Topic Title: Extreme RAM usage by control center
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/31/2012 06:33 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/31/2012 06:33 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hiromi
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/31/2012

Hi, been a nvidia user for like the past 10 years, finally decided to pick an ati card and try, (Sapphire 7850 HD OC), to my dismayal I see things havent changed much driver-wise etc, what's with the control center leaking memory so much? After a few days it was already sucking 2,5 GB ram..

 10/31/2012 03:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13080
Joined: 04/17/2008

It's using 12,276Kb, or just over 12MB. What's the issue?

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 10/31/2012 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hiromi
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/31/2012

It's using 2,5 GB, not 12 MB. Many people have reported on this for years:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=361025

It just keeps eating ram as you leave your PC up without rebooting, let it run a couple weeks and see.. there's a huge memory leak in the CC.

 10/31/2012 05:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7855
Joined: 11/13/2009

Mine is running @ MOM=4616K  CCC=25848 That is using processor explorer "WORKING SET" . What column are you reading that high figure on? While your at it, why don't you share:

1. Your OS

2. Your processor

Process PID CPU Working Set Description Max Working Set Company Name Image Type Verified Signer

  
CCC.exe 1560 < 0.01     25,928 K Catalyst Control Center: Host application 1,380 K ATI Technologies Inc. 64-bit 


     atieclxx.exe 1672  7,692 K AMD External Events Client Module 1,380 K AMD 64-bit 

   MOM.exe 2976 < 0.01     4,648 K Catalyst Control Center: Monitoring program 1,380 K Advanced Micro Devices Inc. 64-bit 
 



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******



Edited: 10/31/2012 at 05:54 PM by stumped
 10/31/2012 06:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hiromi
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/31/2012

I rebooted earlier today so the numbers have resetted. Right now:

MOM.exe Private Bytes 48 MB, Working Set 6,5 MB
CCC.exe Private Bytes 151MB, Working Set 11 MB
atieclxx.exe 3.5/9 MB

1. Windows 7 x-64 Pro
2. Intel Core i5-2500K, on 16 GB Ram 

 10/31/2012 07:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7855
Joined: 11/13/2009

Nothing wrong with that.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 11/01/2012 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

i have been watching mine for 2 days, it goes from 2000-13000k

it looks diferent than the screen shot provided, because i can only find it in windows task manager. the colum is labled  : Memory (private working set)

i'll look at it again in 2 weeks but it seems to up and down regularly.



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

 11/01/2012 02:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7855
Joined: 11/13/2009

Originally posted by: k-9 i have been watching mine for 2 days, it goes from 2000-13000k

it looks diferent than the screen shot provided, because i can only find it in windows task manager. the colum is labled  : Memory (private working set)

i'll look at it again in 2 weeks but it seems to up and down regularly.

I think shes using System Explorer http://systemexplorer.net/  ...it's a sweet program.



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 11/01/2012 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hiromi
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 10/31/2012

 11/02/2012 10:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
k-9
Cookie Monster

Posts: 484
Joined: 05/02/2010

cool, nice program

it does not quite match up to task manager reporting  and i did see that the very high column that is being questioned is virtual memory not physical. does that matter?



-------------------------

 motherboard gigabyte: ga-ma790fxt-ud5p bios F8h , amd 965 cpu at 4.0 , sileneX efz-120ha4 cooler, 8 gig patriot pgs34g1600llka memory, xfx 750w power supply, xfx 6970 graphics card, 3-22"1080p monitors , coolermaster HAF 922case, windows 7-64

Statistics
89052 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.