Topic Title: Where are the previous legacy Catalyst versions
Topic Summary: Only 13.9 comes up for Win7 32 bit
Created On: 05/14/2014 10:27 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/14/2014 10:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otoc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2014

Hi AMD or any friendly person,

I just did a clean install of Win7 on one of my old systems that's running a HIS HD 4670.

13.9 refuses to work, including the driver. All appropriate windows updates were done before the 13.9 install.

 

I've run into the same issue with the legacy/hotfix issues for XP that the system was running prior.

 

Where are the older versions of the legacy/hotfix Catalyst hiding? The website gives a link, but nothing is shown after clicking it.

 05/14/2014 10:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

Yes...they seem to have disappeared...use this link and use the drop down to "show all versions".

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/Drivers/ATI_Catalyst/

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/14/2014 11:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otoc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2014

Thanks, but I see no hotfix/legacy versions there, just what I assume to be the normal Catalyst versions which won't work.

Searching through the posts here, I found a link for the 12.1 agp hotfix release located on AMD Germany.

And it worked the first time through.

AMD, please restore the ability to pull archived versions.

 05/14/2014 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ray@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 118
Joined: 07/30/2012

Thanks for pointing out the issue.

I've notified the web team and it will be fixed. 



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care


The information presented here is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 05/14/2014 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otoc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2014

Originally posted by: Ray@AMD Thanks for pointing out the issue. I've notified the web team and it will be fixed. 

 

Appreciate the response, Ray. It's been a frustrating couple of days trying everything to work. Nice to know it was simply a web design issue. Those web guys, lol.

Is there any reason to move up through the AGP series when other versions are accessable? This old system isn't used for gaming obviously, but newer vid drivers and other improvements might be nice to check out if this card is actually recognized.

 05/16/2014 06:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
otoc
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/14/2014

Originally posted by: Ray@AMD Thanks for pointing out the issue. I've notified the web team and it will be fixed. 

 

Thanks for passing that along to the web team. 13.1 AGP and 12.6 AGPare now showing up when clicking on the older driver link on the 13.9 AGP page.

 06/06/2014 12:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Can someone point out a link to the hotfix for AGP under win7 64bit? Like otoc all I can find is the german page which has links to every 12.1 hotfix except for win7 64bit. I don't know where otoc found that 13.9 AGP page he is talking about.



Edited: 06/06/2014 at 12:32 AM by lawnmowerman
 06/06/2014 12:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: lawnmowerman Can someone point out a link to the hotfix for AGP under win7 64bit? Like otoc all I can find is the german page which has links to every 12.1 hotfix except for win7 64bit. I don't know where otoc found that 13.9 AGP page he is talking about.

 

Here  and in the right corner of the page
previous versins"



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/06/2014 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Thanks for the fast reply but unfortunately I still can't find what I'm looking for.

 

My problem is this: I got windows 7 64bit professional because XP is no longer supported. Win7 pro is supported until 2020. My pc is old but it can run win7 without problems except for the AGP slot which apparently win7 has no good driver for.

 

So I searched the internet and found out AMD had released a hotfix for this. You can still find the links on this page except for the version I need, which is win7 64bit:

http://support.amd.com/de-de/kb-articles/Pages/CatalystAGPHotfix.aspx

 

So that's the file I'm looking for. But where is it?

 06/06/2014 03:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7177
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: lawnmowerman Thanks for the fast reply but unfortunately I still can't find what I'm looking for.

 

 

 

My problem is this: I got windows 7 64bit professional because XP is no longer supported. Win7 pro is supported until 2020. My pc is old but it can run win7 without problems except for the AGP slot which apparently win7 has no good driver for.

 

 

 

So I searched the internet and found out AMD had released a hotfix for this. You can still find the links on this page except for the version I need, which is win7 64bit:

 

http://support.amd.com/de-de/kb-articles/Pages/CatalystAGPHotfix.aspx

 

 

 

So that's the file I'm looking for. But where is it?

 

Here are some

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/06/2014 06:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Thanks. But that's the 12.3 hotfix. I need the 12.1 hotfix.

I tried 12.3 and while it does install a driver it's not the correct one. My diagnosis tool (speccy) says it's a 512MB ATI VisionTek Radeon HD 2600 XT AGP which is incorrect. It should be a 512MB ATI Club3d Radeon HD3650 AGP. Before installing any driver speccy said it's a 16MB VGA card, so it's not the diagnosis tool but it's an incorrect driver.

I tried searching softpedia for the 12.1 hotfix but couldn't find it. Any chances of AMD fixing the broken link on their german page?

 06/06/2014 06:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Some more info: when using Amddriverdownloader.exe it says I need 13-9-legacy_vista_win7_64_dd_ccc

However after installing it won't load the AMD Vision Engine Control center. Instead it says that the control center is not supported by the driver version of my enabled graphic adapter and asks me to update my driver, or enable my AMD adapter using the displays manager. And Speccy says it's a 16MB ATI Standard VGA Graphics Adapter (ATI AIB) which means that no driver was installed.

For now I'm going to reinstall XP (or maybe try vista) and make some partitions so I can also install Win7 again later and have both versions. I do still want to upgrade to win7 but it seems I need to wait until the proper driver becomes available again. Either that or try a third party driver, I know of at least one that's supposed to fix my problem too but I'm reluctant to post about that here.

Again this issue is most likely related to the driver for the AGP slot which windows 7 supports very badly. So if the 12.1 hotfix for win7 64bit becomes available again I'd appreciate it very much. Looking through older threads on other forums it has been referred to many times but all those links don't work anymore now.

 06/06/2014 07:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

The displayed name of the card is just a text string, it doesn't affect performance at all. You may as well edit it to"Nyan Cat Video Card", if you really want to.

The problem with 13.9 is probably that it doesn't support the card, didn't install drivers for it, only CCC, though you used express mode (which you shouldn't) and didn't see it.

The best advice I can give you is using the OEM driver. That one certainly supports your card.

Finding older legacy packages can be tricky, few people use them. Maybe a google search can hepl, that's all we could do for you as well.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/06/2014 12:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Hi thanks for the reply. Unfortunately I don't have the installation cd anymore for this videocard.

I just reinstalled XP and tried your site to download the driver again. I noticed a bad mistake. In 14-4-xp32-64-dd-ccc-Pack1 there are drivers for DirectX 10! Windows XP only goes up to DirectX 9.

When I was installing the pack it gave me warnings that I was installing software that was non-compliant with XP. And after installing it didn't work properly. AMD Driver Autodetect recommends Catalyst Software Suite 14.4 too.

Is there an older version of catalyst suite that has DirectX 9?

 06/06/2014 12:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Oh wait sorry. What I thought was DirectX 10 is actually Microsoft Runtime 10. Gonna try some other sites for now, thanks for the help.

 06/06/2014 04:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: lawnmowerman I just reinstalled XP and tried your site to download the driver again.

I have no site at all. I hope you realize that you're on a user forum. We are simple AMD card owners just like you, not some magical AMD creatures. If you need those, there's a contact link in the corner of the screen.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/07/2014 10:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

I'm sorry, with "your" I meant "the forum owner's site"

By now I've tried two different AGP cards (HD3650 and X1650) and could not get proper drivers installed for either. I have the installation disc of the X1650 but it still didn't work. When I install my old videocard, a Radeon 9200, the drivers work fine again. I couldn't get the HD3650 and X1650 drivers to work properly even in a clean install of windows.

Must be some problem with my AGP slot. Maybe the southbridge doesn't support the cards or whatever. I have an A8V Deluxe, socket 939 dual core. I'm thinking about just replacing everything now but I'm still curious what the problem is.

 06/07/2014 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

It's not likely. An AGP motherboard is designed to be used with AGP cards. I wonder if you're using an unmodified source of the OS, not some, well, tweaked "lite" edition from some torrent site.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/11/2014 04:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
lawnmowerman
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 06/06/2014

Sorry for the late reply. No my OS is not downloaded. I've tried two cards on both XP and Win7 and couldn't get them to work. The old card still works but it's XP only. I'm guessing it's a motherboard problem or maybe I'm dealing with two faulty video cards. I got tired of looking into it and I've bought a new pc by now. Thanks for the tips though.

 06/11/2014 06:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4861
Joined: 12/27/2008

I don't think they're faulty. You see, some AGP cards only work with OEM drivers. Have you tried them (sorry for not reading the thread back)? I do have an Asus X1650 which only works with a certain driver made specifically for this card. (Well, it did until I modified its BIOS to work with any legacy...)

What I suggest is you find out the exact type (maybe even part number) of your card, then visit the OEM's website, and look for the same card. No matter how old driver is listed for it, try it. If anything, that one should work no matter what.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84726 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.