Topic Title: Best driver for Radeon HD 3450
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/03/2014 11:05 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/03/2014 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

Since my graphic card has been optimized to its peak preformence. I like to know which version os the best for this card. Version 12.1 to 13.9 will not install the graphic driver. Which is perfect for me, if it don't fit why force it. I'm using version 11.12 from Sapphiretech. com. Because Eydee said, old driver are not avaliable @amd.com. So I'm asking this question for all those who isn't a gamer. Just a jack of all trades and master of none.

Thank you Game Masters

Victorjr



-------------------------

Intel D856GLC Motherboard, Pentium 4 3060 MHz, 3072 MegaBytes Memory DDR-400, Radeon HD 3450 AGP, Western Digital EIDE 320 GigByte Hard Drive.

 05/03/2014 11:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12184
Joined: 04/17/2008

No Microsoft supported OS officially supports that card.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/04/2014 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

I'm running Windows 7 32 bit.  If you think that Microsoft WEI has some turth in computer system evaluation. Then 3.9 for AGP card, CPU is 4.3, Memory is 4.3 and Hard Drive is 5.4. Which is about half way up the WEI scale and a cool 39 degree C at idle. That is why this motherboard is name Darkside by ex-employees of non-supported OS during the beta testing of Vista. Now can you answer the question or not?



-------------------------

Intel D856GLC Motherboard, Pentium 4 3060 MHz, 3072 MegaBytes Memory DDR-400, Radeon HD 3450 AGP, Western Digital EIDE 320 GigByte Hard Drive.

 05/04/2014 08:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4844
Joined: 12/27/2008

12.11 is fine, you can keep it. You may as well mod any recent legacy driver, if you really want to. You can even mod any recent non-legacy driver with FLEM if you really want to. However, if you are not tech savy or don't want to fiddle with it, keep your current driver.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/09/2014 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shrlk
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/07/2014

it depends on the operating system you want to run the card on

follow the link for choosing the driver (you can easily open it from AMD homepage too)

step1: desktop graphics, step2: radeon HD series, step3: radeon HD 3xxx series PCIe, step4: choose the preferred operating system

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

for 7 (32bit) 13.9 will be the best

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/legacy?product=legacy2&os=Windows%207%20-%2032

 05/09/2014 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7027
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: shrlk it depends on the operating system you want to run the card on

 

follow the link for choosing the driver (you can easily open it from AMD homepage too)

 

step1: desktop graphics, step2: radeon HD series, step3: radeon HD 3xxx series PCIe, step4: choose the preferred operating system

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

 

for 7 (32bit) 13.9 will be the best

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/legacy?product=legacy2&os=Windows%207%20-%2032

 

It's a AGP card.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/10/2014 01:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shrlk
Peon

Posts: 11
Joined: 05/07/2014

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: shrlk it depends on the operating system you want to run the card on

 

 

 

follow the link for choosing the driver (you can easily open it from AMD homepage too)

 

 

 

step1: desktop graphics, step2: radeon HD series, step3: radeon HD 3xxx series PCIe, step4: choose the preferred operating system

 

 

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

 

 

 

for 7 (32bit) 13.9 will be the best

 

 

 

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/desktop/legacy?product=legacy2&os=Windows%207%20-%2032

 

 

 

 

It's a AGP card.

 

he doesn't mention it's PCIe or AGP as there are both versions (radeon HD 3450) at all if you follow the link described above you should see that HD series AGP will run the same driver as PCIe for win 7 (32bit)

 05/15/2014 11:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

Flem is a amazing program, but I'm not that geeky enough. Base of the Release Notes, version 12.4 is the last support for HD 3000 Series. Version 12.6 dosen't list HD 3000 or 4000 in the release notes. Yet for odd reason 12.3 will install correctly form this web site. Only from Sapphiretech.com will install with overclocking. I'm a old hardware geek that is watch his kilowatts per month. Old PC 4 hours per day adds up to $34 extra. Can't see to pay $71 for 2 hours per day with a i5 system.

 05/15/2014 11:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7027
Joined: 11/13/2009

He said it's a AGP card...read his post again.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/16/2014 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

IT is from the begining of this post. Please look at frist post dated 5/3/2014. Near the bottom is my system Intel 865GLC and smaller listing than your Intel i7 960



-------------------------

Intel D856GLC Motherboard, Pentium 4 3060 MHz, 3072 MegaBytes Memory DDR-400, Radeon HD 3450 AGP, Western Digital EIDE 320 GigByte Hard Drive.

 05/16/2014 12:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7027
Joined: 11/13/2009

You say the 13.9 drivers will not install. Did you delete the other drivers first? Did you try a 'have disk' install?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/16/2014 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

You are correct about 13.9. I'm using DDU and a visual look with regedit.exe. I don't think I will try looking for 13.9 at Sapphiretech.com web site. Only because of the release notes won't list 3000, 4000, and 5000 AGP series. Why do the same drivers from two web site behave so differetly. It point to the tweaking of drivers software or Intel Darkside Motherboard.

-------------------------

Intel D856GLC Motherboard, Pentium 4 3060 MHz, 3072 MegaBytes Memory DDR-400, Radeon HD 3450 AGP, Western Digital EIDE 320 GigByte Hard Drive.

 05/16/2014 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otoc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2014

Originally posted by: Victorjr You are correct about 13.9. I'm using DDU and a visual look with regedit.exe. I don't think I will try looking for 13.9 at Sapphiretech.com web site. Only because of the release notes won't list 3000, 4000, and 5000 AGP series. Why do the same drivers from two web site behave so differetly. It point to the tweaking of drivers software or Intel Darkside Motherboard.

You need the Legacy versions of Catalyst Drivers because you have an AGP version of the HD card. It's confusing because AMD chose to release both Legacy/hotfix and "normal" versions using the same number series.

The way to tell is the file name either includes "hotfix" or "legacy" depending on the version.  So yes, one will work and one won't.

Personally, I've found some versions to not work with my HD 4000 series AGP card and some to work fine.

For example, running XP, after version 10-11, I had to first manually install the video driver first (using Device manager) and then run the installer again for CCC.

Running Win7, 13.9 would not install with any trick. I found 12.1 linked in a post here and it ran fine with the installer.

Older versions just got linked again today, so what is now available for you to try is 13.9, 13.1, and 12.6. Just make sure you select the AGP:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

Step 1: Desktop Graphics

Step 2: Radeon HD Series

Step 3: All Radeon HD Series AGP

Step 4: <>

If 13.9 doesn't install for you, there's a link on the page (after you go through the steps above) for older versions. They will be the special AGP versions.

And don't use FLEM. While the V2 works with Catalyst drivers above v12.3, it will BSOD with all HD AGP versions according to the developer.

http://digitalflem.mydiscussion.net/

 

Good luck!

 05/16/2014 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

Tonight I've download Catalyst 12.6 Display Driver from AMD and Sapphire web site. Using custom install, they both shown the same programs.

AMD Catalyst Install Mana...  8.0.877.0  20.0 MB

AMD APP SDK Runtime    10.0.9   90.0 MB

Catalyst 12.3 install this

AMD Catalyst Install Mana..  3.0.868  20.0 MB

AMD APP SDK Runtime  10.0.8  90.0 MB

AMD Display Driver  8.9.51  90.0 MB

AMD Accelerated Video TR..  2.00.0...  3.0 MB

AMD Drag and Drop Trans..  2.00.0...  1.0 MB

AMD Media Foundation De..  1.0.70...  1.0 MB

Catalyst Control Center  2012.0  150.0 MB

I've even try 12.1 from AMD and the results are like 12.6 installation 2 programs. In a pass post Eydee stated that drivers older that 12.1 isn't available. Those Release Notes are there for a reason. But we push it. Tthe gray hairs at 34 came from Vista beta testing with Intel 845GER and GeForce 6200 256 MB AGP. We should buy stock "Just for Men" hair dye. I see the next generation try to install drivers above 12.6. With BSOD or low framerate count as I did 20 years ago.



-------------------------

Intel D856GLC Motherboard, Pentium 4 3060 MHz, 3072 MegaBytes Memory DDR-400, Radeon HD 3450 AGP, Western Digital EIDE 320 GigByte Hard Drive.



Edited: 05/16/2014 at 11:40 PM by Victorjr
 05/17/2014 06:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4844
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: Victorjr  In a pass post Eydee stated that drivers older that 12.1 isn't available.

 

Things have changed in the last few days, theck out this thread, AMD took some action. The driver download page now should list previous drivers even for AGP cards.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/18/2014 12:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Victorjr
Peon

Posts: 19
Joined: 09/24/2013

The link to techpowerup.com web site for AMD drivers is larger than AMD library. Yet the problem still persist for AGP cards. 13.9 driver is in the glutter with AMD install manager 8.915.0  20.0 MB. Release Notes aren't a bunch of lies for AGP cards. Back to reinstalling 12.3 driver from sapphire.com. At lease it easy and the brew stay cooler to the last drop



-------------------------

Intel D856GLC Motherboard, Pentium 4 3060 MHz, 3072 MegaBytes Memory DDR-400, Radeon HD 3450 AGP, Western Digital EIDE 320 GigByte Hard Drive.

Statistics
84110 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.