Topic Title: HD2900XT - Fan going full throttle and no VDU output ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/11/2014 11:24 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/11/2014 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pdreed
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/11/2014

Motherboard - Asrock 4CoreDual-SATA2

BIOS - Version 2.20

CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E7500 2.93GHz Socket 775 1066FSB 3MB L2 Cache

GPU - Sapphire HD2900XT/512MB

PSU - don't have full details with me at the moment but it is 650 output but doesn't have the full PCI-E cable just the 6 pin PCI-E version.

Occasionally on boot of the PC the fan on the Graphics card goes full throttle ( normally I don't notice the GPU fan at all ) and there is no output to the screen at all .. Sometimes the fan will calm down after 10 - 30 seconds or so and then the pc will boot up as normal.. other times it won't.. I've left it for more than 10 minutes and still nothing .. so I switch the pc off and leave it .. sometimes I can try again straight away and it will be as normal again other times it just won't and I give up..

Anyone any ideas please ?

 06/11/2014 01:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12474
Joined: 04/17/2008

Upgrade your video card, 6 years of thermal stress may be getting to it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/11/2014 02:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pdreed
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/11/2014

thanks  .. I've only had it for a month ..  went with one of the ones compatible with my motherboard,..  so .. no doubt you'll say, get a new motherbaord also ...

 06/11/2014 06:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12474
Joined: 04/17/2008

YOU may not have had it for only a month, but that graphics card hasn't been made for 6 years. And since it is not fully compatible with Windows 7, I would still suggest upgrading. If you're not a 3D gamer you can find the HD 5450 regularly for under $20.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/14/2014 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: pdreed went with one of the ones compatible with my motherboard

Isn't your motherboard one of the few hybrid motherboards? It can eat all PCI, AGP and PCIe cards...

To answer the question, your issue sounds like a stablility issue. Either capacitors going bad on the motherboard, or you're overclocking too much or your PSU doesn't provide enough power. Of course it ccan be the card as well, but I don't remember ever seeing such symptoms for a faulty card. Regardless, you may want to replace the thermal paste under its cooler, it surely is getting old.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85463 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.