Topic Title: I have had it with MSI. absolutley had it!
Topic Summary: THe guys from the old forums will know where thisis going...
Created On: 02/17/2013 09:46 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/20/2013 12:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster

Might be hard to RMA if I do that.... lol

 

Yeah, considering that I employeed a hacksaw when keychaining the 7870 RMAing it afterwards might be difficult. 

Having the 7870 die on me was the second time I had tried to replace my old 5870 and had something go sideways in the process.  Foregoing the RMA was worth it. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 02/20/2013 at 12:42 PM by Mime
 02/20/2013 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Wow IL, sorry to hear about your continued tango with Murphy!    I'm going through my own little dance with him myself concerning my motherboard....but, this was not ASUS' fault but since the motherboard cost me $450, I'm a little miffed at Murphy...LOL

I really hope that you get squared away though....be firm but respectful. 



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 02/20/2013 06:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Unintended side effect of going back to an externally vented fan....

 

 

And yep, really hate murphy. Good news though, MSI has offered to pay shipping back to them.



-------------------------

 03/08/2013 01:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

They're sending me a gtx 580 lightening as a replacement. how much could I ask for it? Anybody here want to buy it?

-------------------------

 03/08/2013 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

There's one on Amazon for $400 that's used, but that seems sort of crazy considering you can get a GTX 670 for ~350... I'd try 275-300, depending on how quickly you want to offload it. 



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 03/08/2013 09:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Might just be worth hanging onto, I just have terrible luck with the MSI gods. but at this rate I'll wind up with a Titan before the fall. lol.



-------------------------

 03/08/2013 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

I'd hold on to it for a spare, never know when your primary will bite the dust, like my 7970, use for 5 days, go without for 2 weeks for repair.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/20/2013 01:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Good thing I decided to keep it. This replacement looks used and abused, heatpipes got a dent in it. The shroud is scratched up pretty good, haven't plugged it in yet to verify functionality, but it almost wouldn't surprise me if it didn't work.....



-------------------------

 03/20/2013 01:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Heh... that's not funny really, but in a way it kind of is. 

You might need to keychain something even more than I did by the time this is done...



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 03/20/2013 01:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

Sounds like what my replacement 7970 looks like. Shroud is scuffed, fans are unbalanced in the 55-70% fan speed range so they vibrate, and there are mysterious white marks on the back of the card. Needs to be a law: If your product fails within the first year of ownership you shall receive a BRAND NEW replacement...

Oh, and I asked XFX why I received back a different version of the 7970 Ghz than I sent in. Apparently I bought their custom dual DVI version and it had a high failure rate so they sent me an AMD Reference version with their custom cooler. So that means they can't design a card.

But who knows, it may be like that 1971 Ford F-150 you see on the highway ever day that has more dents than the moon, more primer than a supermodel, more miles than the 5 digit odometer can record, yet it runs perfectly.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64

Edited: 03/20/2013 at 02:02 AM by black_zion
 03/20/2013 03:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Uggggggggggggggghh........ Now I need a power supply to power this thing. Two 8 pin plugs on it..... Le Sigh.



-------------------------

 03/20/2013 12:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

That's awful that they sent that to you.



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 

 03/20/2013 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

Two 8 pins on a card which draws less than 250w...Time to move to Radeon?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/20/2013 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

I was looking through your sig to see what power supply you had...that's a shame, that PSU probably would have been okay. I mean 775W.

Totally unrelated question though--what is "RAID0 Short Stroked 25%//HT?"



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 

 03/20/2013 05:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

That's evidence of some sort of voodoo Lobster has performed on their raid setup.  I forget the exact details... something about how the partitions are setup which makes it more zippy.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 03/21/2013 02:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

That PSU will power itjust fine, its my other system, with the GTX 460 (which I gave to my Dad) that I was going to put this in.... yup....

 

 



-------------------------

 03/21/2013 02:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Originally posted by: Mime That's evidence of some sort of voodoo Lobster has performed on their raid setup.  I forget the exact details... something about how the partitions are setup which makes it more zippy.

 

Yup.

 

Actually cracked a 6.1 in the infamous WEI, whixh shouldn't be possible for a non-mechanical setup.

Quick Lesson (copied from TRP) http://www.theraptorpit.com/forum/index.php?/topic/6788-hey-i-l/page__p__108036__hl__stroked__fromsearch__1#entry108036

Refers to partitioning out the disk sectors. I'd post some screenshots... buuut.... my bandwidth limit has been met. Let me see what I can do.

[edit] ok, different account.
First, run a drive benchmark,

Pick a point where the performance of the drive begins to Drop, and how much size you need (this is up to you, for my 500GBs, I picked 40%, for my 1TBs, I backed it up some, because they had more space, and were playing on two platters, so 30%

This is what you will do to the drive platter when you do this.
Te idea is simply to reduce the head movement over the disk, creating shorter strokes, as you can see, in order to traverse the green portion, the head has to move very little.

The results... As you can see, where the short stroke ends, the long stroke picks up, and the Short has almost a linear profile.


And no, I didn't make the name, so get your head out of the gutter. />

 


and TX, don't get me wrong, I like the space, that's why I didn't waste my money on an SSD, need a little more than 2MB of space />

[edit2]
Here is my 1TB Short Stroke for comparison to the 500GB Short Stroke above. see what Cache does? />



-------------------------

 03/21/2013 01:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

CPU usage -1.0% so he has also managed to get his hard drives to act as a coprocessor But for two mechanical drives costing about $200, it is pretty great performance. Doesn't come close to my 512GB OCZ Vertex 4 I got on a Cyber Monday sale for $299.99, but for mechanical drives that's better performance than many "older" SSDs, including my OS drive.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/22/2013 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Forum Moderator

Posts: 226
Joined: 08/28/2012

Well.... the Ultra in the other PC only has 1 8 pin...... email sent to MSI... again.....



-------------------------

 03/22/2013 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12502
Joined: 04/17/2008

It'd be nice if they just offered you a cash refund. Just wondering, how much, including the cost of the card, have you spent shipping their garbage back to them?

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
AMD Support and Game » General Tech. Chat » I have had it with MSI. absolutley had it!

<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Topic Tools Topic Tools
Statistics
85539 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.