Topic Title: The display driver is restored after a failure. The display driver "AMD driver" stopped responding and has recovered.
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/21/2012 10:15 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/21/2012 10:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascanio
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2012

Hi Guys,

I bought a new graphic card (XFX Radeon HD 7850 Core Edition) about a week ago. I worked quit well but a few days ago i got a blackscreen while playing WoW and this Windows message: "The display driver is restored after a failure. The display driver "AMD driver" stopped responding and has recovered."(translated by google translator)  This problem got worse yesterday, if i start WoW or any other game (like LoL or Minecraft) i get a blackscreen in not more than 5 seconds and the game will crash. Even sometimes if i load flash based internet sites like youtube the problem will sometimes occur.

I already uninstalled all graphic drivers and reinstalled the latest version. It did not help.

Im still thinking its a driver problem because as i outtabbed a LoL Match to check the task-manager during the crash, the programm went on as there were nothing wrong but in the second i tabbed in again it crashed immediately.

The Soundtrack will go on until i end the process in task-manager!

To sum it up: If the programm is running in the front window it will crash, if it runs in a back window everything is ok.

I hope yu can help me somehow.

Graphics Card
XFX Radeon HD 7850 Core Edition


AMD Catalyst Driver Version, and Driver History
12.4 , 12.10
 and 12.11 beta


Operating System
Windows 7 64 Bit


Motherboard or System Make & Model
ASUSTeK Computer INC. P5QPL-AM

Power Supply

Sharkoon WPM600

Display Device(s) and Connection(s) Used
I will try to find out

Applications and Games

- WoW
- LoL
- Minecraft
- Google Chrome
- Firefox
- 3D Mark 11
- rarely doing nothing (just on desktop) 


CPU Details
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9300 @ 2.50GHz

Motherboard BIOS Version
American Megatrends Inc.
Version: 0416 

(Im sorry for my bad english)

Ascanio



Edited: 11/27/2012 at 04:25 PM by Ascanio
 11/24/2012 11:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascanio
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2012

Hi,

I still need help with the problem. I updated my first Post (Motherboard and BIOS Version) so that you have all the information you need. While waiting for a answer i looked for new Bios updates and chip driver. Just found a new chip driver version and already downloaded it - no improvement. As i tried to start games today i could sometimes play about 10-20 minutes and the WoW Loginscreen does not crash anymore. I dont know why its working sometimes and sometimes not and i also dont know why it has improved at all.

However i hope u can help me.

Ascanio

 11/24/2012 02:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7250
Joined: 11/13/2009

http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=444&threadid=161193&enterthread=y



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 11/24/2012 04:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascanio
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2012

Hi stumped,

I already found this microsoft help and have followed the instructions - whitout any improvements. But i am new to this area so maybe i did something wrong.  Here is a screen:

 http://img145.imageshack.us/img145/5831/regeditw.png

/edit I disabled all win7 styles like aeor but it has not helped. I will try out your variant, maybe i missed something.

/edit2 I think it helped a bit, i could play for nearly 1 hour but at least it shut down again.

Ascanio



Edited: 11/24/2012 at 10:29 PM by Ascanio
 11/25/2012 06:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascanio
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2012

Update

If I could say yesterday that it has become better, now it's back as bad as before. Programms shut down immediatly and even though only my browser is running i get blackscreens frequently. I changed NOTHING since yesterday.

edit: Here is a screen to show you the problem:

http://img803.imageshack.us/img803/1598/fehlerz.png

My LoL Match is runnig well in windowed mode if my front window is taskmanager (or anything else). As soon as i klick into lol my screen freezes and a blackscreen follows.

Today is also an additional problem-occurred, during the loading screen several open windows suddenly flared up and disappered again. And as i joind the game the right part of my screen was like a chess field,black squares and instead of the white fields the normal screen.

if you guys dont know any solution i will send in my graphic card tomorrow.

edit2: It seems as if the pc is running for some time its getting better.

Ascanio



Edited: 11/25/2012 at 01:06 PM by Ascanio
 11/26/2012 01:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mado134
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/29/2012

its mostly b/c u installed a wrong driver or app that conflict with ur graphic driver since u got no prob when u first installed it 

so i advice u to do the following .. try to remember the exact day this prob appeared and unistall any program u installed this day ( a system restore will be better but dont forget 2 backup ur files )

if not then do a clean install :

go to control panel - unistall programs - right click on the amd driver - change - then choose unistall completely ( or something like that )

then reboot 

after that download driverfusion ( just google it, its free ) 

and remove any amd driver, reboot again to ensure their is no any files related to ur graphic card

 11/26/2012 01:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mado134
Peon

Posts: 8
Joined: 08/29/2012

a little update : b4 doing anything check again on ur graphic card may be it need a little press (stick it again)

sprry for my english

 11/26/2012 12:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlexMSQ
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/26/2012

I have the same problem at my MSI 6850 card. When i had Win 7 x32 and Catalyst 12.4 there was no problem. 

But problem started with Win 7 x64 and Catalyst 12.4 x64 installation.

I've updated all system BIOSes and installed TOTALLY NEW wIN 7 X64 with all system drivers, than Catalyst 12.11 BETA8.

After all i installet THE ONLY Mechwarrior Online. Problem appears again.

Problem appears in ANY 3D-application or game. It does not appear during first 3-4 hours of system uptime, than it appears faster and faster until gets frequency of 5-10 seconds.

Turning off Ingame Anti-aliasing, Aero increases time before first error in session. After first error you can do anything, but it works as written above.

Also resetting an "Windows Perfomance indexes" discards that error . After that you can work like you have restarted your system.

 

A hsve notified AMD of this error for 4 times. Ive also sended em file dumps and error dumps. 

There was no any answer or support. And there was not any corrections of this error.

 11/26/2012 12:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlexMSQ
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/26/2012

Also. That error appears in Application Journal as following after:

Process (4) had requested turn off Desktop Window Manager

- System
   
- Provider
      [ Name] Desktop Window Manager
   
- EventID 9010
      [ Qualifiers] 16384
   
  Level 4
   
  Task 0
   
  Keywords 0x80000000000000
   
- TimeCreated
      [ SystemTime] 2012-11-26T16:40:29.000000000Z
   
  EventRecordID 1582
   
  Channel Application
   
  Computer AlexMSQ-PC
   
  Security
- EventData
    4


Cant run  Desktop Window Manager because using of Desktop Composition is turned off by running application

- System
   
- Provider
      [ Name] Desktop Window Manager
   
- EventID 9013
      [ Qualifiers] 16384
   
  Level 4
   
  Task 0
   
  Keywords 0x80000000000000
   
- TimeCreated
      [ SystemTime] 2012-11-26T16:40:29.000000000Z
   
  EventRecordID 1583
   
  Channel Application
   
  Computer AlexMSQ-PC
   
  Security
  EventData

 


Error container , type 0

Event name: LiveKernelEvent

Answer: No Data

Identifier CAB: 0

 

Error Signature:

P1: 

P2: 

P3: 

P4: 

P5: 

P6: 

P7: 

P8: 

P9: 

P10: 

 

Files included:

C:\Windows\LiveKernelReports\WATCHDOG\WD-20121126-1840.dmp

D:\TEMP\WINDOWS\WER-72953025-0.sysdata.xml

D:\TEMP\WINDOWS\WER2D7C.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

 

Files could be found here:

C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Kernel_0_0_cab_16552d8b

 

Analyses symbol: 

Solution found: 0

Report ID: fc892435-37e7-11e2-a344-8c89a5c7f2af

Report status: 4

 

- System
   
- Provider
      [ Name] Windows Error Reporting
   
- EventID 1001
      [ Qualifiers] 0
   
  Level 4
   
  Task 0
   
  Keywords 0x80000000000000
   
- TimeCreated
      [ SystemTime] 2012-11-26T16:40:30.000000000Z
   
  EventRecordID 1584
   
  Channel Application
   
  Computer AlexMSQ-PC
   
  Security
- EventData
     
    0
    LiveKernelEvent
    ??? ??????
    0
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    C:\Windows\LiveKernelReports\WATCHDOG\WD-20121126-1840.dmp D:\TEMP\WINDOWS\WER-72953025-0.sysdata.xml D:\TEMP\WINDOWS\WER2D7C.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportQueue\Kernel_0_0_cab_16552d8b
     
    0
    fc892435-37e7-11e2-a344-8c89a5c7f2af
    4


 

 11/26/2012 12:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlexMSQ
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/26/2012

I even going to buy NVidia 650Ti to fix it.

 11/27/2012 04:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ascanio
Peon

Posts: 5
Joined: 11/21/2012

Hey mado134,

i did not knew the exact date as the problem appeared for the first time so I formatted my hard drive and reinstalled windows. I installed just a few more programms: AntiVirus, google Chrome, Teamspeak and Minecraft and ofc Java to run minecraft. But after a short time the error occurred again during my test game.

Now I'm really stumped. Tomorrow i will cojntact Alternate, where I bought my graphic card, and will try to exchange it for a new model.

 

 



Edited: 11/27/2012 at 05:31 PM by Ascanio
 11/30/2012 10:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
AlexMSQ
Peon

Posts: 4
Joined: 11/26/2012

Newer cards have same problem. As i see AMD has no ideas about this error. I have tested my 6850 with FurMark and OCCT and get no errors and artifacts

 

Also i notified error to appear depending on WINDOWS uptime, not a game uptime.



Edited: 11/30/2012 at 11:04 AM by AlexMSQ
Statistics
85539 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 8 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.