Topic Title: HD4870 and Catalyst 13.9 legacy failure
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/30/2014 04:51 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/30/2014 04:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shevah
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2014

Hi,

I have a problem with any driver or Catalyst I have tried to install on my system. After every restart I get the following message:

"No AMD graphics driver is installed, or the AMD driver is not functioning properly. Please install the AMD driver appropriate for your amd hardware"

Of course I have installed the appropriate drivers.

further more, even without the drivers I get error 43 in device manager of windows stating:

"Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"

my specs:

 

Graphics Card
Gigabyte HD4870 512mb. Not over clocked.


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
I have tried 13.9, 13.1 and some of the 12 versions.

Furthermore, I have tried the windows drivers and it does not work either.

Operating System

Windows 7 x64 SP1


Motherboard or System Make & Model

Asus P5Q-Deluxe


Power Supply

Thermaletake ToughPower 650W


Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used

Asus VW222U


Applications and Games

happens everywhere

CPU Details
Intel Q9450 stock.


Motherboard BIOS Version
Latest possible.
System Memory Type & Amount
Mushkin redline 4GB

Thanks you!

 06/30/2014 02:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

0. Make sure you have an up-to-date system by installing updates from windows update.

1. Turn off automatic driver updates in windows (advanced system settings -> hardware)

2. Run DDU in safe mode to clean up past display drivers. (not only AMD!)

3. Run "sfc /scannow" in an admin command prompt to make sure the integrity of your system files is ok.

4. Try to install Catalyst again.

 

If it fails even after going through this procedure, your system might be damaged beyond repair, so you should reinstall the OS.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/30/2014 03:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shevah
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2014

Hi,

Firstly, thanks for the reply.

I have forgetten to say that I have already tried a clean installed of windows 7 and it didn't help.

I have tried your suggested solution and encoutered a problem while installing catalyst 13.9 (I will stress that I have done all your steps and they succedded)

the problem was the display driver that failed to install, as well as another componnet related to HDMI.

Is the card damaged? how can I check it?

 06/30/2014 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

You can check it by moving it to another computer for testing. The next thing I wanted to suggest.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/30/2014 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: shevah Hi,

Firstly, thanks for the reply.

I have forgetten to say that I have already tried a clean installed of windows 7 and it didn't help.

I have tried your suggested solution and encoutered a problem while installing catalyst 13.9 (I will stress that I have done all your steps and they succedded)

the problem was the display driver that failed to install, as well as another componnet related to HDMI.

Is the card damaged? how can I check it?

Did you manually run Windows Update and install the relevant 'optional' or 'recommended' updates?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 06/30/2014 03:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shevah
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2014

Unfortunately, I have no other computer.

And yes, I have installed all relevent optional and recommended updates

(there are some related to the sound card and the network card that I have skipped)

edit:

here is the log of the installation:

AMD Display Driver

Final Status: Fail
Version of Item: 8.970.100.7000
Size: 90 Mbytes

HDMI Audio Driver

Final Status: Fail
Version of Item: 7.12.0.7708
Size:

1 Mbytes

 

I dont understand why this happens?

 06/30/2014 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

Well, I'm sure some friend/reltive/neighbor/etc. must have a computer somewhere, we're in 2014...

Regardless, let's try other things:

1. Is your card (by hardware id) listed in the driver inf file?

2. What happens if you force-install through the device manager?

3. If you boot from a live Ubutnu CD, do you have proper image and proper hardware cceleration? (The open source driver should work fine with your card.)

4. Have you tried OEM drivers?



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/30/2014 04:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shevah
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2014

You are right, but I don't want to disassemble other computers of friends...

 

1. how can I check it?

2. I have tried it before, but not now. I have failed before. I will try that.

3. Accutally, I have tried it and it works (i.e. I was able to get my native resolution, unlike in windows) it suggests that the card is fine. But how is it possible that on a clean install after only installing Kaspersky the catalyst 13.9 installation fails?

4. I am tring it now!

 

Your support is greatly appreciated!

 06/30/2014 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

1. First get the hardware id of the card from the device manager. Select the property page of the card, and you'll find it. It's something like PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_something. I'll put a picture of mine here:

Then open the driver inf file in notepad and do a CTRL+F for the id.

2. It's worth a try. Even if it fails, you might get an error code that suggests a solution.

3. I wonder from what source you install that OS. If it happens to be some altered, downloaded iso, it might cause problems. (Kaspersky might also, I'd try without it.)



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 06/30/2014 04:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shevah
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 06/30/2014

No luck with the OEM (Gigabyte) same error as last post (unable to install driver)

1. link: http://imgur.com/YYqKRsT

 

my OS is from MSDN, I have even verified the hashes

 06/30/2014 06:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4905
Joined: 12/27/2008

There's a combo box there...



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

Statistics
85410 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.