Topic Title: ATI Radeon HD 4850 Graphics Card
Topic Summary: Screen showing lot of dots
Created On: 11/15/2012 11:18 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/15/2012 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
msanch56
Peon

Posts: 3
Joined: 11/15/2012

I need feedback on this problem with my graphics card.  I just bought the above card and utilize both DVI-I output to two monitors; AOC Model e2243Rwk and a Sony (forgot the model) with a DVI-D and VGA input socket.  For some reason, when I boot the system and watch both screens, I see these dots all over the screen (bunch of vertical dots lined and populating the entire screen).  When the system is totally booted, I tried adjusting the screen resolution to fit the best resolution to my liking.  However, on some of the resolutions, I don't see the complete icon of the application.  It's just represented by fine dots.  I readjust the resolution and came up with the optimum view showing most of the icons legibly in the task bar.  However, there are still some icons that are not showing; i.e. ms word, etc.  Another observation is the arrow of the cursor has associated fine array of dots that is surrounding the arrow.  This is also observed in the Sony monitor.  My question is:  is this the graphics video card display or some other causes?  Is there a fix to this display?  Any input is appreciated.  I tried using the Catalyst setting but it did not fix the monitor displaying the dots.

 11/15/2012 11:44 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Marc@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 774
Joined: 07/30/2012

Work with just 1 display connected physically at a time.  Can you narrow down the culprit to be:

1) a bad monitor?
2) a bad cable, or adapter?
3) a bad port on the card (and therefore a bad card in general)?

I highly suspect you have a bad video card.

;Marc



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this do*****ent is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions and typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied.

 11/16/2012 08:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3979
Joined: 01/27/2008

You just bought a 3-4 year old vidcard? Get your money back, sounds like it's been toasted/suffered from excessive heat.



-------------------------

#1: Phenom II C2 955BE @ 3.6, Antec Kuhler 920, Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5, Asus 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X, 4 x 1gig OCZ2N1066SR2GK @800, Antec Truepower New 750, Arc Midi, Vistax64
#2: Athlon 64 X2 4200+, AGP 1950pro, Audigy 2, Asus A8V-D, 2gig ram,  Enermax 465P, Antec900case. Now on Win8.1pro cat 10.2

 11/16/2012 09:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
Nanotechnology Guru

Posts: 11574
Joined: 04/17/2008

The question is, is it a used card or a new card? If it is used, you're SOL unless you bought it on Amazon or eBay and can file a claim for an item not received as described. If it is a new card, then you need to return it to where you bought it, eat the restocking fee, and buy a HD 5000 series or later card (as the HD 4000 series and below are legacy).

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
80938 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 3 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.