Topic Title: HD 4600 Series Code 10
Topic Summary: Refuses to Start
Created On: 02/18/2014 12:30 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/18/2014 12:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
oldsoul71
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 02/18/2014

Inherited an old gaming PC from a family member, backed up drivers using a utlilty, put the computer back to factory settings (as it was slow and full of software I didn't want) and applied all updates and then restored drivers. The graphics card gives a Code 10 error in Device Manager (failed to start). I have uninstalled the card and reinstalled it, loaded optimum BIOS settings, downloaded and used the autodetect program from the site and even used a Beta version of the Catalyst installer but it doesn't seem to want to work. It's greyed out in CPU-Z and when I roll back the driver or reinstall it it says the driver dated 2010 is current and the best software for the job. The Operating System is Windows XP SP3 (I know, I know ) but it worked prior to my reloading. I just wonder what I've done to it to stop it working. The motherboard is an abit as8-v, BIOS and chipset is a little dated and I'm having trouble finding updates but I didn't touch these before. So assuming these aren't the issue. Any help and advice before I pull the card and chuck it? Thanks in advance.

 02/18/2014 12:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
WMudrockJr
Overclocker

Posts: 705
Joined: 04/01/2013

The fact is that XP support stop at 13.4 and here is where you can download it.

http://www.oldapps.com/ati.php



-------------------------

AMD A10-5800K, XFX 7850 Ultra OC Edition 975MHz, 16GB RAM, Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit, MSI 7778 motherboard, 500W PSU, HP P7-1235, CCC 13.12 WHQL

 02/18/2014 07:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4883
Joined: 12/27/2008

The problem might be in the backup/restore function. Reset the computer again and use proper driver installers made available by the hardware manufacturers. Driver utilities are not the best idea.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84977 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 9 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.