Topic Title: Cat 6 cable
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/26/2014 06:41 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/26/2014 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Does anybody have any experience/input with flat Cat6 cabling vs round? I would imigine the flat would be better if you are running it under carpeting, etc. but what about interference/bleed ?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/27/2014 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Thanny
Alpha Geek

Posts: 1494
Joined: 07/13/2009

No experience with the flat wires, but as long as each pair is properly twisted throughout the length (i.e. four twisted pairs side by side), there's no reason it wouldn't have the same performance as other unshielded cables.

 

 06/27/2014 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

I've no experience either, but the only thing I found is that there is a higher chance of flat cables having interference or degraded quality than traditional round, but at the speeds you are going to be using it at even if it is degraded to half its rated speed you won't notice. Though I'm sure you're going to use proper PVC protection.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/27/2014 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: black_zion   Though I'm sure you're going to use proper PVC protection.

Yes. I'm partial to the Trojan Ribbed. But my thoughts were the same as far as the chance of interference and degredation, why take the chance...and as Thanny says "as long as"... I don't know how new these flat cable units are but a google search is about 60/40 in favor of the round, and the main concern is shielding.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/27/2014 03:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13067
Joined: 04/17/2008

What is your intended purpose, and is Gigabit WiFi (802.11ac) not an option?

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 06/27/2014 04:01 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

No...it's a new Verizon fiber optic service. Supposedly, the house was constructed with fiber optic in mind...and wireless N laptops are getting 300mb throughput. The variable is the ethernet cable to the one gaming computer in the house which is hardwired and is closest to the router.The PC has a Intel Gigabit connection which normally gets 1gb throughput with a cable connection. Previous cable 30/5 and the new fiber optic 50/10.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/27/2014 04:05 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Nerfed

Posts: 66
Joined: 04/27/2008

Do you need to run it under carpeting?  if not just use a Cat 5e cable.



-------------------------

CPU =  i7 2600K @ 4.7Ghz Swiftech Apogee HD Waterblock
MB =   Asus Maximus Extreme-Z
Ram =  G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3 2133 9-9-9-21-1T
GPU1 = Diamond 7970 @1200Mhz Koolance Waterblock
GPU2 = HIS 280X @ 1200Mhz EK Waterblock
Swiftech 4x120MM Rad - Swiftech MCP655 Pump

 06/27/2014 04:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: cvsi3 Do you need to run it under carpeting?  if not just use a Cat 5e cable.

 

No it's not going under the carpet, which I didn't think/know about, it's just that the choice came up. I have never seen a review or comparison with a rounded cable. To be quite frank, I have never heard of it.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 06/27/2014 03:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Elite

Posts: 1050
Joined: 11/22/2010

Can't you drag them near the walls? I dragged a cat5e inside floor skirting or baseboards (whatever they are called), inside hollow gaps. 



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 06/27/2014 04:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7823
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: zipsi Can't you drag them near the walls? I dragged a cat5e inside floor skirting or baseboards (whatever they are called), inside hollow gaps. 

 

Running the cable is not the issue...I just wanted to know which one, flat or round, has the best performance and least issues.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

Statistics
88761 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.