Topic Title: Some random question regarding HDMI cable
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/04/2012 09:34 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/04/2012 09:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

Yesterday i bought a $4 HDMI cable, when i use it on my monitor it causes black plickering on the monitor then i switched it with the HDMI cable on my PS3 (this one cost $15), viola no more flickering.

So my question is, are there a difference type of HDMI cable ? or maybe i just got a bad cable ?

or maybe the flickering caused by monitor doesn't like cheap cable and only wanted to be plug with the more expensive one ?

Thx.

 



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 11/04/2012 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

There really isn't any difference from a store brand and the over the top Monster brand cables assuming they are the same revision in terms of performance. However being a cheapo brand it could have just been a bad cable. I use a bargain basket optical cable to connect my TV to my sound card and two bargain basket HDMI cables for my satellite receiver and my DVR and have had no issues. As far as a display goes, you really need to be using DisplayPort or DVI if it is a computer monitor and not a TV.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/04/2012 10:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

I see, so i'm just have a bad luck then, that's good to hear.  

Well yesterday i decided to use the cheap cable on my PS 3, for some unknown reason it doesn't really noticable and it's not visible if the game run in 720P, so decided to use it on PS 3 since most ps 3 game doesn't run on 1080P.

one more question, Will it caused a bad effect for my ps3 or TV if i keep using that bad cheap cable ?

Thx BZ.

 



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 11/05/2012 12:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

Shouldn't, but it could cause bad things to you (eye fatigue, headaches, etc). Head on over to Newegg and pick you up one or five, they've got a bunch on ***** as low as $3 with free shipping right now and keep you a few for spare. I need to but I forgot to add in a few when I placed my order on Friday...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/05/2012 12:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

***** = §ale. Why is S-A-L-E filtered as a swear word? Damn and Hell aren't...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 11/05/2012 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

Ah ok then, thanks again BZ.



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 11/06/2012 03:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

black_zion, quit swearing!



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.



Edited: 11/06/2012 at 03:47 PM by Marc@AMD
 11/06/2012 03:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

sale

SALE

There we go. I figured out how to remove that word from the censored word list.



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/06/2012 06:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12240
Joined: 04/17/2008

Changed that, yet you broke the Quick Reply box (it isn't there anymore!)



-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84257 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.