Topic Title: Multiple entries for graphics card in ccc.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/18/2012 12:38 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/18/2012 12:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
skg13760
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/18/2012

My system seems to run fine but I have a question about something. When I right click on the CCC system tray icon it lists my video card 5 times. In the control panel -> sound applet my monitor has 6 entries. Entry 1 identifies my monitor's built in speakers and sets them as default audio device. However entries 2-6 say Digital Display Audio, AMD high definition audio device, Not plugged in. and they each have the red arrow that points downward.

I don't understand why there are multiple entries for these devices. Is this normal?

My system:

Monitor: Hf257 (Hanns) 1080p, HDMI 1.4 cable.

Video: 1 HIS HD 7950 radeon

CPU: FX-8150 3.6 ghz

Mobo: Gigabyte 990FXA-ud3

Memory: 16gb corsair.

OS: Win7 64bit.

Nothing is overclocked.

 

Thank you,

Shannon

 08/18/2012 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Because you have multiple monitors that can attach to that card. Mine has 3 connectors so it lists Radeon HD 5900 Series 3 times.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 01/28/2014 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bevhoward
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/28/2014

>> Because you have multiple monitors that can attach to that card <<

I have the same problem, but only one monitor has ever been connected to the card.

There are three "extended destop" entries in addition to the primary entry when you right click on the ccc tray icon.

There are different 10 configuration entries under the key;

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers\Configuration

and that number has grown from (I think) 3 since I purchased the computer in December

Related to this there are multiple little irritants such as open windows being resized and move to the top left of the monitor when coming out of suspend.

Primary question; Can I delete all of the entries (except the last one which is "simulated") and restart the process?

win8 64bit

amd driver version 13.251.0.0 (I am reluctant to update driver until I get this and other questions answered)

Thanks in advance,
Beverly Howard

addendum... how does one start a new topic? (found it!)

 

 

 02/10/2014 12:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bevhoward
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/28/2014

zero replies in almost a month to three posts requesting info and assistance?

Is this forum inactive, or am I in the wrong place?

 

Beverly Howard

 02/10/2014 01:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7845
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: bevhoward zero replies in almost a month to three posts requesting info and assistance?

Is this forum inactive, or am I in the wrong place?

 

Beverly Howard

The OP question has been answered. You need to start your own thread. The answer will be the same however. Those "extra" entries are for extended desktops. Put your cursor on them and read. I have a 6900 series card with one (1) monitor.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******



Edited: 02/11/2014 at 05:43 AM by stumped
 02/10/2014 01:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bevhoward
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 01/28/2014

>>  Put your cursor on them and read. <<

Yep... there are four entries in ccc... however, my question related to the ten display configuration entries located in the windows registry.

Now that I know the rules structure here, I will repost this as a new thread... along with the other two new, and unanswered threads posted back then.

Beverly Howard

 

 

 

Statistics
88853 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 1 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.