Topic Title: Monitor Suggestions
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/02/2013 10:24 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/02/2013 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeRM275
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2012

Ok after my fiasco with Catalyst drivers not working with my Gateway FDH2401 monitor; since Acer took over Gateway, everything about Gateway has gone into the toilet, from customer support to their products.  I am looking for a replacement monitor that will work with any and all drivers post Catalyst 12.6.  Does anyone have any suggestions, looking around the 23 - 24 inch size range to run off of HDMI?



-------------------------
 04/02/2013 11:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

I would suggest the moniter I am using (in my sig). No problems...ever. Been through two graphics cards (4870 and 6970) and used every WHQL and Beta driver with no monitor issues



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 04/02/2013 04:24 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12480
Joined: 04/17/2008

I would suggest my monitor, the HP ZR2440w. Once you experience an IPS panel you'll never go back to TN.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 04/06/2013 03:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeRM275
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2012

Originally posted by: stumped I would suggest the moniter I am using (in my sig). No problems...ever. Been through two graphics cards (4870 and 6970) and used every WHQL and Beta driver with no monitor issues

Well looking at the monitor you have in your sig, it is the same one I have and the one that is giving me problems.  So I doubt I will help.



-------------------------
 04/09/2013 10:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

I'm going to throw this out there, but briefly describe what problems you're having.  Also, I am quite curious as to why you want to use HDMI with a computer monitor.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 04/10/2013 07:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeRM275
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2012

Well if I go beyond Catalyst drivers 12.6 the monitor will either look like a sonogram, all black with white spots that fade in and out, or it will look like a tie-dyed shirt.  Plus the 1080p goes away and all you are left with is 1000p, or the usual basic settings, though those are more than likely to give the tie-dye effect.  I've tried a DVI cable and HDMI cable but with no luck.  I know it is the monitor since I borrowed a friend's monitor for troubleshooting and it worked perfectly fine with drivers beyond 12.6.  Using the HDMI for the audio support, since the onboard audio sounds like a tin can and the creative drivers were causing the sound card to bluescreen all the time.



-------------------------
 04/12/2013 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Lots to think about.

I can't really think of any reason - other than something corrupt with your system - that would cause essentially what sounds like corrupt graphics to start after a particular driver version.  Or, as you seem to have concluded: something with that particular display does not like what is different with the drivers (though I am very hard-pressed to think this is true).

Is this your display:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824113019

If so, it supports 1920x1200.  It also doesn't seem to have speakers.  If that is your display, you will want to use 1920x1200, but I am confident you won't get that through HDMI, so will want to use DVI. You'll lose the audio capability over HDMI.

However, with audio I'm also lost with your description.  Onboard audio wouldn't necessarily sound like a tin-can. Speakers could.  So you mean your computer speakers connected are not good, and rather wanted to use speakers that are integrated on the display? If so, then the above link isn't your display. Do you have a link?

Does the onboard graphics not have HDMI output?  Why not just connect the computer speakers to the Creative sound-card and stick with DVI connection?

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 04/13/2013 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeRM275
Peon

Posts: 9
Joined: 01/25/2012

Hi Marc,    Yes that is the monitor I currently have.  It is wierd, for some odd reason it really does not like the drivers.  I had taken a print screen of the tie-dye look that I had on the monitor and transfered the print screen to paint and moved the file to my laptop.  When I looked at it on my laptop, I had a perfect picture, no tie-dye or anything.  So I am convinced it is the monitor alone that is the problem, having tried multiple DVI and HDMI cables since the 12.10 drivers, and it is always the same result. Now Gateway did have speakers you could buy to connect to that monitor, which I did.  I have a good speaker setup that is just collecting dust right now, since the Creative card keeps bluescreening my computer (bad drivers, creative is unable to fix with Win 7), though when it didn't bluescreen, the sound quality was excellent.  As I said, hook it up to onboard sound and it was like a tin can. So the graphics cards I have do have HDMI I went with that to override the tin can effect of onboard audio, and the bluescreens from Creative.  I lost 5.1 surround to go with stereo on the monitor, but of well at least it is stable and produces sound, that doesn't make me feel like I am back in the stone age.  I just wish that I could make use of the updates in technology that this monitor is not affording me.  Gateway / Acer's customer support is pure garbage, so I am unable to fix the issues with the monitor.  That is why I am looking for a new monitor.

-------------------------


Edited: 04/14/2013 at 12:28 PM by MikeRM275
 04/17/2013 09:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Thank you for entertaining my questions.  It does indeed appear as though you have accurately concluded the display needs replacing.

As for new monitors - I would definitely go 24".  If you want to go with HDMI connectivity (and have speakers integrated with the display) you are pretty well looking at one of those TV/Monitor type displays.  1920x1080, 16:9 format.



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

Statistics
85472 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.