Topic Title: Catalyst 12.10 AHCI Driver and Windows 8
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/29/2012 02:30 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 3 Previous Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2012 02:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

Had trying difference scenarios. one of scenarios:

- my mobo jetway HA07-ultra, 790GX SB750, bios date 10/30/2009, oem discontinued product.

- only one hdd sata Hitachi HDS721050DLE630M.

- AHCI enabled in BIOS.

- dual boot OS, W7 on primary partition, W8 on secondary part.

Installing W8 work well, when install completed it had a Standard SATA AHCI Controller. When install 12.10 sb driver then reboot the BSOD appears. When switch AHCI to Native IDE, booting OS normally.

 11/02/2012 05:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Originally posted by: linhtinh Had trying difference scenarios. one of scenarios:

- my mobo jetway HA07-ultra, 790GX SB750, bios date 10/30/2009, oem discontinued product.

- only one hdd sata Hitachi HDS721050DLE630M.

- AHCI enabled in BIOS.

- dual boot OS, W7 on primary partition, W8 on secondary part.

Installing W8 work well, when install completed it had a Standard SATA AHCI Controller. When install 12.10 sb driver then reboot the BSOD appears. When switch AHCI to Native IDE, booting OS normally.

Same here. I have MSI DKA790GX with latest Bios.

I saw that only Gigabyte supports older models and gives new Bios'



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 06:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

Maybe AMD AHCI Rom ver 3.0.xxx have bug, ver 3.1.xx and later ? i haven't that Giga mobo to confirm.

 11/03/2012 08:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Originally posted by: linhtinh Maybe AMD AHCI Rom ver 3.0.xxx have bug, ver 3.1.xx and later ? i haven't that Giga mobo to confirm.

On the other hand the problems started after 12.1 thus AMD is the first one that should fix the driver



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 12:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

Dear el_arantis.

12-8 sata driver working with W8. Same ways with W7, edit amd_sata.inf.

But to install modified drv, pls reboot W8 to disable driver signature enforcement mode, and then install.

How to disable driver enforcement: http://dhakshinamoorthy.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/installing-an-unsigned-driver-in-windows-8-x64/

To download 12-8 sb driver: http://files.3dnews.org/pub/drivers/ati/?desc=date

[URL=http://www.imagebam.com/image/fb0b19218410092][/URL]



Edited: 11/03/2012 at 12:21 PM by linhtinh
 11/03/2012 01:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

My friend linhtinh, first of all THANK YOU!!

You made the biggest step !

I just wonder if you could install the 12.10 by the same way but unchecking the AHCI box bevause it goes to W8 drivers and installing W7 modified manually from Device Manager.

That is an idea till we find what to modify to W8 driver



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 03:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

Welcome, el_arantis.

Can't do that. Remember, I have installed 12.8 sb driver for W8, not W7. Because W7 driver  incompatible with W8 OS.

Just uncomment line: HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF

in "\AMD\Support\12-8_vista_win7_win8_32-64_sb\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W864A\amd_sata.inf" then manual install from device manager.

 11/03/2012 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Forgive me if I do not see well but this line is 0xFF from the beginning in W8 driver folder. What change have you done exactly?

Did you erase the ";" character?



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 04:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

GOOD NEWS! :-))

12.10 sb drv working. I'm stupid. Pls follow these step:

- First, create System Restore Point. (importal to revert back original file & registry if have trouble).

- Reboot to "Disable driver signing enforcement" mode. how to? => http://dhakshinamoorthy.wordpress.com/2012/05/14/installing-an-unsigned-driver-in-windows-8-x64/

- Erase character ";" at line: HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0xFF of amd_sata.inf file.

- Manual update driver from device manager or install by setup.exe optional.

- Reboot.

That's all.

(to el_arantis: erase character ";" mean "uncomment")

sata1
sata2



Edited: 11/03/2012 at 04:28 PM by linhtinh
 11/03/2012 06:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Nine nice!!

I didnt know what was the meaning of ; character, thank you!

When we Disable driver signing enforcement is it permanent or every time that we want to install the new driver we must do it again?



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 06:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

But lol AMD.

They fixed the 0xFF for W8 and added ; to cause problems



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 06:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7855
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: el_arantis But lol AMD.

They fixed the 0xFF for W8 and added ; to cause problems

It would be good if you reported this to AMD > http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F58



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 11/03/2012 06:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: el_arantis But lol AMD.

They fixed the 0xFF for W8 and added ; to cause problems [IMG][/IMG]

It would be good if you reported this to AMD > http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F58

I've done this many times without any luck.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/03/2012 07:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
linhtinh
n00b

Posts: 16
Joined: 03/13/2012

Originally posted by: el_arantis

 

When we Disable driver signing enforcement is it permanent or every time that we want to install the new driver we must do it again?

 

We need disable driver signing enforcement every time that we want to install the new driver.

 11/03/2012 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7855
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: el_arantis
Originally posted by: stumped
Originally posted by: el_arantis But lol AMD.

They fixed the 0xFF for W8 and added ; to cause problems [IMG][/IMG]

It would be good if you reported this to AMD > http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3F58

I am talking about the 'fix'/'workaround' you found.

I've done this many times without any luck.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 11/03/2012 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

@linhtinh Thank you once again

@stumped I've just done it giving the threads link too. Hope they fix it.



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 11/06/2012 05:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
el_arantis
Peon

Posts: 49
Joined: 05/21/2009

linhtinh please confirm if the following works for you too.

This will help many people, not only the amd customers.

At command prompt as admin

bcdedit -set loadoptions DISABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING ON

this enables unsigned driver installation permanently

bcdedit -set loadoptions ENABLE_INTEGRITY_CHECKS
bcdedit -set TESTSIGNING OFF

this returns to default condition.

After you enable or disable you have to restart.

This will avoid us make many restarts for installing an unsigned driver. As soon as we know what we are doing I think we do



-------------------------

AMD FX-8350 | SAPPHIRE Dual-X R9 280X | Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 (rev 4.0) | 16GB DDR3 G.Skill TridentX 1866MHz CL8-9-9-24-33 | 1TB SATA3 Western Digital Caviar Black 64MB cache | Windows 8.1 Pro x64

 01/04/2013 09:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwh7
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 02/24/2011

They are referring to trying to update the 700-series chipset drivers, post-Win8 install:

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/12-10_vista_win7_win8_32-64_sb.exe

Same issue as with Win7; this is with using AHCI mode.  The reference to changing the mode to IDE is one of the work-arounds* to fix the issue introduced in the 12.1 chipset drivers for Win7, and still present in 12.10 (for both Win7 and 8).  An issue I discovered yesterday, and am perplexed by the number of compliants regarding it, with no action from AMD.  My favorite part is all the links posted to the AMD Issue Reporting site that opens with only the line, "This survey is now closed."  Read: "We no longer care about your issues."  Note the bitterness.    Carryover from the 4000-series Radeon move to legacy drivers I guess.  But I digress.  Anyway, there are many forums posts regarding this topic, with many posters having used the Issue Reporting site back when it existed.  The two notable threads are these:

http://forums.amd.com/forum/messageview.cfm?catid=383&threadid=158759

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=446&threadid=158535

The Win7 fix was to modify .\Packages\Drivers\SBDrv\SB7xx\AHCI\W7*\amd_sata.inf and change:

HKR, "Parameters\Device","AmdSataPMDisabled",%REG_DWORD%, 0

...and change the 0 to 0xFF.  I did this yesterday, like many before me, and it worked.  Apparently this doesn't work in Win8, hence this thread.

*The alternate work-around is, after installing the default chipset package (resulting in a bluescreen upon reboot), you can change the AHCI mode to IDE in the BIOS, boot into Win7, manually change the registry key via regedit, then reboot, switch back to AHCI mode in the BIOS, and you're good to go.

Now...my question...(!)  Why did AMD change "AmdSataPMDisabled", and what are the specifications/implications of its values?  And of course, why is the official chipset driver causing bluescreens; for over a YEAR now?!



-------------------------
 05/22/2014 07:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Whiznot
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/21/2012

Thank you very much linhtinh.

 

I remember that you provided the Win7 solution and now the wim8 solution. Same line but different AMD errors to be edited.

 

Now I have the AMD AHCI SB700 driver on Windows 8.1 x64.

 06/02/2014 05:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ricardofac
Peon

Posts: 2
Joined: 06/02/2014

Well, just upping the topic to say that this is not working in Windows 8.1 x64, at least here, the default sata driver from Windows keeps on the system...

Statistics
89039 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.