Topic Title: No HDCP in Windows 8.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/09/2012 11:54 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/09/2012 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sotti
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/09/2012

So I have a dell u2410 and a dell 2408wfp

both support HDCP on DVI, HDMI and Display port.

Running windows 7 I could play blu-rays or anything that required HDCP.
I upgraded to windows 8 and now HDCP reports that it's unsupported.

I've tried each monitor individually with DVI and display port and had no luck.  I really like watch blu-rays as well as using the Directv2pc app.  Both of those require HDCP.

 

Anybody else having this issue? 

 10/10/2012 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zipsi
Case Modder

Posts: 998
Joined: 11/22/2010

Well obviously a beta operating system wouldn't have such a tertiary feature as of this time.. khmm you could break the security of the blurays and watch them anyway as long as you wont upload the result later on this is legal only for PERSONAL USE.



-------------------------
Intel I7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo, Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H, Gigabyte HD7970 ghz edition, 4x4gb Kingston HyperX Beast 2133mhz, Seasonic Platinum 860, Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, OCZ Vertex 4 128gb, WD Black 1TB, WD Green 3TB+1.5TB, ASUS Xonar Essence ST, ASUS VE278Q, Windows 3.11
 10/10/2012 06:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sotti
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/09/2012

Windows 8 isn't beta.

I've got the RTM release.
This is something that should be supported at this point with public release just 2 weeks away, OEMs are surley loading up machine after machine with the release software and some form of AMD video driver.

 

Is it possible that none of them support HDCP.

 

BTW the bigger problem is the directv2pc app, which requires HDCP, not an easy way to strip the content protection off your satalite reciever. 

 10/10/2012 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12237
Joined: 04/17/2008

Even though Windows 8 is in the RTM phase the published downloadable trial is not what will go on prefab garbage desktops or laptops. Dhell and Toshitba and the other OEMs will load on custom drivers to support their hardware, and Microsoft will be shipping out WHQL drivers for them to add in to the system driver set, since AMD didn't have a WHQL driver set for Windows 8 at the time of public trials, and of course component manufacturers will publish their own WHQL certified drivers...

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/10/2012 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sotti
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/09/2012

Originally posted by: black_zion Even though Windows 8 is in the RTM phase the published downloadable trial is not what will go on prefab garbage desktops or laptops. Dhell and Toshitba and the other OEMs will load on custom drivers to support their hardware, and Microsoft will be shipping out WHQL drivers for them to add in to the system driver set, since AMD didn't have a WHQL driver set for Windows 8 at the time of public trials, and of course component manufacturers will publish their own WHQL certified drivers...

AMD has released 2 drivers since Windows 8 went RTM.
12.8 supports windows8 and is an official release http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/radeon_win7-64.aspx
The 12.9 beta also supports windows8 as I assume every driver version going foward will.

I have the RTM release of the OS via MSDN, which in respect to HDCP is exactly the same as what the OEMs are pre-installing.

WHQL isn't a pre-req for HDCP, I've used plent of ATI beta drivers on win7 that had working HDCP.

I'm trying to figure out if it's just me or if it's broken across the board.

 10/12/2012 08:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4846
Joined: 12/27/2008

Found this for you today:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2768703

Maybe it applies to you. Maybe not.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 10/12/2012 08:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sotti
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/09/2012

Originally posted by: Eydee Found this for you today:

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2768703

 

Maybe it applies to you. Maybe not.

 

 

Thanks for the link,  looks like windows update found that and installed that for me last night.

 

No Change
The cyberlink apps still won't play satallite or blu-ray. 

 10/22/2012 07:30 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hitek
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/22/2012

I'm in a similar situation.  I upgraded to Windows 8, yes the RTM version, back when it became available in August.  My Dell used Power DVD 9 and it quit playing Blu Rays.  I have tried a number of items and it all seems to come back to the fact that my AMD Driver for a Radeon HD 6770 no longer supports HDCP.  Cyberlink, the producer of PowerDVD, has an advisor tool and it states that it does not recognize the Graphics card and that my monitor is now no longer HDCP-complient.  If I take the driver back down to 8.810 another app (TotalMedia Theater) can play Blu-Ray 75% of the time.  The other times it complains about HDCP.  So this has got to be an issue with Windows 8 and the AMD Driver.Today, I tried the latest version of the driver 9.2.0.0.  And I still get the same problem.I have spent a great amount of time with Dell and Cyberlink on this issue and I still seem no closer.

-------------------------
 10/23/2012 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

This is a P2P, user, forum. That being said the users here will most likely not be able to build you a driver set or OS patch to gain you the functionality that you are looking for. If you wish you may submit a support ticket to AMD directly for additional assistance or contact MS via their support channels.

For AMD support kindly read the thread below and do the needful:

**STICKY** | AMD ISSUE REPORTING FORM
Reproducible issues can be reported here.



-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 10/27/2012 02:02 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gunjeetgandhi
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 10/27/2012

i want to use windows 8 but i could not get driver for my card for windows 8 .may i knw when it will be released for my graphics card?..i have ati radeon 4650 in my dell inspiron m5010.



Edited: 10/27/2012 at 06:36 AM by gunjeetgandhi
 10/27/2012 10:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hitek
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/22/2012

I have submitted a ticket to AMD.  I'll let everyone know what happens.

-------------------------
 10/30/2012 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jhfenton
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/30/2012

I'm in the same boat with Windows 8 Pro, a Dell Inspiron 570, an HD 6670, and the 12.10 drivers. The Cyberlink Adviser reports the same HDCP problems as you have. Cyberlink PowerDVD won't play blu-rays. And the Windows 8 Netflix and Hulu Plus (Metro) apps report errors (a "W8159" DRM error for Netflix and a PB4 error for Hulu Plus). I tried the 12.11 beta drivers, but I just get different errors from the Netflix (that the driver is not WHQL signed) and Hulu (PB3) apps.

Netflix and Hulu work fine in a browser window, because those don't depend on HDCP checks. I'm guessing the new Windows 8 video apps do in some way.

The reviews in the Windows 8 app store for the Netflix and Hulu apps show lots of 1-star reviews from folks with similar problems.

I've tried all the usual trouble-shooting since last Friday evening when I installed Windows 8, but it's just the current state of the software.

John

 10/31/2012 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jhfenton
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/30/2012

I submitted a support request to AMD this afternoon too. I've tried a few other things too, including the 12.8 driver. The 12.8 driver results in the same failures and errors as the 12.10 driver.

 10/31/2012 11:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
hitek
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/22/2012

I'm dissapointed that I have not heard anything back from AMD yet.

-------------------------
 11/03/2012 03:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jhfenton
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/30/2012

I haven't heard anything either, and nothing has changed on my end.

 11/03/2012 05:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jhfenton
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/30/2012

I don't know what to make of it, but in Googling, I ran across a discussion on the Cyberlink PowerDVD forum with some other folks having Windows 8 + AMD + HDCP issues. One guy discovered that uninstalling Hyper-V as a Windows feature restored HDCP functionality. And sure enough, it does. The Cyberlink BD Advisor reports "success" and PowerDVD plays blu-rays.

I would never have thought of uninstalling Hyper-V.

I'm currently running the 12.11 beta driver, but I'm going to try the 12.10 driver again too to see if Netflix and Hulu will work. (They report a different, non-WHQL signed driver, error with the 12.11 beta driver.)

John

 11/03/2012 05:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jhfenton
Peon

Posts: 6
Joined: 10/30/2012

Returning to the 12.10 driver leaves HDCP intact (according to Cyberlink's BD advisor) and returns the Windows 8 Store Netflix and Hulu apps back to their original errors (W8159 and PB4).

So there are two separate problems.

 12/28/2012 04:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JaxMetal
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/28/2012

I realize this is a somewhat old thread, but I would like to revisit this topic. I am having the same issue, using an HD 6770 video card on Windows 8. When I try to use Vudu to view a purchased movie, I get "Oops! This movie won't play on your display due to copyright restrictions. It can be played only if both your output and display support HDCP. [#3304]". 

I am using the latest Catalyst driver, which appears to still be the same driver that was out when the last post in this thread was made, nearly two months ago. Has this issue not been addressed at all? I had my video card installed from the factory, which used the old original drivers from the card release, and HDCP worked fine. It is only after I updated the driver that I had this issue, so it is absolutely software related.

Does anyone know/have a link to the latest driver that I could install that would still work with Windows 8 and still allow HDCP? Thanks.

Edit: I am not using Hyper-V, so that is not part of the problem.

 12/28/2012 04:27 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7061
Joined: 11/13/2009

Roll back to the previous drivers?



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 12/28/2012 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JaxMetal
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 12/28/2012

I know that that is a possibility, it's just that that is a driver that came with the card, from early 2011. I was primarily asking if there is a more recent driver that doesn't have the HDCP issue, but will otherwise work fine. I'm really surprised that this isn't an issue that's been addressed, either way. Thank you for the reply. =)

Statistics
84251 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.