Topic Title: ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 Recently Started Flickering
Topic Summary: Graphical errors with ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2
Created On: 04/25/2014 10:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/25/2014 10:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rabek
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/25/2014

Graphics Card
Two ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 used in Crossfire.

Overclock settings are at the default. I haven't messed with them.


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
Presently using 12.4. Was using 13.4 until today.

Operating System
Vista 32-bit

Issue Details
When I first purchased the system with these cards, I could run games like Civilization 5 and Skyrim on high using crossfire.

A year or two ago, crossfire started causing textures to flicker, so I had to disable it for most 3D games.

Starting this year, any full-screen 3D games will now flicker every minute or so, accompanied by graphical lag. I'm hoping to find a way to restore the original performance of my cards. I was using 13.4, as the support site says this is the most recent for my cards. Upon reading through some release notes, however, I found 12.4 to be the last to support 4800 series cards. I completely uninstalled 13.4 and all application profiles before installing 12.4. The flickering still occurs, though crossfire seems to work better now. Less texture flickering. Just lag flickering.

Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASUS M3A32-MVP DELUXE

Power Supply

It's not in my purchase invoice from five years ago, and I don't really want to open up my computer to check right now.

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
HP vs19c

Applications and Games

Diablo 3, Skyrim, Civ5, probably others that I can't recall right now.

CPU Details
AMD Athlon(tm) 7750 Dual-Core Processor

Not overclocking it unless the computer shipped that way.

Motherboard BIOS Version
Ver- 08.00.14

Pretty sure, at least. I don't believe I've updated it since I received it.

System Memory Type & Amount
I don't know the brand. Four sticks of 1GB DDR 2 memory. 802 MHz.

Additional Hardware
Nothing of consequence, as far as I know.

Additional Details
Did a virus scan with Microsoft Security Essentials. Checked Speccy for anything appearing out of place. Didn't notice anything. Fiddled with the VISION control center settings a bunch.

 08/14/2014 07:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
rabek
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/25/2014

I still don't have a solution for this, if there's anyone able to help or offer suggestions.

 08/14/2014 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12334
Joined: 04/17/2008

Power Supply
It's not in my purchase invoice from five years ago, and I don't really want to open up my computer to check right now.


If you can't be bothered to undo 2 screws in 4 months, why should be bothered to help you?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/15/2014 10:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7173
Joined: 11/13/2009

The 4xxx series are legacy cards....the most recent drivers are the 13.9 drivers .



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 08/15/2014 10:28 AM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 310
Joined: 10/14/2011

They could be clogged with dust. Have you taken them out of the case and blown out the dust? Heat could cause issues.

Power supply might be crapping out

Try 13.9 drivers. I have 2 x 4870's in my sons machine and they work fine.



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

Statistics
84716 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.