Topic Title: ATI Radeon HD 4800 - Black/freeze screen
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/12/2014 10:11 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/12/2014 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ktsixit
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/12/2014

Hi all,

For some reason ATI Radeon HD 4800 doesn't work properly on my computer. Whenever I try to play a game, the screen freezes and then turns to black, after just a few seconds of gaming..... I have tried the following:

1) Re-install windows

2) Format PC. New istallation of Windows 7

3) Replace CPU fan

4) Replace PSU

After all these, the problem seemed to have been fixed. But it re-appeared after 2 days. I'm back to to the begging now and I don't know what elese to do.

I have downloaded and run the Froblins AMD Demo, and after some seconds I get the same freeze/black screen. Then an error log file appears, containing the following:

 

 

I've been trying to solve this issue for months, but still haven't found a solution. What should I do next? Is there anyway to fix this?

 01/13/2014 06:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4258
Joined: 12/27/2008

Did it work previously or have you acquired the card recently? Also, is this a sarcastic representation of an empty log file or have you just forgotten pasting the info?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 01/14/2014 01:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ktsixit
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/12/2014

I did post the code but for some reason it's not there anymore. So here it is:

=== Sushi 3.1 Build 300 (Compiled on May 12 2009 18:38:10)

[ 8:02:14] Unable to get audio driver name: No errors.
[ 8:02:15] 16:10 monitor detected
[ 8:02:15] Screen resolution is 1280x800
[ 8:02:15] Creating DX10.1 device.
[ 8:02:15] This device supports hardware tessellation in D3D10.
          
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()
.\D3D10\SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery.cpp(130) : [ 8:02:48] ERROR: Error in SuD3D10SOStatisticsQuery::GetNumPrimitivesWritten()

 

the file is called SushiLog.txt. I googled that error message but didn't found anything about it...

 01/14/2014 05:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 922
Joined: 11/22/2010

Maybe pasting the specs would help? Perhaps there is a weak link?

**STICKY** | PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING 



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 01/14/2014 06:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4258
Joined: 12/27/2008

That error log doesn't say much, an internal function fails. Only the developer knows why exactly.

You forgot the answer the important question however. Have you acquired the card recently and found this behavior right from the start, or did it work properly some time ago?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3250MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 850/1150MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 7 Pro x64

CPU: Pentium 4 Northwood S478 @ 3200MHz | RAM: 1,5GB DDR 400| MoBo: Gigabyte GA-8S661FXMP-RZ | GPU: ASUS Radeon X1650 Pro 256MB | Display: Dimarson 19" CRT | PSU: Noname 400W | OS: changing twice every week...

 01/14/2014 05:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ktsixit
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 01/12/2014

The card used to work properly for about two years and one day it got this issue. I changed cpu fan, psu, I checked the card's temperature, haven't found anything wrong.

Here are some more specs about my computer:

Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 4800

AMD Catalyst Driver Version: 13.1

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate - 64-bit

Motherboard:
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5QL/EPU Rev X.0x

Power Supply
: Corsair Builder Series CX600 600W PSU 80+ Bronze

CPU Details: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU, E8500  @ 3.16GHz, 3166 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)

Motherboard BIOS Version: 2.5

System Memory Type & Amount: 4GB

Statistics
80938 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.