl device on my computer to run the guiminer
but can't get it to work. I've posted questions on bitcoin and other
software forums but no one knows the answer. The computer specs and
related info are below.

GPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Duel Core Processor
To set-up opencl I'm using AMD SDK 2.9 and MS Visual Studio 2012.

1st, I tried building the project from scratch using this tutorial.
http://kode-stuff.blogspot.nl/2012/11/setting-up-opencl-in-visual-studio_1.html

At the end I was getting error message missing "CLcl/h".

I resolved this this by changing the C/C++ Additional Include Directories
to take the opencl files from the include folder at C:/program
file(x86)/AMD SDK/2.9/include.

Then Linker-> General Additional Library Directories to
$(AMDAPPSDKROOT)\lib\x86_64

Last I added Open.lib to the Input and added x64 under the Configuration
Manager > Active Solutions Platform.

Once I build the project I get error message C1083: Cannot open include
file "CLUtil.hpp": No such file or directory.

I scoured the Internet and can't find any articles relating to this error
message. How do I fix this problem?
 01/26/2014 06:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Cyberjunkie

Hello AMD,

I'm trying to set-up an opencl device on my computer to run the guiminer
but can't get it to work. I've posted questions on bitcoin and other
software forums but no one knows the answer. The computer specs and
related info are below.

GPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Duel Core Processor
To set-up opencl I'm using AMD SDK 2.9 and MS Visual Studio 2012.

1st, I tried building the project from scratch using this tutorial.
http://kode-stuff.blogspot.nl/2012/11/setting-up-opencl-in-visual-studio_1.html

At the end I was getting error message missing "CLcl/h".

I resolved this this by changing the C/C++ Additional Include Directories
to take the opencl files from the include folder at C:/program
file(x86)/AMD SDK/2.9/include.

Then Linker-> General Additional Library Directories to
$(AMDAPPSDKROOT)\lib\x86_64

Last I added Open.lib to the Input and added x64 under the Configuration
Manager > Active Solutions Platform.

Once I build the project I get error message C1083: Cannot open include
file "CLUtil.hpp": No such file or directory.

I scoured the Internet and can't find any articles relating to this error
message. How do I fix this problem?

Did you know that there is an AMD Developer forum? Google it.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85436 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.