Locked Topic Locked
Topic Title: URGENT: Need driver for AMD HD4xxx Mobility for Win8.1 for BD
Topic Summary: HD4xxx Mobility Windows 8.1 BluRay
Created On: 01/10/2014 03:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/10/2014 03:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

I do need a driver for the AMD HD4xxx Mobility for a Dell Studio running Windows 8.1 to be able to watch my BluRay Movies again. It worked well in Windows 8, but after the Windows 8.1 Upgrade it didn't work anymore.

But i need this. To watch movies with friends and family as well - an this is the bigger issue - with business partners.

In other words, i need a driver for the AMD HD4xxx Mobility for Windows 8.1 to watch BluRay again.

I used the forum search, but didn't find anything at all.

Hoping to be able to thank you soon for your help.

 01/10/2014 06:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The card is no longer supported, there are no 8.1 drivers and there won't be according to AMD. You need to use 8.0 or 7 or have to do some magic yourself.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/11/2014 08:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

Some ***** in the BluRay alliance had the idea, that you need a hdcp compatible gpu driver to watch BD videos. AMD accepted this at this time.

So it's AMD's job now too to give the people a driver that works out in this scenario.

The HD 4xxx Mobile is capable to decode BD in hardware. So there should be a driver for it to do so. And because it workes under Windows 8 and not under Windows 8.1, which is nothing more that a Service Pack, because of this "little" detail AMD hat to give us a legacy driver for Windows 8.1 and the AMD HD4xxx Mobility.

The other way would be to give us a guide to create us our own drivers or the source code of the driver.

You guys can't just allow us to watch BD video and then just take it away from us, especially if there is something like a legacy driver.

And the Cyberlink support told, that AMD is able to give me this driver, because there is no other way to be able to watch BD again.

On the other hand i had to give my Cyberlink licence back, because it never worked from the beginning.

 01/11/2014 10:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Wake up, your card is 6 years old. 6 years ago we had dual core processors, monitor resolutions of 1280x1024 and stuff like that. Time passes, hardware gets outdated. No company will support ancient products.

However, you're just bitching, as your card works fine with windows 7, including HDCP. It's not AMD's fault that you're attracted to a few phone apps more than others...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/11/2014 11:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12554
Joined: 04/17/2008

I'm surprised Windows 8.1 actually works correctly on a laptop that old. You really need to think about upgrading as Eydee hinted at.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

I'm using Windows 8.1 Professional on a Core i7 720 with 8GB of RAM and a 17" Touchscreen TFT in an DELL STUDIO 1747. So tell me, how can i upgrade the GPU? I just want to be able to watch my videos again. 

 01/11/2014 12:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12554
Joined: 04/17/2008

You buy a new laptop.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

 

Do you tell everyone who has a software problem to buy new hardware? I don't even need a whole driver package. A compatible inf file for catalyst 13.12 might work too.

 01/11/2014 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12554
Joined: 04/17/2008

No, just people with systems you can't upgrade, like yours, seeing as how the HD 4000 series and earlier do not support the features required in 8.1, and no software package can give them to you. So you have three choices:

1) Put Windows 7 back on.
2) Put Windows 8.0 back on.
3) Buy a new laptop.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/11/2014 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You don't need to buy new hardware. As I said, format the hard drive, install windows 7 and you're good to go. Forget metro apps, they're crap.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/11/2014 03:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

Just to make myself clear again, i need Windows 8.1 for the touchscreen and hdcp for bluray videos on this one notebook. And for this i need a catalyst legacy driver to make it work. Because the legacy driver still supports the HD4650 Mobility. And i need it directly from the driver developers of AMD  because Cyberlink told me that these guys can solve my problem with the Cyberlink software.

 01/11/2014 05:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12554
Joined: 04/17/2008

The HD 4000 series and before are not supported in Windows 8.1. What is it about that statement you are failing to grasp? They will not be supported as they lack the features Microsoft requires for support, which were in Windows 8 but not strictly enforced until 8.1. What is not clear?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/12/2014 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion The HD 4000 series and before are not supported in Windows 8.1. What is it about that statement you are failing to grasp? They will not be supported as they lack the features Microsoft requires for support, which were in Windows 8 but not strictly enforced until 8.1. What is not clear?

That's wrong. Just wrong. It works perfectly in Windows 8.1 with the default Microsoft driver. Even DX11 games are working.

Just the encryption of the video signal - which is recommended for BD Video - does not work and for this i'm requesting here the needed legacy driver or any an inf file for the newest driver.

Why does everyone here write thing they doen't know about. I have the system right before my eyes. I'm currently typing from it. So why should it not work?

 01/13/2014 06:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

It's not up for debate, especially not on the community forums. AMD said the card is legacy and they won't make drivers for it. This is a fact even if the card is windows 163-compatible and could be used in 2213 as well. If you so much need 8.1, you have to buy a PCIe card. It doesn't have to be a gamer card, even the cheapest budget card can do what you need and even more.

You can as well start bugging Microsoft to add 8.0 driver compatibility. You have more chance, as windows 8.0 is not yet legacy, neither is 8.1.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/13/2014 06:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

@Eydee

Do you even read before wrinting something?

Isn't it rule1 to first read before posting some crap?

Now Mr. I-know-everything, how to i get a PCIe GPU into my DELL Studio 1747 notebook?

And why do you say that it doesn't work? It works well. Why are you denying that?

 01/13/2014 08:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: wandrer And why do you say that it doesn't work? It works well. Why are you denying that?

 

Then is the reason of this thread to steal hard disk space from the server which hosts the forums? If it works, then leave it as it is.

Also according to AMD these mobility cards also use some form of PCIe. You have a discrete card, it can be replaced.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/13/2014 08:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wandrer
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 01/10/2014

I need hdcp support to view BD-Video Video. Thats all I need.

 01/13/2014 09:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

I need a lot of money. Thats all I need.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/13/2014 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: wandrer I need hdcp support to view BD-Video Video. Thats all I need.

 

I also need HDCP support on my Commodore 64. F*** me, right?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 01/13/2014 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ray@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 127
Joined: 07/30/2012

I think this topic is now degenerating into a flame war so I'm going to lock it.



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care


The information presented here is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

Statistics
85784 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.