Topic Title: Queston For The Pro's?
Topic Summary: RAM Function
Created On: 11/24/2012 10:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/24/2012 10:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

Does the DDR3 240 pin address bus run all 3 channels at once or cycle through the 3 channels?

 

NOTE: 240 - 3X64(192 for 3X64 bit data busses ) = 48 remaining line for address bus and control.



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.

Edited: 11/24/2012 at 11:26 AM by wesworld1
 11/24/2012 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

I'm not 100% sure, yet I believe it runs them simultainiously. In cases that make use of all 3 channels the theoretical max bandwhich could never be archived otherwise.



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


 11/24/2012 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

If it were able to be used in ganged or independent modes, by cycling through the channels, I wonder if that would give programmers more flexibility?  



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.
 11/24/2012 03:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Nichtswisser
Grinding Levels

Posts: 114
Joined: 04/09/2011

In case of exclsive access maybe, yet RAM in a PC is very unlikely to be accessed exclusivly by a single aplication, and having different application access the same RAM in different access modes sounds like a recipe for disaster to me.



-------------------------

 i5 2500k @ 4,2 GHz ][ ASUS P8P67 Pro ][ HD 5850 ][ 8GB Ram GEIL ][ ASUS Xonar DX


 11/24/2012 03:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

Let's say you have a 6 core processor, 2 cores working on an 64 bit channel, would that not be like having 3 dual core 64 bit computers on one motherboard?



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.
 11/24/2012 03:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

I think you're confusing terminology here...

The "3" in DDR3 does not mean there are three streams of data traveling between CPU and memory.  That depends on the motherboard, memory controller, and how the memory slots are populated.

A memory module is just a place to store things.  The decisions made on when and how data gets from point A to point B are made elsewhere.

What you're probably thinking of is ganged vs unganged mode, which has to do with how each channel talks with its memory controller.  In ganged mode, the channels are synchronized and send data to the CPU in a big block.  In unganged mode, each memory controller is free to operate independently from the other.

In terms of software, it helps to be aware of these lower details in order to avoid doing something boneheaded, but in general they're hidden and programmers have little or no direct control on when and how they happen.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 11/24/2012 04:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

The memory controllers have two modes ganged or inter levied, alternating back and forth, so I don't think they are not being hooked to the motherboard bus lines at the same time.



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.

Edited: 11/24/2012 at 04:39 PM by wesworld1
 11/24/2012 04:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 11/24/2012 04:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

COOL PICTURE!



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.
Statistics
84731 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.