Topic Title: Mobility Radeon HD 4650: image compressed horizontally on external monitor
Topic Summary: The image is compressed horizontally when I switch to an external monitor
Created On: 02/22/2014 07:13 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/22/2014 07:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncote
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/22/2014

ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4650

Windows 7 64 bit

Driver Version 8.970.100.1100

External Monitor: DELL ST2420L connected via VGA cable

Machine is a Dell Studio 17 (Model 1747).  
The previous driver version (V?) worked fine but now when I display only on the external monitor, the image is compressed horizontally (black bars at right and left edges).  When I "Extend" the display, it works normally, i.e. the entire screen is used.  I need to use this version since the previous version had an out-of-date Open GL version.
 02/23/2014 03:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

If you use a VGA connection, you should be able to resize the picture freely by both the monitor menu and CCC controls. What's stopping you from doing this?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 02/23/2014 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ncote
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 02/22/2014

Thanks for the reply.

I neglected to mention that the external display is an LCD screen: there are no controls for horizontal/vertical size, just horizontal/vertical position.  And the CCC controls for size don't do anything.

In any case, I just experimented a bit, and it's possible to fix the problem by changing the resolution to any other value, then back to native resolution (as it was initially) and the problem disappears.

Thank you for your help.

Statistics
86643 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.