Topic Title: Catalyst Scaling Option
Topic Summary: Need to center desktop without stretching
Created On: 03/07/2014 08:15 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/07/2014 08:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vorpal86
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/18/2009

I'm using Catalyst 13.1 (and several older versions) and I can not find the option, if there IS and option, to center desktop screens on my monitor.

I know this will give me black borders if the option exists, but i'd rather see clean text and images on screen and not blurry stretched images.

The only resolution my monitor will produce is 1600x900 - 60hz. 

I've lerned that most LCD monitors only produce a static screen size. Unlike CRT monitors where they supported real time screen modes, LCD's do not.

At least that's what it seems to me. Anyway. I need to know if that option is available.

Radeon 4550



-------------------------

System Specs : AMD Athlon x2 7750 - 2.7 Ghz - Saphire - Radeon 4550 512mb GDDR3 - 2GB 800MHz Corsair Memory - Windows Xp - Pro SP3


 03/08/2014 12:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

The option is there under "my digital flat panels" if you use DVI/HDMI/DP. It's not available if you use a VGA (D-SUB) analogue connection.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 03/11/2014 07:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vorpal86
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 04/18/2009

Aha. Yes I am using a VGA connection. Didn't know that. Now I do. It's been bugging me for a while. I would have never guessed.

 

Thank you very much Eydee the Dungeon Master. You can keep any skulls you find. : ) Trade them in for rewards.



-------------------------

System Specs : AMD Athlon x2 7750 - 2.7 Ghz - Saphire - Radeon 4550 512mb GDDR3 - 2GB 800MHz Corsair Memory - Windows Xp - Pro SP3


Statistics
85474 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.