Topic Title: AMD Mobility Radeon HD 4xxx women characters' hair bug
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/15/2014 01:17 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/15/2014 01:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

Hi, I have AMD Mobility Radeon HD 4650 video card. I have the latest drivers available (v13.9).

In the Batman: Arkham Origins game there is a glitch with women characters' hair. They disappear when you zoom camera towards a character. This problem seems to be exclusive only to 4xxx series cards, as other cards are displaying it properly.

Here are some screenshots:

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/a/img809/3687/1u5v.jpg

http://imageshack.com/a/img404/3175/nq4q.jpg

And here's someone's thread on official WB forum with more details:

http://community.wbgames.com/t5/Support-for-PC/Women-characters-hair-glitch/td-p/71757

Is there any way to fix this?

 05/15/2014 04:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4860
Joined: 12/27/2008

It seems like she's actually not only losing hair but also turning into a completely different woman, including clothes...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/16/2014 01:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee It seems like she's actually not only losing hair but also turning into a completely different woman, including clothes...

The first screenshot isn't a "before" screenshot. It's a screenshot with less severe case of dissapearing textures. If you look closely you can see leftovers of her hair (the ones that aren't drawn on the character model itself).

Here are the screenshots of what they're supposed to look like:

http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/o0OkAryq57c/maxresdefault.jpg

http://cloud-4.steampowered.com/ugc/504700165635161693/EC815C39E78452EF2BD29F7B06E15B8CFDDA72CE/



Edited: 05/16/2014 at 01:46 AM by sonuva
 06/05/2014 03:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

So... any ideas? Some driver fixes, maybe?

As I see it, it's a pretty big bug on AMD's windshield.

 06/05/2014 04:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4860
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: sonuva So... any ideas? Some driver fixes, maybe?

 

As I see it, it's a pretty big bug on AMD's windshield.

 

Not really, it's a 7-year-old card, legacy, discontinued. It's like saying Intel CPUs are bad because the 80286 was 16-bit only...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/06/2014 03:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee
Originally posted by: sonuva So... any ideas? Some driver fixes, maybe?

 

 

 

As I see it, it's a pretty big bug on AMD's windshield.

 

 

 

 

Not really, it's a 7-year-old card, legacy, discontinued. It's like saying Intel CPUs are bad because the 80286 was 16-bit only...

 

So, you're saying that displaying hair didn't exist 7 years ago?

By the way: 7 years in terms of hardware isn't long at all. People don't buy them so often.

 06/06/2014 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

Another thing: the game's graphics was hardly updated since 2009 Arkham Asylum, so I wouldn't really say it's up-to-date.

Tomb Raider(2013) has more advanced graphics, including hair. And the same 7 year old video card doesn't have any problem with that one.

So, I guess, it might be a driver bug.

 06/06/2014 07:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4860
Joined: 12/27/2008

I never said it wasn't a driver bug. It surely is. However, AMD ended support for the card. That's a fact. It never will be fixed.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/06/2014 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee I never said it wasn't a driver bug. It surely is. However, AMD ended support for the card. That's a fact. It never will be fixed.

In my opinion, that's not exactly a wise choice, given that the card isn't that old and can handle modern games pretty well.

I'd totally understand if there was no support for current effects or features, but bug-fixes are what customers that bought a laptop with built-in video card would expect from developers.

Forcing them to buy a new card IS forcing them to buy a new laptop, and that's completely unrealistic.

After such a "helpfull" support from AMD, I'd imagine, even if they would buy a new laptop, they would stay away from the ones with AMD logo on them.

And that is in the world, where most major games straight up tell you "Nvidia - the way it's meant to be played". I guess, that's what I should be telling my customers from now on.

 06/06/2014 10:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4860
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: sonuva

 

Forcing them to buy a new card IS forcing them to buy a new laptop, and that's completely unrealistic.

Unfortunately it is. Consumer society. You buy a phone and throw it away next year. You buy fridge and it breaks 3 days after the warranty period. Our whole society is built on chasing money and f...ing up people. Unfortunate, but completely realistic. All companies do this. Nvidia also ended support for all DX10 cards if you didn't know, so you can go and tell whatever to your customers as the situation is the same.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/07/2014 12:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sonuva
Peon

Posts: 7
Joined: 05/15/2014

Originally posted by: Eydee Unfortunately it is. Consumer society. You buy a phone and throw it away next year. You buy fridge and it breaks 3 days after the warranty period. Our whole society is built on chasing money and f...ing up people.


Yay! Democracy!

But seriously: what they're doing is - they're trying to force people who bought their cards, even though Nvidia was a much better choice, to go and buy Nvidia. I find it pretty hillarious.

And video cards aren't exactly ransom-capable. They're not that important to most people. And those who need every latest thing on earth already worship Nvidia.

AMD just loosing their future customers, cause if a customer's being forced to upgrade either way, he might as well buy the good thing and not settle for glitchy AMD products with lazy support.



Edited: 06/07/2014 at 02:10 AM by sonuva
 06/07/2014 06:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4860
Joined: 12/27/2008

AMD made a good deal, they may lose customers, but will gain a lot more. Both consoles are equipped with AMD hradware. All games will be optimized for AMD. I wonder if nvidia will survive it at all... (Let's hope they will, we need competition, otherwise prices will go to the starry sky.)



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
84679 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.