Topic Title: How Fast Would It Be?
Topic Summary: Parallel Bus Solid State Hard Drives?
Created On: 12/07/2012 08:34 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/07/2012 08:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12915
Joined: 04/17/2008

In gaming isn't faster better, more frames per second!


No. It doesn't matter if you get 60, 600, or 6000 FPS, any frames in excess of your monitor's refresh rate cannot physically be displayed and are just a waste of energy creating them.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/08/2012 03:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

Are you referring to motion blur?

The higher the refresh rate the less the motion blur.

I.E. 5 Milli second refresh rate = 1/.005 = 200 FPS

Data transfer is how much you can change (how much action) in that .005 second before the next refresh hit.

1920 X 1080 = 2073600 pixels to control per frame.



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.

Edited: 12/08/2012 at 03:34 AM by wesworld1
 12/08/2012 10:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1469
Joined: 07/13/2009

He's referring to the fact that your monitor screen is only physically changed  a fixed number of times per second.  For typical LCD's, that number is 60.  You get to see exactly one frame every 16.667ms, which means a frame rate above 60 does not give you any more information.

There are some older CRT's capable of 200Hz at lower resolutions.  I have one capable of 160Hz at 1024x768 in my closet (optimal resolution is 1600x1200 @85Hz).

There are some 1920x1080 @120Hz displays, but no 200Hz displays for that resolution.  The latter would require DisplayPort 1.2 to work at all, as it's beyond the capabilities of both Dual-Link DVI and HDMI 1.3/4 (and DisplayPort 1.0/1, for that matter).

 12/08/2012 11:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

I Believe my Samsung plasma 1920 X 1080 has a 600 HZ refresh rate.

Some of my LCD TV's have 120HZ and 240HZ refresh rates.



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.
 12/08/2012 12:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12915
Joined: 04/17/2008

Doubtful, many LCD TV's, and computer monitors as well, use frame doubling or interpolation trickery, few are actually "true" 120hz or 240hz. Plasmas are 600hz but TMK they're still banned in some states and countries because of their power draw.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 12/08/2012 01:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

The analog TV sets used frame doubling to reduce the perception of flicker to the human eye. 



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.
 12/08/2012 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1469
Joined: 07/13/2009

A 120/240/whatever Hertz television has a normal input signal rate - typically 24Hz or 60Hz.  HDMI 1.2 can't handle anything higher than 1920x1080 @60Hz. 

They calculate additional frames to smooth out motion, which is really noticeable with 24Hz source signals (i.e. motion picture discs).  It's probably improved a bit since I bought my 120Hz HDTV around five years ago, but to me it just makes movies look like soap operas (which are shot on 60fps video instead of film) or other cheap TV shows.

 

 12/09/2012 06:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
wesworld1
Peon

Posts: 47
Joined: 11/09/2012

Just for kicks I downloaded and ran AquaMark3 on my AMD 8 core just to see how many frames per second it would run on the massive overdraw section of the test and it only slowed it down to just over 80FPS, on some sections of the AquaMark3 benchmark the test ran in excess of 200FPS, and even with the massive overdraw explosion running at 80FPS it did not look real time. I remember back a few years when I ran AquaMark3 on some computers it would just about stop the computer on the massive overdraw test, which was an indication that there was not enough data transfer rate to keep up with the graphics. I have to look it up but I think my Sony internet 40 inch LED/LCD has either a 120HZ or 240 HZ refresh rate. So with all of that being said a 60HZ refresh rate is sufficient for smooth motion in graphics but when the graphics gets to much action, and the data transfer rate can't keep up, then the action slows down. It takes a considerable amount of data transfer to keep up with HD high action graphics just to get it to run at 60FPS.

 

P.S.

AquaMark3 turns the resolution down to 1024X768X32.

3DMark11 free edition scored P4270



-------------------------
ASUS M5A99X EVO, AMD FX 8 Core Black Edition, 8 Gig DDR3 1333, 2 EA. GeForce GTS450 in SLI Cofiguration, 120 Gig Intel SSD, Thermal take Smart M Series 850 Watt Power Supply, and 14 TByte internal storage.
AMD Support and Game » General Tech. Chat » How Fast Would It Be?

<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
87646 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.