Topic Title: HD7990: release date?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/07/2012 03:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 3 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/07/2012 03:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Someone Else
Member

Posts: 91
Joined: 02/28/2012

Since it is corporate AMD's policy not to discuss UNANNOUNCED PRODUCTS,
I decided to ask here on this pear-2-pear forum:

Does anyone know when the dual GPU HD7990 is scheduled to make
its appearance?

And how many internal organs will I have to sell to buy one?



-------------------------

[Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3] [AMD FX-4100 @ 4 x 3.6 GHz]
[Corsair 16 GB CL9 DDR3 @ 1333 MHz] [WD 600 GB VelociRaptor HDD] [Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 PSU]
[Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD] [Asus HD7970 DC2 @ 925 / 1375 MHz]
[Samsung S24A650D on DisplayPort @ 1920 x 1080p / 60 Hz]

 04/07/2012 06:06 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12247
Joined: 04/17/2008

Soon, and only your left nut

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/19/2012 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Someone Else
Member

Posts: 91
Joined: 02/28/2012

19. June 2012...and there is still no sign of the HD7990.
I guess I will skip that one and wait for the HD8990.

Why is it that whenever a new generation of GPUs are released
by AMD or nVidia, the dual GPU on a single card version always
has to be released half a year later?

Why not all at the same time?



-------------------------

[Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3] [AMD FX-4100 @ 4 x 3.6 GHz]
[Corsair 16 GB CL9 DDR3 @ 1333 MHz] [WD 600 GB VelociRaptor HDD] [Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 PSU]
[Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD] [Asus HD7970 DC2 @ 925 / 1375 MHz]
[Samsung S24A650D on DisplayPort @ 1920 x 1080p / 60 Hz]

 06/19/2012 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sloots
Member

Posts: 144
Joined: 04/16/2010

Originally posted by: Someone Else

 

Why not all at the same time?

 

Somebody's obviously never worked in R&D, manufacturing, marketing, logistics or anything similar eh ?

 06/19/2012 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: sloots
Originally posted by: Someone Else

 

 

 

Why not all at the same time?

 

 

 

Somebody's obviously never worked in R&D, manufacturing, marketing, logistics or anything similar eh ?

 

 

yeah  that's  obvious   why not  just get a couple 7970's    to hold you over till the 8990/9990  is released lol



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 06/19/2012 12:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Someone Else
Member

Posts: 91
Joined: 02/28/2012

Originally posted by: sloots
Originally posted by: Someone Else

 

 

 

Why not all at the same time?

 

 

 

Somebody's obviously never worked in R&D, manufacturing, marketing, logistics or anything similar eh ?

 

Obviously not.

Another question is: why only two companies left that make
high performance GPUs?
Matrox left the consumer market many years ago and
Intel is irrelevant outside the market of integrated graphics,
so they do not count.

Only two companies left. Not good.
Imagine if there were only two companies in the world
that made automobiles.

 



-------------------------

[Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3] [AMD FX-4100 @ 4 x 3.6 GHz]
[Corsair 16 GB CL9 DDR3 @ 1333 MHz] [WD 600 GB VelociRaptor HDD] [Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 PSU]
[Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD] [Asus HD7970 DC2 @ 925 / 1375 MHz]
[Samsung S24A650D on DisplayPort @ 1920 x 1080p / 60 Hz]

 06/19/2012 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

well cause ati/amd and nvidia  have been doing it for a long time ! if a new manufacture  arraived  it would be a very tough go  for them ,  cause the red & green team  have been doing way long  , hence they know what they are doing , + it takes a huge amount of $$$  to start a new  hardware product



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 06/19/2012 01:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1006
Joined: 11/22/2010

"Someone Else" have you seen any new large automobile companies being founded lately? Most of them spawned during times in need of different warmachines during the first half of 20th century and they later moved on to cars to prevent becoming useless. You can't simply make a new manufacturing company from scratch, you would end up in bankruptcy 100%



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/19/2012 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Dungeon Master

Posts: 4004
Joined: 01/27/2008

Originally posted by: Someone Else
I decided to ask here on this pear-2-pear forum:


I'd just like to say I'm not a pear so don't eat me.
As a peer I'd say keep watching or xfire as suggested.

-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: MSI A88X-G45, AMD A10-7850K, IGP, AMD 2x4GB 2133 (R938G2130UK), Antec 750 True, 128GB Sandisk SSD, WD Black 1TB, Win8.1pro x64
#3: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram, Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 06/19/2012 04:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

Powercolor is making a 7970X2 

His is also making a 7970X2 

then you have SA spouting out that AMD is waiting for high binned chips before launching the 7990. 

But we should see 7970x2's on the market shortly. But its going to be cheaper to buy two 7970's.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 06/19/2012 05:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

yeah dual gpu cards are always cheaper then buying 2  seperate gpu's (of the same family/generation)   ,  but  usually have lower clock speeds / performance



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 06/19/2012 05:30 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12247
Joined: 04/17/2008

I think you mean Dual GPU cards are always more expensive than two single GPU cards, however a dual GPU card + single GPU card > 3 single GPU cards in terms of performance

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/24/2012 03:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

no  atleast were i live  dual  gpu cards are cheaper then 2 singles  ,  a 6990 is  $725-$750   and  a  6970 is $315-$335



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 07/04/2012 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Someone Else
Member

Posts: 91
Joined: 02/28/2012

Where I live the cheapest GTX690 costs almost the same
as two of the cheapest GTX680, so no real difference in price
for the nVdeeya fans.  

And we are in July now and there is still no sign of the
mythical HD7990. Maybe it has been cancelled and
AMD is instead working on the HD8990.



-------------------------

[Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3] [AMD FX-4100 @ 4 x 3.6 GHz]
[Corsair 16 GB CL9 DDR3 @ 1333 MHz] [WD 600 GB VelociRaptor HDD] [Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 PSU]
[Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD] [Asus HD7970 DC2 @ 925 / 1375 MHz]
[Samsung S24A650D on DisplayPort @ 1920 x 1080p / 60 Hz]

 07/04/2012 07:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

na  it's still comming !    and  btw (in canada)  a  690  is $1100 and  a  680 is 525 each ,  the  7990  will be much cheaper then the 690  (around $850-900)  and perform  just as good (or ther abouts) 



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 07/04/2012 10:10 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12247
Joined: 04/17/2008

All I know is that my days of dual GPU cards are over, mostly because GPU power has increased so much over the last 3 years that with 1920x1200 res and below a single GPU is more than sufficient...HD 8000 series cards should be DirectX 11.1, as well as being a big improvement from gen 1 GCN, so I might upgrade then, assuming I'm able to find a job...anyone hiring a guy with a BA in Biology and Psychology?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 07/04/2012 at 10:17 PM by black_zion
 07/05/2012 09:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Someone Else
Member

Posts: 91
Joined: 02/28/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion All I know is that my days of dual GPU cards are over, mostly because GPU power has increased so much over the last 3 years that with 1920x1200 res and below a single GPU is more than sufficient...HD 8000 series cards should be DirectX 11.1, as well as being a big improvement from gen 1 GCN, so I might upgrade then, assuming I'm able to find a job...anyone hiring a guy with a BA in Biology and Psychology?


You used to have a dual GPU graphics card? Which one?

With my HD7970 handling even a very demanding game like Metro 2033 
on the highest settings, I am beginning to realize I will not need
more graphics power for the near future.  

The question is: who needs two GPUs?
Only people with more than one monitor or those who play
at 2560 x 1600 resolution on 27" monitors? 
 



-------------------------

[Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3] [AMD FX-4100 @ 4 x 3.6 GHz]
[Corsair 16 GB CL9 DDR3 @ 1333 MHz] [WD 600 GB VelociRaptor HDD] [Seasonic Platinum Series 1000 PSU]
[Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD] [Asus HD7970 DC2 @ 925 / 1375 MHz]
[Samsung S24A650D on DisplayPort @ 1920 x 1080p / 60 Hz]



Edited: 07/05/2012 at 09:23 AM by Someone Else
 07/05/2012 02:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Max9R
Grinding Levels

Posts: 158
Joined: 09/10/2007

Originally posted by: Someone Else

With my HD7970 handling even a very demanding game like Metro 2033 
on the highest settings, I am beginning to realize I will not need
more graphics power for the near future.  

The question is: who needs two GPUs?
Only people with more than one monitor or those who play
at 2560 x 1600 resolution on 27" monitors? 
 



Yeah, more than one monitor will do it. Apparently I needed three 7970's...

I'm finally starting to see the benefits of that decision with the release of the 12.6 and 12.7b drivers. Before that it was a pretty big waste of cash and you can probably argue that it still is LOL... At least now I'm getting some really impressive performance in EF, no more BSOD either! It's just sad that it took six months hehe...

Now if they'd just fix the TriFire scaling in Crysis 2 (among others) I'd be that much happier, anything more than two cards delivers sub single performance. When it does work it's awesome though

-------------------------

W7 Ultimate x64: Corsair 800D, AX1200
EX58A-UD5, i7 970 @ 4.5Ghz
16GB RipJaws @ 1600
3x XFX BE 7970 Tri-Fire @ 1200/1600
OCZ V3 120GB + WD 2TB Black
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Dell U3011 + WFP2407
Koolance 370 & EK GPU Water Blocks

 07/05/2012 03:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3505
Joined: 03/01/2009

Yep playing with eyefinity I need two GPUs if I want to enjoy nice IQ and stuff. 



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 07/07/2012 02:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

Originally posted by: Someone Else

You used to have a dual GPU graphics card? Which one?

The question is: who needs two GPUs? Only people with more than one monitor or those who play at 2560 x 1600 resolution on 27" monitors?   

I don't know if BZ updated his system or not, but looking at his system on the bottom, a Radoen HD 5970 (two 5870 GPUs).

Multi-GPU system will also give more performance - having more GPUs doesn't necessarily mean you are running a multi-monitor setup. Like I'm running two Radeon HD 5850's.

For an example: For BF3, with one 5850, I get 45-60 FPS on High settings, AA and AF turned off at 1920x1080. With two 5850's I can run it on Ultra, AA at 2X, AF at 8X, 1920x1080 and I get...50+ FPS. I can't max the game out 100% because of the 1GB VRAM on my cards (thinking about doing a side upgrade to a single 7970).

I've done Eyefinity setups before (three 46" 1080p LCD TV FTW!), but extremely rare. As I said before, 1GB of VRAM isn't quite enough for very high resolution gaming.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

AMD Support and Game » General Tech. Chat » HD7990: release date?

1 2 3 Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
84297 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.