Topic Title: replace radeon x300 with hd3650
Topic Summary: card shut down computer
Created On: 01/27/2014 02:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/27/2014 02:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
john
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/27/2014

system is dell with xp

I downloaded 11-11_xp32hdmiaudio which I thought was correct driver ;

may not be;  did install software.

did not disable current card; installed new card; rebooted;

system immediate crash due to parity error;

not sure how to transition from old card to new card; when to disable current drivers etc.

 

I am not a geek so please be patient and  provide good detail; actually have same card working on computer I am corresponding on; do not remember difficulty; have misplaced or do not remember how I installed original drivers for card

 01/27/2014 04:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Dch48
Nerfed

Posts: 68
Joined: 09/15/2011

 A driver that says hdmiaudio is an audio driver and does not contain video drivers. You need to have one that says dd-ccc in the file name. That stands for display driver-Catalyst Control Center. Those will also contain the HDMI drivers you may or may not need depending on whether or not your card has an HDMI output. I would try the 12.2 driver for XP at this site that says "Catalyst Software Suite".

http://driverscollection.com/?H=Radeon%20HD%203650&By=ATI&dpage=4

http://driverscollection.com/_43938337278a5c14dfe37b47dae/Download-ATI-Radeon-HD-3650-Catalyst-Software-Suite-v.12.2-for-Windows-XP-Media-Center-free



-------------------------
HP Dv6-6140us Laptop, AMD A8-3500M APU with Radeon HD 6620G graphics, 6 GB DDR3-1333 RAM.

Edited: 01/27/2014 at 04:34 PM by Dch48
 01/27/2014 05:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
john
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 01/27/2014

HI:

Thanks!  Does your response mean:  Down load collection, extract, shut down computer, remove current card, install new card, reboot system?

Will I need to go to device manager and disable the current card after I reboot the system?

 01/27/2014 06:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12470
Joined: 04/17/2008

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/10...cy_xp32-64_dd_ccc.exe

That's what you need. Actually what you NEED is a completely new system in 2 months, but that will get you by until then.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85407 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.