Topic Title: AMD Power Play Technology
Topic Summary: What does it do ?
Created On: 07/27/2012 05:40 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/27/2012 05:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

Okay so i really need an explanation from long time user here or a link to explain about this whole power play thing. I thought it is something similar like power option on windows control panel, where you can adjust things from save power to maximum performance. I thought i could find this power play thing on the CCC, but i can't find it.

So i google it and the result send me straight to AMD site it self, but the explanation is very general not specific (maybe i'm looking at the wrong place). Here's the link http://www.amd.com/us/products/technologies/ati-power-play/Pages/ati-power-play.aspx 

So now i'm asking the user here on some detailed information about this, thx.

 



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 07/27/2012 07:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

Here are some explainations: http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/35823.page   

  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JU7qjFKvGsQ

http://www.ehow.com/how_8550663_disable-ati-powerplay.html

Basically you set it to maximize performance or maximize power savings..or a balance between. Set to performance is usually the best for games, but, the card will run hotter. It allows the clocks to ramp up to maximum...when needed. When needed...not all the time.

 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 07/27/2012 at 09:47 AM by stumped
 07/29/2012 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

Hmmm so this powerplay setting should be in CCC right ? but that setting isn't available in my CCC, i'm guessing this option is not available on every card then ?



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 07/30/2012 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7249
Joined: 11/13/2009

I may be wrong, but I think power play is only in laptops...or earlier desktop cards, ie HD3xxx. All later cards do it automatically..there is no on/off.  Hd69xx cards and above have different power options in ccc.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 07/30/2012 at 02:04 AM by stumped
 07/30/2012 02:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

I see, if that's true no wonder i can't find the powerplay option anywhere on ccc.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

Statistics
85324 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.