Topic Title: Upgrading Radeon X600 drivers for Windows 7
Topic Summary: Do you install the Windows 7 drivers while still in XP?
Created On: 12/30/2013 03:00 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2013 03:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
prowdev
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 12/30/2013

I have ATI Radeon X600 256MB HyperMemory and HyperMemory Secondary devices in my PC, a Dell Dimension 9150, running Windows XP SP3.

Now I wish to upgrade to Windows 7, for which I need new drivers from AMD.  The current drivers are: ATI Control Panel 6.14.10.5160 and ATI Display Driver 8.162-050803a2-025672C-Dell.  These are up-to-date for XP.

My question is 'Will the existing drivers work for Windows 7, so that I can upgrade them once Windows is installed?  Or, should I install the new drivers while still in XP?  But will the new ones work in XP?' 

Thanks for advice,  Rog

 12/30/2013 03:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dch48
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/15/2011

You might be able to install those drivers and have them work by using Compatibility mode in Windows 7. Set the installer file to compatibility with XP SP3 and see if it works.

Windows 7 should also install a working driver automatically during the setup process. It may even be a later version than what you have but probably will not contain the Control Center.

As a side note, Windows 8 actually works better for older hardware than 7 does. It's lighter and faster as well. If you don't already own a copy of Win 7 I would consider going to 8 instead. I did that on my older XP laptop when I was able to obtain an unused copy of Win 8 Pro for only $32 through eBay. You can install a program called Classic Shell that can give you the look and feel of Win 7.



-------------------------
HP Dv6-6140us Laptop, AMD A8-3500M APU with Radeon HD 6620G graphics, 6 GB DDR3-1333 RAM.

Edited: 12/30/2013 at 03:29 PM by Dch48
 12/30/2013 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12672
Joined: 04/17/2008

The answer is no. The last legacy driver set for that card According to AMD for Windows 7 x64 is 10.2. You would be well advised to spend $20 on a HD 5450. HOWEVER, the rest of your system is rather weak and I would strongly advise you to upgrade your entire system.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
86455 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.