Topic Title: New Firefox
Topic Summary: Mozilla gears up for the biggest overhaul to Firefox in more than three years
Created On: 02/08/2014 04:54 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/08/2014 04:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

I might have missed it, but I saw no mention of 64bit. I have been using Waterfox for the last few months and suspected it was the test bed ...but no.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1001_3-57618594-92/firefoxs-new-interface-is-almost-here/?part=rss&subj=news&tag=title



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 02/08/2014 11:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

I've tested the "Australis" nightly on my tablet, and I have to say I don't like it as well as the existing interface. If they don't allow us to turn it off I'll have to switch to an ESR version.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 02/08/2014 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

Give Waterfox a shot...I am really pleased with it.

http://www.waterfoxproject.org/



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *



Edited: 03/14/2014 at 07:39 PM by stumped
 03/14/2014 07:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7035
Joined: 11/13/2009

After more than two years of work, Mozilla has scrapped its effort to build a Metro-specific version of Firefox for Windows 8, saying that users have shown almost no interest.

Microsoft designed what it previously called the Metro interface for touch-screen devices like tablets and introduced it with Windows 8 along with a version of Internet Explorer designed to run on it. Two years ago, after winning a debate with Microsoft over whether it even could be possible to bring a modern third-party browser to Metro, Mozilla embarked on its Firefox for Metro journey.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-1023_3-57620382-93/mozilla-scraps-metro-version-of-firefox-citing-low-interest/?part=rss&subj=latest-news2&tag=title



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 03/14/2014 11:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

I ran the Firefox 28 Beta on my tablet and tried out the Metro interface, and I didn't care for it. To me it's not as convenient as the desktop layout, and the fact that I'm using desktop programs at the same time, and since Metro apps have to run in that idiotic split screen or full screen, I certainly won't miss it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/15/2014 02:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

The recent build of firefox needs an update.  I spend most of my day using a mixture of firefox and chrome, and the fracking thing crashes on me at least a few times every week.  As a developer I still perfer it over IE, but there's some work to be done in terms of stability.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 03/15/2014 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

Glad to see I wasn't the only one having that issue. Ever since I moved my desktop to Firefox 27 I've had crashing issues, either just out of the blue, or if I am playing a game in full screen with my internet running in the background (say, for a walkthrough for a puzzle) it will always crash. I was nearly convinced it was a RAM issue even though Memtest85+ kept coming back clean.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/15/2014 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

At first it freaked me out and made me think there was a bug in my code somewhere.  I've had that happen only a few times, so it's rare but it can happen.  Then it started happening on sites that aren't mine, so that's better... sort of.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

 03/16/2014 12:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12205
Joined: 04/17/2008

I blame Mozilla's relentless pursuit of speed. They say on Top Gear that bringing a car to the Nurburgring is the ruination of a car since the designers forget about everything except lap times. Same thing seems to be happening with Firefox (and I'm sure Chrome, Opera, and Safari as well) in that in the pursuit of having Javascript render a millisecond faster than their competitors, or for a page to load and display a microsecond quicker, and for the interface to be supposedly streamlined for efficiency (which it's decidedly not with Australis), you wind up with a less stable browser. And let's not forget this stupid "rapid release cycle", but I guess we have to blame people who think a larger number is better than a smaller one.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/16/2014 01:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Forum Moderator

Posts: 578
Joined: 08/28/2012

Always deciding in favor of one thing at the cost of everything else is rarely a good idea, but a rapid release cycle is fine so long as the development milestones are scaled down to match.  It's only when you switch to a rapid cycle thinking it'll allow you to cram 10 pounds into a 5 pound bag that you run into problems.

Optimizing JavaScript isn't a bad idea either.  It needs to be done at some point if things are to continue as they are now.  JavaScript is used for a lot more today than just window dressing.

I have no idea what led to the problems in stability... maybe just a failure to properly QA some of the recent changes.  That's one thing that can drive a major rebuild.  Trying to patch the same problem areas over and over again sometimes only digs you in deeper.



-------------------------

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
Post Count: +8510
Troll Hunter

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.



Edited: 03/16/2014 at 01:10 AM by Mime
Statistics
84163 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.