Topic Title: PCI Express Generation/Version
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/01/2012 04:52 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/01/2012 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomsavage
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/01/2012

Looking for an upgrade card but a bit confused about the generation/pcie version.

some cards have 2.1, some have 3.0.  my computer specifications just lists a PCI Express x16 slot without a generation number.  does the PCIE hardware have to match the card's generation number?  if not, how bad is the performance loss?

i currently have an HD6450 which is listed as generation 2.1

a bit dated after a year of use and now i'm considering upgrading my power supply to buy a generation 3.0 card.  should i stay with a generatoin 2.1 card?

 

 12/01/2012 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is your motherboard chipset, that'll tell you the PCIe version. 3.0 is backwards compatible all the way down, and when used in an 2.0 x16 slot, should have no speed detriment.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/01/2012 11:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomsavage
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/01/2012

Thanks.  Checked the mainboard and it looks like I have a PCIE 2.0 slot.  There are several very good Radeon cards in this range that I can get.

 12/01/2012 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

Give us your system specs and we can give you some recommendations

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/02/2012 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomsavage
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/01/2012

dell inspiron 560

400 watt power supply (i'm willing to upgrade this to whatever necessary, so power is not an issue).

pentium dual core e6700 @3.2ghz

64 bit Win 7 home premium

8gb DRAM @532mhz

p45/p43/g45/g43 chipset supports PCIE-2.0

available slot PCI Express 2.0 x 16 (occupied by current card)

current gfx card AMD Radeon HD 6450 w/1gb memory

I have made no personal upgrades to this computer yet.  It's now a year and change old.

===============================

Trying to keep the overall cost of graphics card upgrade under $250 (not including the power supply).

Currently I'm considering the 6870 w/4gb memory and a 500-650 watt power supply.  That (according to Hardware Compare website) is theoretically ~7-8x better than what I currently have.

 

 12/02/2012 11:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

I don't see a problem with a 6870 if you get a Corsair 650w power supply.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/02/2012 09:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tomsavage
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/01/2012

Thanks.

It looks like with a little shopping around, I can fit a 2gb 6950 in my budget.

But I wonder if a 4gb 6870 would be better than a 2gb 6950 for a gaming setup?

 

 12/02/2012 09:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12365
Joined: 04/17/2008

Not unless you have 3 2560x1600 monitors. You might want to wait until the HD 8000 series is released, if nothing else they will depress prices on the 2 year old HD 6000 series even more.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84844 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.