Topic Title: LOW fps in all multiplayer games?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/24/2014 03:04 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/24/2014 03:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
masterx1234
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 07/21/2013

Hey guys i have been having an issue with my PC ever since i bought it, for some reason i see framedrops and low fps in nearly every multiplayer game i have played, this includes battlefield 3 & 4, hawken, ect. what would i need to upgrade or fix to get better FPS? because i have a amd a8-6600k at 4.5ghz, and a 7870ghz editition GPU, corsair cx600 psu. 8 gb 1866 ram

 03/24/2014 04:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1494
Joined: 07/13/2009

You should monitor your CPU and GPU usage during these periods of low performance. 

If either is pegged at 100%, then that's the bottleneck.  For the CPU usage, however, you need to know how many threads the game does real work on.  If it's only two, for example, then overall CPU usage of 50% would indicate a CPU bottleneck.  A single-threaded game at 25% would be the same.

 03/24/2014 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13081
Joined: 04/17/2008

You do have your monitor plugged into the HD 7870 and the 6600K's graphics adapter is disabled, correct?

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 03/25/2014 02:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
masterx1234
Nerfed

Posts: 53
Joined: 07/21/2013

Yes the integrated graphics is disabled in the bios, and the primary display unit is set to my 7870 gpu, and both monitors are connected to the gpu only, i know for a fact im not using integrated graphics otherwise i wouldnt be able to max out every game, its just the multiplayer games that seem to struggle

Statistics
89095 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.