Topic Title: Is Windows 8/8.1's biggest failure the reliance on a Microsoft account?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2014 01:59 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/02/2014 01:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12177
Joined: 04/17/2008

So I've gotten to play around with Windows 8.1 since I got my tablet. I'm still not a fan of the interface, to me it is less efficient, and the touch keyboard needs a million times more customization. However I wonder if one of the biggest negatives about it is the reliance on a Microsoft Live account? You can setup and run your account locally even though Microsoft would rather you not, but to use any apps (say, the Newegg app), you are required to have that account.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/02/2014 04:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12177
Joined: 04/17/2008

Oh, and don't forget about the inability to use the IE11 modern UI without having IE set as the default browser.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/04/2014 10:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Nerfed

Posts: 73
Joined: 10/02/2012

They actually make IE11 look different if you don't have it set as the default browser? That seems spiteful and juvenile of Microsoft...



-------------------------

--Technic58--Joined 07/25/2004--Post Count + 13,953--

Desktop: AMD A8-6500 Richland, Asrock FM2A88X, 8GB Team DDR2133, WD 500GB Black, XFX HD7870 and Sapphire HD5870 (mining), EVGA NEX650G PSU, CoolerMaster HAF 912

Laptop: Acer Aspire TimelineX 3820TG: i5 460M 2.53GHz, 8GB DDR3, 640GB Western Digital HDD, ATI Radeon HD5650M, Windows 

 02/04/2014 10:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12177
Joined: 04/17/2008

Aye, if it is not the default browser it loads in "desktop mode" which makes it look just like regular IE. Thankfully the "metro" version of Firefox is due out in a couple of months.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/05/2014 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

It's the same trick they played fifteen years ago when Microsoft squashed Netscape like a bug... nothing new there.  

That said, I still find it amusing the nerdrage that gets dumped on Microsoft as if they're the only company to do such things.  Microsoft wants you to create an account with them because they want to know what you're doing with their software.  That may seem creepy, but it's same thing that happens every time you sign in to facebook, or twitter, or anything else these days.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 02/06/2014 12:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Couch_Ornament
Nerfed

Posts: 57
Joined: 01/30/2014

Originally posted by: black_zion Oh, and don't forget about the inability to use the IE11 modern UI without having IE set as the default browser.

How is this a problem?

1) Do you use IE? No, no problem. Yes? You should have it as default and can use it in Metro: No problem!

2) Do you use Chrome or Firefox? Yes, no problem. No? See 1.

 

As for having an MS account... what is the big deal? They are free. Besides Steam makes you have a Steam Account to use their software, so does EA, Ubisoft, Sony...............................................

 

 

I think the biggest failure about Windows 8/8.1 is the "techies" on the web who continue to spread false rumours about it. With one free program it loads exactly like Windows 7, but you get to enjoy a lower memory footprint, faster booting, better support for FX chips, better packet allocation, increased frames in most games*, more stable than 7**, seamless use of Skydrive, DX11.2, IE 11, Windows Store, etc etc etc. Honestly, once you ditch the complaint about the Metro Screen, there is no reason not to. 

*There are a couple where there is a slight decrease and some OLD OLD games have issues getting running, no different than any other upgrade though.

**I was able to have a higher stable overclock on 8 than 7, and it hasn't just been my experience. 

 

PS: Even though IE seems better, faster, stronger... It still bites over Chrome or Firefox.



-------------------------

Desktop: FX8350 @4.7Ghz, Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7 Motherboard, 16GB Corsair Vengeance @1.7Ghz, Dual Asus R9 290X DCU2 @ 1.1Ghz, Kingston HyperX & V300 128GB SSDs, 4TB HDD, CM Inferno Gaming Mouse, Logitech G510, 3x Acer 223W Monitors@5040x1060, Antec DF-85, Corsair H100i, Corsair HX1050 PSU.


Laptop: MSI GX70: AMD A10-5750 @3.5Ghz, HD8970M @1.1Ghz, 16GB Corsair Vengeance @1.6Ghz, 250GB Kingston HyperX SSD, 1TB SSHD, 750GB Seagate, Gamdias Demeter Gaming Mouse, CM SF-17 Cooler.



Edited: 02/06/2014 at 12:48 AM by Couch_Ornament
Statistics
84092 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 6 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.