Topic Title: Radeon x300 blue screens on new HP8300 (i7)
Topic Summary: Radeon x300 was fine on old Pentium D WinXP. Blue screens seconds after startup.
Created On: 05/19/2014 07:20 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/19/2014 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fallen_trumpet
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/19/2014

I am replacing an old Pentium D WinXP machine with a new HP Compaq Elite 8300 (i7-3xxx CPU, 8GB RAM).

New PC is updated with all critical windows updates and runs fine on the internal i7 graphics.

I then installed the Radeon X300... Windows required reboot.  After a few seconds (seemingly somewhat random... sometimes 2-3 seconds... sometimes ~30 seconds...), I get a blue screen and reboot. 

When the HP8300 was first new out of the box, I migrated multiple hardware items from the old pc (Radeon X300, RME Audio Multiface DSP PCIe card, a WiFi PCI card, etc.).  Troubleshooting seemed to point to Radeon, and problems persisted after removing all new hardware except the Radeon.  (Remove the Radeon and system is stable again.)  I tried uninstalling and reinstalling Radeon drivers, but no luck. 

I gave up and reimaged the hard drive (completely reformatted and reinstalled windows from scratch).  This time, I installed all the critical Windows Updates... everything was stable running the internal i7 graphics. 

As soon as I installed the Radeon, ran about 30 seconds and blue screen.  I restarted and into Safe Mode, and AMD auto driver tool says Radeon X300 driver is the latest.

Does the Radeon have known problems with Windows 7 64 bit, i7-3xxx? Do I need to trash the Radeon X300 and buy something else?  If I buy a different Graphic card from AMD, how will I know the same problem won't happen?

Thanks for any troubleshooting advice.

I'm new to this forum, so if I've posted incorrectly or in the wrong forum, etc., please let me know and I'll correct.

 

 

 05/19/2014 07:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

In my opinion you need a new, modern graphics card. The Xseries (as well as the HD2xxx,3xxx, and 4xxx) cards are legacy...meaning they have been optimized to the max and don't expect any regular AMD driver support. You need a HD5xxx or above card. A 6xxx or 7xxx or 8xxx series would be best. You can spend $50 or $500...depending on what you need to accomplish.

Edit: I am almost certain that card does not meet the Aero requirements for Win7.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/19/2014 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Faulty hardware probably. Yes, trash it. You can't be sure the same thing won't happen again, whatever you buy (even food) can be faulty. That's why warranty and stuff like that exists.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 05/19/2014 07:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fallen_trumpet
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/19/2014

Thank you both for the quick reply.

I doubt the hardware is bad, largely because (a) the X300 ran fine on WinXP and (B) all tests in the the HP 2.5 hour hardware diagnostic test passed.  It just looks like a driver / compatability issue between this older video card and Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.

But I agree... the Radeon x300 is an older model.  I just assumed it should work on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit.

Other thoughts... I ensured the integrated video is disabled... ensured things like Aero View desktop preview are disabled... doesn't make any difference.

I'm not a gamer, so don't need a high end card, but I suppose I have no choice but to go shop for a video card tonight.

Thanks again for the fast replies.

Regards,

Fred



Edited: 05/20/2014 at 07:47 AM by fallen_trumpet
 05/19/2014 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fallen_trumpet
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/19/2014

As long as I'm here, maybe you can suggest a card family (5xxx, 6xxx, 7xxx, 8xxx).  My needs are basic... typical office apps (word procession, spreadsheet, Quickbooks, etc., along with audio (Steinberg Wavelab, Cubase)... no gaming, so nothing particularly graphic intensive.

My only real requirement is for two video outputs (one analog and one DTI).  I'll go start reading about the model families, now.

Thanks in advance.

 05/19/2014 07:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://www.microcenter.com/product/411369/HD6450-SL-2GD3-L_AMD_Radeon_HD_6450_2048MB_DDR3_PCIe_21Video_Card

 http://www.microcenter.com/product/411369/HD6450-SL-2GD3-L_AMD_Radeon_HD_6450_2048MB_DDR3_PCIe_21Video_Card



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/19/2014 11:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

HD 5450. Take your pick. Perfect for your needs, and very inexpensive.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 05/19/2014 11:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

If the cost is close/comparable I would opt for the 6xxx series rather than the 5xxx series. More features.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007709%20600100181&IsNodeId=1&name=AMD



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 05/20/2014 07:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fallen_trumpet
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/19/2014

Thanks to all for your comments/suggestions... Although cost is not particularly critical for me, I don't want to spend $$$ for capability I won't use.  I'll take a close look at all the suggestions... probably most important (to me) are (a) no fan, because of my audio work, (b) ability to power from a single PCIex16 slot, (c) ability to support at least two monitors and just general "modern" drivers, etc. to work reliably with Win7Pro64.

Oh... and I forgot to mention, the primary reason I opted for Win7Pro64 is the ease of running a WinXP virtual machine so I don't have to immediately spend $900 to replace a couple of audio applications (Wavelab and Cubase), since my versions are not compatible with Win7 or Win8.  Because I'll run this WinXP vm, I'll look at video cards with at least 2GB of RAM.  (Should I opt for more?)

I'll probably make a run to my local Fry's Electronics and MicroCenter today (Dallas area) and see what's in stock.  Otherwise, will order something online today.



Edited: 05/20/2014 at 07:51 AM by fallen_trumpet
 05/22/2014 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fallen_trumpet
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 05/19/2014

Thank you again for your helpful comments.

I purchased the Asus HD6450 video card a few days ago at a nearby Microcenter and it seems perfect for my purposes (silent - no fan, and fine driving two monitors).  (Hard to go wrong with a net $45 price tag, after rebate.)

No conflicts at all with the new PC, as I observed with the older Radeon X300 card.

Thanks!

Statistics
84172 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.