Topic Title: 12.11 6 beta drivers and wow fps problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/13/2012 03:14 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/13/2012 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

hi guys,

can anyone tell me if anyone is getting fps problems in world of warcraft with high end cards like my 7970 and the new drivers. my fps is 31-41 when i amplaying wow in the jade forest, with my old 5870 card i was getting 46-60 fps maxed out settings. my card should be blowing wow out the water. blizzard have said that it is a problem with high and cards and drivers ?

 

can anyone at AMD help look in to this please and help .

spec.

asus 7970, piledriver 8350, 8gb ram, windows 7 64bit, 1000w psu



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 11/13/2012 11:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
Forum Moderator

Posts: 719
Joined: 08/28/2012

Do you play other games that exhibit the same loss of performance between the cards?  Have you tried other driver versions on the 7970 to see if a different version helps/makes-it-worse?

Also try the below:

  • Download CCC again (to rule out corruption in the download that you currently have)
  • Download/install Driver Fusion
  • Uninstall CCC completely
  • Reboot into safe mode
  • Right-click Driver Fusion choose "Run as Administrator"
  • Select AMD Graphics
  • Select Analyze
  • Select Clean
  • Reboot when prompted (into your regular OS)
  • Install CCC
  • Reboot 2-3 times before opening CCC up to allow it to complete configuring itself in the background.
  • Re-test


-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
Requiescat In Pace AMD Processor Forums | Member since: 1/19/2009 | Post count:
4142
Please don't PM me with questions, instead create a thread so that everyone can assist and benefit from the knowledge provided. Thanks in advance!

 11/14/2012 05:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

hi i did what you said and used driver fusion in safe mode.

then installed ccc and it said driver installed with warnings, i tried to see what they were but it didn`t say?

now what do i do?

 

what are the warnings?



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 11/14/2012 06:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

ok so i have reinstalled the ccc and this time it said success, does that mean it ok now?

 



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 11/14/2012 08:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

well even with these new drivers i am getting 21-34 fps in wow forests, i never had this with my old 5870. my card and cpu should knock wow off its feet.

i can play all my other games maxed out?

 

 



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 11/14/2012 10:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Originally posted by: markshim hi guys,

...blizzard have said that it is a problem with high and cards and drivers?



I am rather confused by what is meant by this.  Is Blizzard saying they are aware of issues their application is having with high-end graphics cards?

So all other games you have are playing full-steam ahead with max graphics settings. That is great. That suggests your hardware is all fine.

Between the HD5870, and HD7970 you now have, did you change graphics settings in WoW?  Did you boost them up higher with the new card?  Are you playing WoW with DX11 enabled?

Provide specific game titles of those that are working well, and also let us know what motherboard you have.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/14/2012 10:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

I can play batman arkham city almost on max settings with dx11, the secret world on max settings with dx11 if I have ssao up high my card squeaks abit but I'm told they do that sometimes. Dead space 2 maxed is fine. 

My motherboard is a sabertooth fx990 r2

there are more people on google that are having same problems 

i play wow with dx11 on and always had settings high. But now I can't, the multisampling is what affects the fps the most. I ways use to have it on 8 but I have to have it on 4 now ? 

I have wow installed on my ssd which has my os on



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 11/16/2012 02:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
markshim
Master Looter

Posts: 332
Joined: 12/25/2009

hi there,

i found that if i turn the adaptive multi sample AA to multi sample AA i can have maxed out settings in wow and have multisampling on 8x. my fps goes up to 49-60, this is better but my old 5870 could have adaptive multisample AA on and have settings maxed out in game and get 53-60 fps.

so this is still not good for these 7970 cards, i have tested my hardware on game and 3Dmark11 and all is ok with my hardware. so its either drivers or its wow not very good with high end cards ?



-------------------------

Windows 7 64bit, M4A79T-Duluxe, Phenom 2 X4 965, Corsair H50 Watercooler with 2 120mm Gentle Tyhpoon Fans Push/Pull, Asus 5870, DDR3 4gb ram, Silent Pro M 1000w power supply, LG M227WD monitor, Case: Antec 1200.

 11/16/2012 05:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MesaCarried
Peon

Posts: 1
Joined: 11/16/2012

Not sure if this is really a fix, but I posted on wow forums about this too.

I noticed that the issue that was killing my FPS was "liquid detail" in the in game settings.

I went from High-Ultra settings with CCC 12.8, To having to set everything to low, on the new 12.10 drivers. I went in and adjusted one setting at a time, and sure enought the only thing affecting performance was liquid detail.

I know our set ups are different. Im using two 5850s' and when i updated, it completely dropped in performance. Reverting to 12.8 does fix the issue however. Let me know if this is a temporary fix for you as well.

Statistics
85400 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.